We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Pier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Okaloosa Island Pier

Okaloosa Island Pier
1030 Miracle Strip Parkway East, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
(850) 244-1023
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Reevesville sc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved the Pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

On recent vacation on Okaloosa Island, we visited the pier several times. So well worth the $2.00 fee per person to walk & watch. My husband & I were very courteous to the folks busy fishing, & they in turn were so friendly & nice to us. And that was true each & every time. Loved the up close view of the many dolphin, various species of fish, occasional sting-rays, sea turtles, etc. Water was beautiful & clear during our stay from Sept 7-15. The pier offers beautiful views of both the gulf & the beach itself.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    70
    45
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Old Monroe, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dolphins Dolphins Dolphins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was one of my favorite things we did on our recent vacation. It does have a $2 charge per person but it was worth it. We did this twice and just watched to Dolphins swim and play for a couple hours both times. While I was watching my husband was able to talk to some of the fisherman.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida, Usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

lots of fisherman/women but its fun to go out & get a close view of the dolphins or turtles in the water! just watch out for the bait & fishy parts. keep your shoes on! :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis to N.O. to Fort Walton
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It's a pier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

You pay $2 to walk the pier and you can (at times) get a closer look at the Dolphins. People are fishing daily and tourist are a brother to these folks just ignore them. If you don't get around to it, you are not missing much.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun for awhile, watch out for hooks!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

While staying on Okaloosa Island, we visited this Pier one evening to watch the people fishing and watch the sunset from afar. It was fun for awhile, a good stroll and saw a few guys catch a stingray and some smaller fish. But didn't feel to comfortable walking around too much with our 3 year old due to lots of foul language and flying hooks and poles. They would sort of watch out for you while casting, and we certainly tried to watch out for them, but mostly I felt we were invading on their territory.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okaloosa Island Pier also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Okaloosa Island Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okaloosa Island Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.