We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timpoochee Trail

Timpoochee Trail
Fort Walton Beach, FL
800-822-6877
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Biking Trails
Attraction Details
North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My wife and I were celebrating our 43rd wedding anniversary. We had planned to rent bicycles on Wednesday but a cold snap in Mid November prevented us. The next day was ideal with temps in upper 60s. We started at mile marker 3 and went to mile marker 14, turned around and came back to mile marker 3 for a total of 22 miles of bicycle riding. The land is pretty flat so it was not too much for 2 senior citizens. We stopped along the way to eat, talk to people and visit the public beaches. We made it a full day and we loved every bit of it. We went in November, off season, so we got a good deal on the bikes. Additionally, the trail was not crowed. The trail does cross the highway in places of beware of traffic.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Great and fun bike trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

First thing I need to say to TripAdvisor is they need to change the location of this attraction. It is NOT in Ft. Walton (A good 35 minute drive from Ft. Walton). It is even 12 miles past Destin. But because Destin is the closest and biggest town near it, I guess it could be considered an attraction in Destin.

This trail is 30 miles long one way. But there are plenty of places to park your car, so you can choose to bike 60 miles, or just 1 or 2 depending on where you park and where you want to bike.
If coming from Destin, shortly after the hospital in Sandestin, you will see a sign pointing to the beaches (Topsail Beach) to the right (a big intersection). Take that. The trail will start shortly after and there is free parking. If your plan is to bike through the charming towns, I would suggest driving on to one of the communities you are interested in, because some of the best of those towns are at the halfway point of the trail. So it will be quite a bike ride to get there from this starting point.If coming from Panama City, head to Rosemary Beach and park there. The trail ends (or begins there) depending on which side you start on.
The trail itself is a combination of scenery. You can pass the woods only. You can pass through some older neighborhoods, and you will also pass some of the most charming seaside villages you will get to bike through in Florida. At a few areas of the trail, you will be able to view the Gulf of Mexico. And there are several community access walkways if you want to stop and visit the beach for a little while. The path is paved, and wide enough for bikers and pedestrians to share. There are a few bumpy places on the trail, but outside of that, it is an easy trail to ride on. You will pass over various driveways, but will cross over relatively few streets to have to wait for cars. Many cars will yield for you, but keep in mind, many tourist are glancing around at the scenery themselves and may not notice you. As far as biking solo on the trail, it is relatively safe. The trail stays along the road the entire time, so hopefully anyone out to do you harm will think twice because of all of the passing traffic that is in full view.
While always good to have water with you on a trail, you will pass multiple stores and restaurants if you are in need of a drink or snack. Bathroom facilities are available. Many will be at the restaurants you will pass. But I do know that Seaside does have public restrooms, and about a mile east of Seaside, there is a beach access area on the beach side of the road, and there is a bathroom located in that parking lot (it is not overly obvious from the road).
One of the fun parts of riding the trail is that you pass through several charming seaside town, that you have to do a side trip and ride through the streets to look at the architecture or landscapes. I personally think it is one of the main reason that parts of the trail are so heavily used. In these small towns, if you do not live there, you are not allowed to drive your car through them, which make it easier/safer to get around by bike. If you ride around enough, you can often find the small nature trails that are associated with some of the towns. Many people have heard of Seaside. Several communities that are similar popped up over the years, that still have their own charm. Each area is worth a visit, even if you have to take more than one trip to see them.
If you are more into nature trails, than paved trails, there are a few State parks located along the trail (you can also choose to park there and just bike out to the trail). Just check the map for where they are. Or park elsewhere and check out the other trails along the way.
If you did not bring a bike, do not worry. There are multiple places from one end to the other that rent out bikes. Whether you live in the area or are close enough to visit, this is a must do. If you like to do a little activity, biking is a much better way to explore the trail than to walk or jog even. You will just have the opportunity to see much more.
So please come, and have fun....

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, NY
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Perfect Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Nothing could be more beautiful than riding along the coast in Florida's Panhandle, especially on a trail that allows you to avoid traffic. Timpoochee Trail winds through many small villages and past beaches and parks. Whether you are looking for a straight ride or a trail with places to stop in scenic communities and parks and beaches, Timpooshee has it all. The path is almost flat, although the winds can make the ride more difficult. We learned to check the wind forecast and plan our rides accordingly. You can park on streets along the route or at State Parks (for a fee), which also provide more riding and beach access.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Scenic Bike Trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Wonderful bike trail with the most awesome scenic views. The trail is very long with lots of shops and restaurants along the way.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a beautiful arena and camp which nearly closed a few years ago due to lack of funds and maintenance. I am delighted that it was turned around and still exists at all.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timpoochee Trail also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Timpoochee Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timpoochee Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.