We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okaloosa Island Pier

Okaloosa Island Pier
1030 Miracle Strip Parkway East, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
(850) 244-1023
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks
Attraction Details
Fort Walton Beach, Florida, Usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

lots of fisherman/women but its fun to go out & get a close view of the dolphins or turtles in the water! just watch out for the bait & fishy parts. keep your shoes on! :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    62
    43
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis to N.O. to Fort Walton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It's a pier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

You pay $2 to walk the pier and you can (at times) get a closer look at the Dolphins. People are fishing daily and tourist are a brother to these folks just ignore them. If you don't get around to it, you are not missing much.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun for awhile, watch out for hooks!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

While staying on Okaloosa Island, we visited this Pier one evening to watch the people fishing and watch the sunset from afar. It was fun for awhile, a good stroll and saw a few guys catch a stingray and some smaller fish. But didn't feel to comfortable walking around too much with our 3 year old due to lots of foul language and flying hooks and poles. They would sort of watch out for you while casting, and we certainly tried to watch out for them, but mostly I felt we were invading on their territory.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Found this on the last day of our trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a great time! Saw many dolphins, a sea turtle, a stingray, a jelly fish, those hilarious birds (great blue herons & pelicans) and tons of fish. One guy (later identified as a local named Rob, I think) caught 2 King Mackerels. All 6 of us caught fish. We were unprepared, so we had to buy a cooler & ice. We kept the blue runners and cooked them up that night. Yum! The sea turtle looked like he was getting along ok despite the fact he was missing half of his front left fin. I called the Tallahassee Sea Turtle rescue # to report this guy. Hope he's ok. The guy at the ticket booth was super nice and we became fast friends considering how many times we went back for bait, cooler, ice cream, etc! The kids found tons of sea shells! It was a great day. Wish we would've visited earlier in our vacation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, TN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Saw a huge sea turtle from the Pier!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Worth the walk...You can see lots of sea life from the pier. My son and husband saw a beautiful sea turtle while taking in the pier. You also can fish from the pier but we just like to watch the others!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okaloosa Island Pier also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Okaloosa Island Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okaloosa Island Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.