We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to get out over the water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okaloosa Island Pier

Okaloosa Island Pier
1030 Miracle Strip Parkway East, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
(850) 244-1023
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great way to get out over the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you want to fish this place has equipment to rent. Nice view to look out over the pier. Some days you can see the fish schooling around. Good fishing

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    87
    57
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Review for non-fishermans”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Of course, the Pier is used by many for fishing. And another reviewer who does fish can tell you about that aspect. But many more stroll out onto the pier for something to do. First off, it does cost a few dollars to do this, and unless you plan to hang out somewhere on the Pier for a while, it is a short activity. There are several activities at the Boardwalk (eating/shopping) and people sometimes stroll out to the Pier while they are there.
The waters of the Gulf can be beautiful. And some days the water is more clear than others. And if you watch long enough you may see some fish (even hammerhead sharks) swim underneath. Birds sometimes hang out, waiting for dropped bait or a fresh catch. If you have fancy shoes, just beware there may be fresh fish guts to bird droppings along the way. And a strong smell of fish. The end of the pier can be crowded. Depending on the crowd fishing, will depend on how crazy it can be. One day, there was a group of about 10 men competing for the same fish swimming under the pier. They were running from one side to the other, trying to get the fish to pick their hook. In the meantime, they didn't seem to care who was there, or in their way. I was surprised that someone didn't get a hook in the face as they were running past. So if you have young ones, just be cognizant of the people around you and whether the fisher people are being courteous to those around them.
You do get a nice view of the beach from the Pier and can see down to Destin. Not sure that I would say it is a gorgeous view, but it is a different view if you have been spending time on the beach.
I would not recommend that someone drive a distance to experience walking out on the Pier. Certainly if you are in the area, or visiting The Boardwalk, for a few bucks you can walk out over the gulf.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“One of the best places to watch the sunset on the Gulf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We spent a couple of hours watching the sun set over the Gulf. The view was spectacular! the cost is $2 per person but it is well worth it. There are restrooms at the end of the pier and at the beginning.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great views!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

You have to pay $2 to walk the pier but fun to do. You can watch all the people fishing...didn't get to see anything big caught but was fun to anticipate!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A must see at least once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Why pay $2 per person to walk on the pier? Depending on the weather the views can be terriffic and the sea life abundant. We've seen dolphins, sea turtles and sharks in addition to the schools of fish. There is also fishing on the pier. You can bring your own gear or rent it for a reasonable fee. Lots of colorful folks fishing - we fished but didn't catch anything and it was mid July so we about fainted in the heat this year. I'm always suprised to see how crowded the beaches around the pier are given bait is being thrown in the water all day long and we have seen sharks around the pier frequently. Each trip to the Emerald Coast we take a trip to the Pier, spend a few hours walking the length, enjoying the view, sometimes fishing and always enjoying the people and the atmosphere!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okaloosa Island Pier also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Okaloosa Island Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okaloosa Island Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.