We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ft Walton's Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Venus Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Walton Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Venus Condos
885 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32549   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ft Walton's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Venus Condos has a niche for being affordable though it is also owned by Sea Crest which is a neighboring building with condos doubled, tripled and quadrupled the amount of Venus. The only "downside" if you want to even call it that, is that it's not "right on the beach" The walk is not far at all. You don't even have to cross a street, just cut through the parking lot to the walkway. And because it's Ft. Walton, the walk to the water isn't far at all. It is definitely worth every penny!

Also, near the pool, there is a air machine where you can fill up all your cool swim toys!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hamilton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

WOW! What a great family place. Check-in & check-out was great. Recently updated & very tastefully decorated (in my opinion).

http://www.vrbo.com/380057

Thanks Jim & Sue.

Room Tip: I would have to recommend Jim & Sue Simpson's first floor 2 bedroom condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeastern US
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Rented a 2 bed 1 bath through VRBO. Check in/out and extra services provided by Seacrest next door. Unit was updated, well equipped and clean. Grounds are well maintained. Older building, nothing fancy, nice pool. A little cheaper because it's technically 1 block off the beach now that new condo units were build between it and the beach. Those big building do block some of the beach wind and access to the beach is so easy that you get the best of all worlds. I love this place and plan to go again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

This was our first visit to the Ft. Walton / Destin area. We stayed in unit #310 a 2 bedroom, 1 bath condo owned by Cincinnati Financial Corporation. The location was awesome and we were able to see the Gulf from the balcony. Venus by the Sea is not a fancy place but a functional place. There are 3 buildings that form a U shape. The front building is 3 stories and the 2 side buildings being 2 story. In the middle of the buildings is the courtyard which contains the pool & huge outdoor brick BBQ. There are tennis & basketball courts that are lighted. The Venus is small in stature compared to the surrounding 6 -8 story buildings but it is nice to be able to park by your condo. The surrounding buildings also do a great job of blocking the wind that is typical on the beach. These are all non-smoking units but it seems some have decided that rule doesn't apply to them. To those, I ask that you not use the beach accessories (buckets) as an ashtray then place it back in the closet half full of sand & cigarette butts. The layout of these 2 bed, 2 bath units is great. The master bedrooms seem to be large enough for 2 queen beds or a California king bed. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking utensil's, pots, pans, mixing bowls, etc. 6 can sit at the dinning room table with enough dishes for 8. I look forward to another visit to Venus Condo's, Fort Walton & Okaloosa Island in the very near future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Went to visit good ole’ Fort Walton Beach again. We take an annual trip here to get out of the mainstream Destin area, but are fortunate to be only 10 minutes away from all the fun.
Venus has been a great place to stay at the past 5 years. We stayed in unit 204 this time after being in another unit the past 3 years. What an upgrade! You can tell this family has really taken care of their place, and they are renovated much of what was in the old unit. New furniture, beds, modern stuff, etc...it just made it all the more worthwhile! This one was a one bedroom that could easily sleep 4-6 guests. We brought a bunch of friends, and one of the families got unit 204, which was owned by the same family. Same results. They really enjoyed their room as well, and when we walked in, you noticed all the upgrades. Theirs was a two bedroom that could definitely sleep more like 6-8.

The pool is very nice, and our unit had a balcony right off of it, so we were able to check up on our friends. You can also see the beach from there. While it isn't "ocean front", it's only a football field away centered between two other high-rise condos. Very easy walk, even with a cooler.

Overall, we had just a fabulous time. We will continue to come back here, and I will specifically ask for either of these units again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, KY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2007

We had another wonderful stay and can honestly say we're already looking forward to going back next year. The property is great. Everyone we met this year seemed to be a repeat renter. The construction mentioned in another review is done, and there's really no better place available for the same (or even higher) rate.

We did have an air conditioning outage and within 15 minutes, there was someone inspecting our unit, and we were given the use of another unit for the time our unit's air was out. The air was repaired the next morning. They are great people to stay with, they really want you to have fun. I can't recommend this place enough. We are going to try to stay two weeks next year.

  • Liked — The property is clean, has full kitchens, is steps away from the beach, and has a great pool
  • Disliked — The unit we stayed in needs to update decor/furniture.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

The Venus is a clean, well maintained condominium and the price is right. We stayed in room #107, which was a good clean room. Bed was firm but comfortable. The kitched was well stocked, cable TV in living room and bedroom with VCR in the bedroom and VCR/DVD in living room, but this varies from room to room. The only problem was the noise from the construction site from the condos between the Venus and the beach. Very loud and annoying, especially if you want to relax by the pool. We usually had to walk down the beach a 100 yds or so to get away from the noise. The pool was nice, the tennis court was in good shape, but with only 1 light, don't plan on playing at night. Overall, we love Fort Walton Beach. Especially the end of Santa Rosa Blvd, which is developed but not crowded. One morning we had a dolphin show right on the beach. Dolphins jumping and slapping their tails just off the beach. Beach chairs and umbrellas can be rented from a guy on the beach. If you like fresh seafood (to cook), go to Sexton's Market in Destin. You can't miss the blue roof. The will pack your cooler or you can buy a styro cooler from them for travel. If we go back, we may stay at the El Matador which is the last condos on Santa Rosa Blvd. Their rates are comparable.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Noise from construction, no views.
  • Tips/Secrets — Wait until construction done next door.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Venus Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Condos

Also Known As:
Venus Condos Hotel
Venus Condos Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Address: 885 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32549
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venus Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Venus Condos to your Saves list