We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it much.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Pearl

The Black Pearl
1450 Miracle Strip Parkway, Suite 104, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
+1 850-833-3016
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Black Pearl is located directly on The Gulf of Mexico in the Boardwalk complex on Okaloosa Island between Destin and Ft. Walton Beach. We serve only the freshest seafood, aged prime beef and whole Maine lobsters in a casual, yet elegant atmosphere. The restaurant offers an extensive wine selection that compliments every dish as well as a full service bar featuring the best martinis on the coast. All of our dining tables offer a stunning view of the beach whether you sit inside in air conditioned comfort or outside on our open air deck.
Laurel, Mississippi
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it much.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Bread with oil, vinegar and herbs/seasonings was great! Spinach salad, shrimp, steamed veggies and drinks were all wonderful with a terrific seaside view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    63
    41
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good until the entree”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Black Pearl is a nice attempt at a more upscale dining experience on the boardwalk. The staff was friendly and courteous. Our waiter, Jennifer did an excellent job. We arrived in time for the sunset specials. The bread and salad were nice but the entree was very bland. I had the grilled shrimp, roasted vegetables, and mashed potatoes. The shrimp and vegetables were just bland. The atmosphere was nice and there were views of the gulf, but I wouldn't call them breathtaking, especially when there's a intense volleyball game going on 10 feet from our dining table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stay away!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The quality of the food and the price did not match. This place is definitely a tourist trap. I had the ribeye and mahi mahi. The ribeye had more fat than meat and the mahi mahi tasted frozen and microwaved!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Atmosphere and Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The view was fantastic and the food was great. The service was wonderful and the cozy feel to the restaurant made it the perfect place to end the day. Probably best Martini in Fort Walton and the service was helpful/personable and timely.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food and location but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We met friends here for dinner during our two night stay in Ft. Walton. We were able to sit with a gulf view and the atmosphere was very nice. The food (we all ordered different things shrimp, steak, fish, kids ordered pizza) was good but did not justify the high prices. For our family of 5, which we can normally eat for around $35, it was $85 here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Pearl also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Black Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.