We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stewby's Seafood Shanty

Stewby's Seafood Shanty
427 Racetrack Road NW, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547
+1 850-586-7001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Seafood, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Description: STEWBY'S Seafood Shanty is a small take out and drive thru seafood restaurant in Fort Walton Beach. Offering the most affordable and freshest local seafood. You can eat on our enclosed heated and cooled deck or take it to-go. All our seafood is fresh and locally bought. The fish comes straight of the boats in Destin. Average order time is between 7-9 minutes. So if your in a hurry, don't worry. We'll have you on your way in minutes. STEWBY'S also offers a drive thru window for your convenience. But don't let the drive thru fool you. You don't have to sacrifice quality for convenience. Drive thru and take some to go or stop in and order from the walk up window. STEWBY'S is always providing the best quality seafood at the best price!
Navarre,Fl
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

The food at Stewbys is always fresh & good! Made to order.the staff is friendly .Good value for your money!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    145
    42
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Picnic Style you would want every day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

You would drive past unless someone had not said"You gotta try Stewby's". So you go try it and yes you order and hope you find
a little picnic table to sit at. Small but worth the wait and you can
get it to go. Value is great for the taste. Broiled or fried with fresh
sides that they make every day. Try it I promise you will like it.
Very casual!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Seafood, Fresh, Quick, Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Spent the Labor Day weekend in Destin and we were heading out on our long drive home. I just Googled for Seafood and this place came up. We had no idea what kind of establishment it was but it was right along our route home. Funny part is that my wife wanted me to check if we needed reservations. When we pulled up we saw this little place with a drive through and had a chuckle about how they would have reacted if I had asked that. Comfortably cool inside with a few picnic tables to sit at after your number is called. Self seating.

Back to the point. Very basic window order type food. Placed our order for an Amber Jack dinner plate and a Snapper Dinner plate. with some side and Gumbo. Price was a bit more than we originally expected when doing a walk up window meal, but more than worth every single penny. Fish was absolutely delicious as were the side. The smell of the place was the first sign that the fish would be fresh. And that smell was nothing. No fishy smell at all what so ever. Rare for this type of establishment. We plan to make this place our usual stop every time we are on the way home, and probably while we are there as well. And the staff was very friendly as well which puts the cherry on top so to speak.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Thanks again, Tripadvisor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Another awesome find, a local out-of-the-way place that I would have never known about.

We wanted a small, affordable place with great seafood and we found it! Why pay $50 a person down at the beach for seafood that's frozen and shipped from where it's actually caught?! This little place serves shrimp, Oysters, AmberJack, etc. - all locally sourced from the gulf and cooked fresh. I highly recommend the sample platter of all three, fried to perfection, with some cheese grits and hushpuppies - AWESOME and only $15. $6 kids' meals and classic southern sweet tea and we were all set. Neat little building, not much in the way of location or view, but you're not paying for ambiance just really good food.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
1 review
“Fabulous sea food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

A great place to eat!!! Food was outstanding. Try it, you'll like it!!!!

Prices were very reasonable, quantity was ample!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stewby's Seafood Shanty also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Stewby's Seafood Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stewby's Seafood Shanty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.