We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's beautiful but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Okaloosa Island Pier

Okaloosa Island Pier
1030 Miracle Strip Parkway East, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
(850) 244-1023
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Starkville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's beautiful but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It is beautiful, but when we tried to "walk the pier" it was closed. I think it's a little silly to charge non-fishers. It's something you should check out if you have plenty of free time, but I was only mildly impressed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    103
    65
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Corydon, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Nice walk along the pier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My family and I were thinking about fishing(we are not fisherman) but thanks to the staff member, he said to take a walk on the pier first to see if anything was being caught. We enjoyed the morning just walking along the pier, watching the pros and we even got to see several dolphins and a sea turtle. Better show than SeaWorld!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okaloosa Pier Fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I love Okaloosa pier fishing. I believe that it's $2.00 or $3.00 to walk the pier. I only go there to fish, and that's $7.50 this year (2013). I have been several times and have always caught fish. The Spanish mackerel and King mackerel are great fighters and good to eat. I hear that you can get sheepshead and pompano and red drum here as well as a lot of other fish that aren't so good for eating. Don't pay for the dolphin cruises, come to the pier, pay your walking fee and get within 20 feet of the dolphins. They're everywhere, much to the fishers chagrin. During the handful of times that I've been I've also seen several large sea turtles, lots of pelicans and herons and an occasional 7 to 8 foot hammer head shark. The staff have always been courteous and and are usually good at providing information. This is definitely an amazing location and a family friendly area!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great...Long Pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great is the only word I can think of.One of the longest piers in the U.S...very reasonable price to fish and I think it's only $1.00 to walk out on it.You can buy your bait there or rent your gear to fish.When we were there in September 2013 they were catching a good amount of different fish such as Amberjack and many different ones! Go, you won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murchison, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“ate lunch then strolled around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

this is a public pier with restaurants, beach and some shops. We ate at the Crab Trap then strolled around and looked in some shops.. really layed back.. volley ball net on the beach.. easy parking.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okaloosa Island Pier also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Okaloosa Island Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okaloosa Island Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.