We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a pier” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Okaloosa Island Pier

Okaloosa Island Pier
1030 Miracle Strip Parkway East, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
(850) 244-1023
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Memphis to N.O. to Fort Walton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's a pier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

You pay $2 to walk the pier and you can (at times) get a closer look at the Dolphins. People are fishing daily and tourist are a brother to these folks just ignore them. If you don't get around to it, you are not missing much.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    95
    61
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun for awhile, watch out for hooks!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

While staying on Okaloosa Island, we visited this Pier one evening to watch the people fishing and watch the sunset from afar. It was fun for awhile, a good stroll and saw a few guys catch a stingray and some smaller fish. But didn't feel to comfortable walking around too much with our 3 year old due to lots of foul language and flying hooks and poles. They would sort of watch out for you while casting, and we certainly tried to watch out for them, but mostly I felt we were invading on their territory.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Found this on the last day of our trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a great time! Saw many dolphins, a sea turtle, a stingray, a jelly fish, those hilarious birds (great blue herons & pelicans) and tons of fish. One guy (later identified as a local named Rob, I think) caught 2 King Mackerels. All 6 of us caught fish. We were unprepared, so we had to buy a cooler & ice. We kept the blue runners and cooked them up that night. Yum! The sea turtle looked like he was getting along ok despite the fact he was missing half of his front left fin. I called the Tallahassee Sea Turtle rescue # to report this guy. Hope he's ok. The guy at the ticket booth was super nice and we became fast friends considering how many times we went back for bait, cooler, ice cream, etc! The kids found tons of sea shells! It was a great day. Wish we would've visited earlier in our vacation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, TN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Saw a huge sea turtle from the Pier!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Worth the walk...You can see lots of sea life from the pier. My son and husband saw a beautiful sea turtle while taking in the pier. You also can fish from the pier but we just like to watch the others!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FT WORTH TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok for a walk and to try a little fishing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very smokey where you go to pay and employees looked and acted drunk. Otherwise your basic fishing pier

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okaloosa Island Pier also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Okaloosa Island Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okaloosa Island Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.