We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the worst Hampton Inn ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1112 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save!
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This was the worst Hampton Inn ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Let me start by saying we stayed here because the hotel we usually stay at was full. First it seems it was an older hotel, the doors were on the outside.Now I will let a few things go because they were under renovation;they were supposed to stop construction at 5:00 pm, however it was way
Later and we were put in a room right down the hall where the construction was going on.Later we started smelling smoke like someone was smoking in the room,but when we told the front desk they said the only thing they could do was spray febreeze
Which they never did.We also found a pair of dirty underwear in a small hole in the wall.
Now a good thing was that Amber did not charge us for the room.Thank you Amber if not for you we would never stay at Hampton Inn ever again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonfwb, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
First of all, thank you for choosing to stay with us when we know how many options you have. I am truly sorry that you had an undesirable experience and I’m working with our team to ensure that these errors do not occur again. We are currently undergoing an extensive renovation and looking into additional ways to communicate construction hours. We will also work with our contractors regarding the after-hour productions so that it does not affect our guests’ comfort and safety. I’ve spoken with our team about the undesirable smell and we’re currently freshening all of our guest rooms. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention so we can continue to improve and enhance our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    92
    29
    18
    9
See reviews for
103
79
16
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in one of the rooms on the beach and could not have been happier with the hotel and the staff. We normally stay in a condo and this trip we just dropped in without reservations and was lucky enough to get one of the two remaining rooms which was right on the beach. The breakfast was good and every member of the hotel staff I spoke with was very polite and helpful. I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

It is hard to really rate this stay because they were in the middle of construction and I am sure things are not usually this way. The lobby was closed and the breakfast was served in a room. The rooms were large and comfortable and will be beautiful when the renovation is complete. Location is excellent. The staff went out of their way to make the experience as good as it could be under the circumstances. Look forward to going back when it is done.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Overall experience was good. Ongoing construction at the hotel dropped the hotel by one rating. Beach location outside the hotel was nice and peaceful. Access to Destin and Fort Walton was good and advantageous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonfwb, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We are very sorry for the inconvenience as we work towards improving our guest rooms and property look. Anticipated completion date is Nov 15 for our lobby and Dec 15 for all of the guest rooms. Please let us know if you have additional comments or suggestions you would like to share. We are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLeansboro, Illinois, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was our first visit to Fort Walton Beach, Florida. Rooms were very nice, the beds were very comfortable. Minutes and steps away from white sand and clear water. Very peaceful, a nice relaxing place after coming from Key West. Thought the room was a little pricy for a Sunday and being September but I guess there is a price to ocean access and the view!

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean view room. Love sitting on the balcony drinking coffee and watching the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights...Kevin and Brenda at front desk was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, and the beach is so close...our room had ocean views. Housekeeping staff were wonderful. Best place to stay at Fort Walton Beach :-) Loved the pool and swimming in the "gulf"....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here for four nights and had an amazing time. Kevin at the front desk was extremely affable, helpful, professional and genuine. It was a pleasure talking to him. The staff in general was friendly and would go out of the way to ensure the guests had everything they needed. The location was great as it is right on the beach and the cleaning crew did an exceptional job! The rooms were always clean and in top shape. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach

Address: 1112 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.