We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Echos was Great!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Echos Condominiums

Save Saved
You added Island Echos Condominiums to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Echos Condominiums
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   676 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel amenities
Alcoa, Tennessee
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Island Echos was Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have stayed in many locations through RCI, but this was above par. The complete opposite I was envisioning after reading other negative reviews. Only paid the exchange fee for the entire week: $179.00 total!

We stayed in a nice one-bedroom condo. First appearance was that is was very clean. Full kitchen, living and dinning room, balcony and bathroom. Plenty of initial stock to get you going. Two Vizio tvs- one in the bedroom. One roll of TP, paper towels and soap. Plenty of towels and wash clothes. We brought our own pillows, so sleeping at night has not been a problem. All rooms face the ocean; which was the only downside of the entire trip. Seems the "Emerald Coast/Island" should be renamed the black tea sea. It was dark the entire week, even on the sunniest of days. Seems a lot of seaweed is still present. The little chunks of slime type of pieces. Not worth getting into the ocean, but the pool is ok. Still evidence of the Louisiana oil spill too. The waves caused a lot of foam, that looked like the colors of the rainbow- a clear indication it contained oil. Yuck!!

There is a guy assigned to setup and take down umbrellas and chairs each day. He is a hard working guy and is worth every penny he is paid. Ran into the maint folks too. Both very friendly!

Over all a very relaxing week. Glad we stayed where we did as there is very little traffic on this end of the island. Lots of free parking.

The only down side is every once in a while we could smell cig smoke coming from another guest room. Not sure if they were below or next to us. Oh well, cannot have it all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This unit is owned by TBBGL Properties out of PA. The cleaning/maintenance service is through Destin "Luxury" Rentals. TBBGL needs to fire their cleaning service. We arrived after check in and the place was filthy. We called every # given to us and we were given the run around. No one would or could tell us the name of the cleaning service. 7 calls and two hrs later, cleaning service finally showed up. When they left it still wasn't clean. The balcony table and chairs were cheap and broken. There was a horrible smell we could not pinpoint the entire trip. No hangers. No ironing board. I asked about the amenities several times & given vague answers. Sink backed up everytime you washed your hands. Very little water pressure. Food left in fridge from previous guests. Rips in couch. Stains on couch and floor. If you still have vhs tapes, you're in luck. They have a vcr! Kitchen stools and microwave dirty. There is a window that opens to balcony in the master bedroom but the screen has huge holes in it. Pro's...beautiful view. Not a horrible roach infested place, but would not return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Away from the crowds across the bridge in Destin and it's location on a dead-end street were the best things about Island Echos. I'm a complete hotel snob, so the idea of staying in a condo for the long weekend did not excite me, but it was what we could find last minute trip plans changed.

I was in room 2L, with 2 bedrooms, which was just above the pool. Yes, it was as noisy as it sounds. I would have liked to be higher up. The room was old, water stained and cracking stucco, the furniture had enough stains for me to place the clean and bagged sheets over them. Old tube TVs, and old electronics. The free DVD rentals per day was a nice gesture, but don't expect a good selection at all. The place needs some updating; I guess the owner of our unit hasn't put any money into it for over a decade. The place wasn't nasty, but I wasn't comfortable enough to sit on anything without a sheet or towel over it. Bring flip flops or slippers, the floors are tiled and the carpet was shaggy and dingy as hell in the master bedroom.

We had plenty of towels and linens. The kitchen was fully stocked. No complaints there.

The beach was this place's best asset. Right on the shore with included beach chair and umbrella service got me to stay once we checked in. Service ends promptly at 6PM, so be prepared to be ousted of your chair if you want to stay longer on the beach. The sand is powdery white and the water was beautiful.

Parking was not an issue. Overall, this place was comfortable, but the price really didn't match what we could have gotten for the same price at a hotel on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors; the pool and beach can get very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stated in unit 2P. Clean 1bedroom 1 bath unit on west end of second floor. Was nice and convenient to parking. Right by stairwell and trash Shute so a little noisy at times but we enjoyed our stay. Reserved through Wyndham website (Resort Quest). Unit had all linens and one set of paper towels, toilet paper, and dish detergent for machine. Recommend you bring extras for longer stays. Full kitchen with everything we needed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Loved the place, quiet and comfy. The beds need upgraded, but the view and beach were perfect. Bring your own beach chairs and dont forget your slippers. The floors are tile. I loved this resort because of the view and the time with my bride.

Room Tip: Bring your slippers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Villa 1 G was a tastefully decorated 2BR condo on the bottom floor. The smell of fresh paint and sandy beaches was very welcome to this weary wayfarer . However, the room was advertised as having a beach view. I do not consider a window 80% covered by sandune a beach view. The most egregious item was the lack of phone and internet. We called the 1-800-TALK- TO- INDIA Wyndam number, but did not get any results. The lady of the line said "well the owner probably did not pay their bill." Tacky..yes!? As a well traveled soul, I'm am not used to lack of staff being on duty, calling for major problems and etc. Although the place was beautiful, I would not recommend...especially for 250.00 an night!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Having a wonderful time with my bride of 23 years. First trip without the "are we there yets". We watched the dolphins swim, stingrays play, fish feed on minnows, sailfish jump, and "of course" the sunrise and sunset. The water is truly emerald and the beaches are so soft and clean. The condo was ok for the 2 of us. TV was a bit small, bed a little uncomfortable, but overall not bad. I wish the condo had a Jacuzzi for guests to use. We were in 3P and couldn't complain. It wasn't perfect, but it was cozy.

Room Tip: A/C a bit noisy, faucets dripped, bring slippers because the floors are tile. A mattress pad is nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Echos Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Echos Condominiums

Address: 676 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Echos Condominiums 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Island Echos Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Rentals At Island Echos Condominiums Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Island Echos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Echos Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.