We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1112 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points and More
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good, not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Typical Hampton Inn, and Michelle and day front desk staff were superb. No problems, but the pool is very small, even if heated and fairly quiet, it doesn't stay that way for long with young kids around. I was expecting something with a beach view. Speaking of beach views, as a Hilton Diamond member, I was given a pretty second rate room. They were able to put us in a king room, but still not an ocean view or even a garden view. Good fitness equipment and room was cool. My husband was on extended business; I joined him for a long weekend. If he didn't need to be fairly convenient to work, I would have preferred to stay at another beach area rather than Ft Walton. A couple of restaurants across the street are ok and a large grocery store within a mile.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    118
    44
    19
    9
See reviews for
143
101
20
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

The microwave smelled of badly burned popcorn the entire stay. Told the staff, but not cleaned. Don't the cleaning staff check these things?

The parking was awfull. Only a few parking spaces mixed in with the condominiums next door. Hard to find space to park

The only elevator is at the one end of the hotel...you have to walk the entire length (about 30 rooms length) to get to the beach view rooms updstairs. There are plenty of closets at that end of the hotel that could be used for another elevator

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

While the hotel is in a nice location and the front desk staff are friendly and efficient, I would not stay here again, nor would I recommend this hotel to anyone. I inadvertently left some items in the room, went back a few hours later and was told that my items were there, but I would need to come back the next day so they could ask the housekeeping staff where they were stored. Needless to say, my items disappreared. The General Manager insisted that my items were never found even though the two front desk personnel, Natalie and Teresa, said they were. By email, the General Manager apologized for "the misunderstanding" without having all the facts. I think this is a horrible way to do business. I was there on government business, and will ensure that everyone I know traveling to the area is aware of the hotel's finders-keepers policy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We stayed at this Hampton Inn June 12 - 14, 2009. It was perfect. Great location, very clean comfortable room, loved the access to the beach with a shower and hose at the end of the walkway to wash off sand from yourself and beach "stuff", heated pool that was a very comfortable temp, loved the balcony to hang beach towels and put your sandy things out on instead of inside the room, nice breakfast, nice excercise room that is kept very cool, two computers in lobby that you can access the internet with, friendly staff, ..... no complaints from us!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

Natalee & Michelle are the Best Of the Best . Both are 5 Star . They have that super can do attitude and want to make sure that your stay is nothing but great . I sure wish all my stays were as nice . It would make traveling on the road alot easier.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

I liked this hotel, typical Hampton Inn. I was there at night only, so I really can't rate the beach. The location was nice, there is a party store right across the beach, in case you want to grab a beer and sit on the beach at night. There is a great seafood place across the street - Old Bay Steamer. I had the "little steamer" for about $22 and it was great. Steamed clams, oysters, mussels, crab legs and red shrimp. It make my mouth water just to think about it. Came with the best dinner salad I ever had, wish I would have bought a bottle of thier house dressing.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

I love the Hampton Inn chain and this particular Hampton did not dissapoint. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and quite. The hotel is on the beach with direct beach access and about 8 beach front rooms. The free breakfast is a free breakfast. It is not Cracker Barrel, but it is free. Bottom line is where else can you stay at a hotel on the beach for under $100 a night (most of the time) and get a free breakfast? I have stayed here twice and will definitely stay here again the next time I am back in Fort Walton Beach.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach

Address: 1112 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.