We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best little hidden secret!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1112 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save!
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best little hidden secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here last week and loved it!! Great staff that are super friendly every time you walk in, great housekeepers, good breakfast, nice décor, EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE BEDS, and the BEST location you could ask for. It was perfect!! Its a tiny 2 story in the midst of several high rise condos for half the price but with the same amazing beach!! The beach was a perfect clean white sugar powder and you have the choice to rent a sun lounger or bring your own. We went into Destin to check out some other beaches and sites and came right back to our own. It was by far much nicer. It wasn't crowded, there were showers to rinse the sand off, a place to rent kayaks, canoes or paddle boards and a small pool that's perfect for a quick dip after the beach. There are even side entrances for easy access back into the hotel after a day at the beach, rather than walking back to the main entrance to get back inside.
You've got beach stores and restaurants within walking distance and the Boardwalk is a mile down where there is fantastic beachside dining (and an after hour dance club) and the Okaloosa Island Pier. We had the best time walking out on the Pier! Everyone was great and even let my kids catch their first fish!
Destin is a 6 mile drive but don't go between 430-730. It's madness!! WAY too crowded and traffic was crazy!! It just wasn't worth the hour that it took to get such a short distance when we had everything we needed right there in Fort Walton.
I was extremely impressed. We will be back every year and won't stay anywhere else. The not so positive reviews about this hotel blow my mind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonfwb, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We feel we are a hidden gem, and your comments have told the world~ Hope to see you again soon!!

Rachel Joyce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    113
    39
    19
    9
See reviews for
132
93
18
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
circleville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

the hotel was average, staff was friendly and helpful, when needed. liked the hotel was right on the beach. the room was clean. there were plenty of towels. there were plenty choices for breakfast and enough of everything. we went to fort walton to see a mural painted by my step brother. he also painted the water tower in view from the hotel, beautiful! the hotel was in a good location. the pool was warm, a little small, but we went mostly for the beach. didn't have any trouble finding a parking space. if we are in the area, we would definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonfwb, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments! The water tower mural captures our area perfectly I think and I hope you do as well. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards,
Rachel Joyce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here last week with our 2 kids and had the best time. The property is nice and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. Easy access to the beach! You can also pay extra to rent a umbrella and 2 chairs which is worth the money instead of lugging the tent and everything else yourself. We can't wait to come back to the same hotel next year!

Room Tip: Choose a beach front room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonfwb, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments - We truly love having you here.

Kind Regards,
Rachel Joyce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baker, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Tiny, musty hotel with a tiny pool in the parking lot. Poor security as each first floor room opens directly to an unsecured, shared parking lot. The hotel does have access to the beach but no amenities (pool, patio, gazebo, deck) at the beach. All rooms (with exception to maybe 8) view the parking lots or neighboring buildings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonfwb, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We're so glad that we had the chance to serve you during your family vacation. I'm sorry to hear that we did not quite meet your expectations. Reviews such as yours provide us with great input as we reevaluate our guests' needs. We also want to assure you that guest safety is very important and we do everything we can to ensure this. We hope that you'll let us know when your in town again so we can help make your next stay even more special.

Kind Regards,
Rachel Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Decor needs update common area as well as rooms. Heating/cooling system needs work. Unable to sleep because of hot and cold all night. Microwave did not work in room. Overall experince was overpriced, out dated, heating/cooling system needed work, cleanliness was also an issue. Would not stay at this hotel again. Made me question the condition of other Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonfwb, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I'm terribly sorry to hear about the unfortunate experience you had and regret any discomfort you had due to the room's temperature inconsistency. Our maintenance team is working to make the necessary repairs and updates and we appreciate that you alerted us to your concerns. We're also reviewing your comments with our housekeeping team so that we can ensure our rooms are serviced to our high expectations.

Kind regards,
Rachel Joyce
rachel.joyce@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband has been working in Fort Walton Beach for the past several months, for a week or so at a time. He has stayed at this hotel majority of the time and has wonderful customer service. I got the chance to go down for a weekend too, so this review isn't just his. The rooms are very clean, the breakfast was good enough for what it is. The beach is beautiful, and and you can rent chairs with umbrellas for the day. There is a nice little pool (although it was out of pool towels one day). But the real winner was the customer service. The staff was great. They did whatever they could to help. They lent me corkscrews, they baked cookies, and were really helpful with recommendations (not just touristy spots). I was really impressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonfwb, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so muchf or your kind words! We pride ourselves on customer service so it's exciting to hear from our guests who have enjoyed their stay. I look forward to your next visit!

Rachel Joyce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Every three years I take my choir to Disney and on the way back we stay at this spot. They give us great rates, wonderful help, they are easy to work with, and the rooms are so nice! Best part about the hotel (besides the wonderful breakfast, comfy beds, friendly staff, and great location) is the BEACH. A quiet beach right at your door with lifeguards and a beautiful setting. Not too far from the pier. We were treated like royalty and we will be staying there again!!

Room Tip: First floor rooms open inside but also outside with easy access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonfwb, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments - We do truly love having you here year after year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach

Address: 1112 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.