We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found this on the last day of our trip!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okaloosa Island Pier

Okaloosa Island Pier
1030 Miracle Strip Parkway East, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
(850) 244-1023
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hartland, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Found this on the last day of our trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a great time! Saw many dolphins, a sea turtle, a stingray, a jelly fish, those hilarious birds (great blue herons & pelicans) and tons of fish. One guy (later identified as a local named Rob, I think) caught 2 King Mackerels. All 6 of us caught fish. We were unprepared, so we had to buy a cooler & ice. We kept the blue runners and cooked them up that night. Yum! The sea turtle looked like he was getting along ok despite the fact he was missing half of his front left fin. I called the Tallahassee Sea Turtle rescue # to report this guy. Hope he's ok. The guy at the ticket booth was super nice and we became fast friends considering how many times we went back for bait, cooler, ice cream, etc! The kids found tons of sea shells! It was a great day. Wish we would've visited earlier in our vacation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    96
    62
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tullahoma, TN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Saw a huge sea turtle from the Pier!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Worth the walk...You can see lots of sea life from the pier. My son and husband saw a beautiful sea turtle while taking in the pier. You also can fish from the pier but we just like to watch the others!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FT WORTH TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok for a walk and to try a little fishing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very smokey where you go to pay and employees looked and acted drunk. Otherwise your basic fishing pier

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Linda C”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We love to wa.lk out on pier at night to see what fishermen are catching.The gentleman at the pay booth was very nice and told us what was biting.It is only$2.00 to walk out there and you can stay as long as you want.They have restrooms and snacks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“dolphin sightings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

lots of dolphin sightings for $2 and fishing from the pier-pretty nice views of the coast line-water kinda murky and greenish-not the cleanest beach in FL

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okaloosa Island Pier also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Okaloosa Island Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okaloosa Island Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.