We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel & very accommodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Southwest Miracle Strip Pkwy, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel & very accommodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We drove 12 hours to spend spring break in the fort Walton/destin area with our twin 6year olds and our yellow lab. Yes this hotel is dog friendly (no fee) which is why we chose it in the first place and the price was right for the length of the stay. We are still here as I type this review.

The room: nice and clean, moderate decor, and the beds are comfy. I have always like la Quinta hotels for the quality of the room and stay and this was no different. Three pillows on each bed, nice fluffy pillow top bed. Our room came with a fridge and microwave and two queen beds. We were originally supposed to be on the first floor but I called back three times and just said I don't care where they put us as long as we could check in early and that we had two beds, and they really did accommodate us and made it possible. After driving for 12 hours straight I did not want to have to drive around town for another 4-5 hours to wait and check in so I really do appreciate that they did that for me and got us checked in , in less that 10 minutes. And honestly I am glad I didn't end up on the first floor because it was very busy, especially in the early A.M. During breakfast. The lobby was full and the lunch area was filled with other guests and people talking in the halls and walking back and forth.

The hotel: like I said, faily new. Right off the highway so you can't miss it. Though the road is kind of busy. Decor is nice and updated. Breakfast was pretty good for the price. Quite. Bit of variety. Today was eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy with a variety of cereals, bagels, boiled eggs, yogurt and waffles you can make yourself with juice, coffee or tea, or all three if you please. But with it being spring break and all, it was definitely early bird catches the worm. I didn't not arrive until around 9;30 but there was still enough of everything for us to have some or everything ;)

The area: .....this is the nitty gritty. The hotel is very close to beach access and close to the harbor boardwalk. And I don't feel like I missed out on anything by not having a beach front hotel, it saved me about $300 for my 6 days stay, if you don't mind a few red lights then it might be for you.
The hotel itself is fairly new and is really nice, but it is on the main highway to destin and emerald parkway so after about noon the roads got very busy and traffic started to back up, and there are some not so great drivers here in Florida. It is in what looks like the "down town" area of fort Walton, there are a lot of little unique shops and diners which is cool and there are students I am guessing, jogging in groups or walking to near by stores or eateries which is something I don't really see back at home so I am assuming the area is not too bad. About 6 minutes west there is a mall, and about 15-25 minutes east there is Henderson state park and the silver sands outlet and destin commons. There are ALOT of grocery stores. I swear probably a publix, target or Walmart every 2-5 miles if even that. So it is convenient if you need to run out and grab something really fast.

The one thing that I did not notice until my husband pointed it out...the hotel is literally, right in front of, like the pool is across the street from a homeless shelter so there were quite a few homeless citizens walking along the streets, sitting around hanging out, and sleeping outside of the homeless shelter. I honestly had no idea until we went out of the parking lot the back way to catch the red light and we saw them all. I didn't feel that I was in any immediate danger, they do have a few cameras outside of the hotel, but if you had to walk your dog in the walking area at night, it's basically an empty field with a make shift fence. I think they are in the process of turning it in to another parking lot. It's just something to think about. Besides that I can't really complain. The hotel is clean which is what matters and we aren't here most of the day anyway only to come rest before our next adventure.

All that said, would I return? Yes I would. They are very good to their guests and try their best to make them comfortable.

Room Tip: Get a room by the stairway exit, much faster than using the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    73
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
146
70
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Dayton, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband & I stayed in this hotel for the first time and we will definetly come back!! The staff was very friendly & helpful. Everything was clean and very comfortable. We were in Fl. for our granddaughter's 1st birthday, we had planned her party outside but it was very windy and cold. The manager allowed us to have her party there at the hotel! He never blinked an eye when we asked to use the meeting room on sush short notice. There were 7 of my family members staying here and we wanted to be able to sit together in the evening, they were very gracious in allowing us to use the cafeteria to sit and play cards and just hang out. This is the only hotel we will stay at when we visit again. Thank you all!

Room Tip: Very clean and a very friendly staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipshewana, Indiana, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is probably one of the Best Hotels that we have ever stayed in. It was Top Quality in Every Way. We choose La Quinta because they are dog friendly. We were traveling with our large lab. They received us with open arms and even had a dog run area for the pups.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was very surprise with the great customer service at this hotel. I had been looking for a hotel in Destin area. When booking my vacation, the first thing I do is to taken care of my hotel. I had reviewed a lot of the reviews and travelers pictures of TA. The hotels in the Destin area were a little pricey than I wanted to pay.
I spoke to receptionist name Kiran. He was very nice and polite. He was very educationed with the area. Since this is my first time in this area for my vacation, I wanted to make sure I was close to the beach, to Destin and other areas. He took out his time to explain and answer those questions that I had. I know that he may have been busy but I didn't feel rushed. I also wanted to know the size of each room. Which he happily went over. With his great attitude and patience I decided to book my reservation at this hotel. I know this may seem like a commerical but it pretty much rare to find a represenative at a hotel that would be this friendly. Dont get me wrong, I have stayed a plenty 3 star hotels. However, based on the reviews I have so much expectation for my stay in June of 2013. Let's see how LQ stands up to the others. I will repost about my visit.

One other thing!!!!To be honest I am not too excited about hotels that allow pets. Not that I am against pets because I have two wonderful outstanding dogs that I love very much. However, everyone is not a clean and considerate of others with their animals as I would love them to be. I was assured the presence of an animal would not be known when I stay there!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice stay. Hotel was nice, clean, and quiet with friendly staff all around. Common areas appeared neat and clean, room was clean, bath clean, bed was good, dog stayed free, nice location, good breakfast choices, would definitely stay again. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach

Address: 3 Southwest Miracle Strip Pkwy, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites, Fort Walton Beach awarded 2010 Inn Of The Year and recently named a 2011 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence award winner, is located less than one mile away from beautiful white sandy beaches.The La Quinta Inn & Suites is near plenty of fun activities nearby including water sports, boating, waterparks, fishing excursions shopping outlets and golfing.All of our comfortable rooma are Non-smoking and come with amenities like free wi-fi internet access, olush pillow top mattresses, microwave, refrigerator, 32" flat screen TV's. There are rooms available with a partial view of the Bay.Wake up to a free newspaper and Free Bright Side Breakfast in a large breakfast area, each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.