We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mixed Bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clemenza s at Uptown

Clemenza s at Uptown
99 Eglin Parkway NE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
850 243 0707
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $13
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My mother, who lives locally, had been here for a Sunday brunch which she said was delicious and the place (note: the same restaurant has 2 TripAdvisor listings here - what's up with that?) was packed. Saturday night at 7 pm and the place was filled but not crowded. There are several big screen TV screens here - it isn't a sports bar but it isn't a white tablecloth restaurant, either. We were seated prompt;y and our server arrived right away, explaining the specials and giving the prices (always a good practice), We split a caponata appetizer, and had cannelloni, 1 lasagna and house wine. The appetizer was good ($8) was good, as was the cannelloni ($17). The lasagna was a sea of mush - tasty cheese and bolgnese sauce, but the noodles had been microwaved to death and had tuned to total mush. I picked at it but didn't eat much. The server asked if I wanted it boxed up, I explained it was porridge, she disappeared and brought the bill and said the item had been removed from the bill - an appropriate gesture and we tipped on the generous side to show our appreciation that the restaurant had done the right thing in a bad situation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    23
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Really good!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Wanna try really good pasta? That's the place. The chicken sambucca sandwich is a lighter choice.

Get some Garlic Rolls, they are a must have!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Italian brunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

A lot of the menu is "Mama's" Italian grandmother's recipes. You won't find them anywhere else. I have tried most everything in the menu and it is all delicious. She also has specials every Saturday and Sunday (which is the only time they serve brunch)
A must!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauston, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mama's European Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

A charming, fairly new restaurant which is a spin-off of Clemenza's located in Miramar Beach. We were greeted by a friendly hostess who immediately seated us. Our waiter gave us menus and took our drink orders. The menu is a unique assortment of European and domestic items. In a short time we placed our order and were pleasantly surprised by the quick turn-around. All of our party really enjoyed their meal and were happy with the service. A nice touch is that Mama Clemenza circulates among the tables in this restaurant and ensures all customers are satisfied. We found Mama's to be excellent due to their ambience, menu and service. We will definitely go there again. Great job Mama!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Rude server for lunch party!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I felt like I was in an epidsode of Seinfeld dealing with the soup guy. One wrong request as simple as "Can I get my bill?" after the meal was over was met with attitude from the server. Someone in the party mentioned that he can't do well in tips because he was so rude...however as a party, we had no choice as gratuity was added to our bill.

Usually the work crowd I dine with requires 2 servers. Perhaps he was overwhelmed but that isn't our fault. Recently my work party went to Aegean Sea and had one server who seemed much more welcoming of our business. If given a choice, the server today would have received no tip.

I can't complain about my calzone. I hesitated to attend due to past experiences. After today, I doubt I'll be back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clemenza s at Uptown also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Clemenza s at Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clemenza s at Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.