We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Temple Mound and Museum

Indian Temple Mound and Museum
139 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL
850-833-9595
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Natural History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are an educational and cultural institution of long standing traditions. It is our mission to preserve, interpret and present the prehistory and history of the Fort Walton Beach community and the Northwest Florida area from 14,000 B.C. through the 1950′s. We serve students, citizens and visitors through exhibits, educational programs, publications and special events.The Indian Temple Mound Museum is part of the Heritage Park and Cultural Center which also includes the Camp Walton Schoolhouse Museum, Garnier Post Office Museum, Fort Walton Temple Mound, and the Civil War Exhibit Building. One admission price covers all four museums!
Memphis to N.O. to Fort Walton
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is over the bridge in the old town. It is a nice little something to do (especially with the kids) when you have had enough sun for a few hours.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“An Indian Mound right in downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Indian Temple Mound Museum in downtown Fort Walton Beach is a small museum in a unique setting. A boardwalk outside the museum allows visitors to climb to the top of the burial mound to view a replica of a ceremonial structure. Inside the museum is an impressive collection of Native American pottery excavated from the Florida coastal area and dating back to before the arrival of Europeans. The displays are interesting, but not flashy, modern or high-tech. The showcases are low enough for children to view the exhibits, and there are several hands-on activities like weaving from palm fronds. There’s a Seminole canoe, arrow heads, and spear tips, but the primary focus seems to be pottery and its importance to the daily life of foraging and hunting Indians. The Indian Temple Mound Museum is part of the Fort Walton Beach Heritage Park and Cultural Center which includes three other structures (school house, post office, civil war artifacts) which we didn’t visit. The admission price is modest and we felt we got our money’s worth just visiting the mound museum. There’s also a nice little gift shop with lots of Indian themed items. The museum also has a display featuring Billy Bow Legs, the pirate. The volunteers are extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Check the times on the openings; the Temple Indian Mound Museum opened two hours earlier that the others on the day we went.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“very cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

It was interesting seeing all the fragments of pottery in the museum and the incising on them. It is awesome that the mound is preserved to the extent that it is. Helps us remember there is something that has been here since before 1776. Near the Indian Museum and Mound there is also a schoolhouse museum. The guide there was very informative and it was a neat place to visit. There also is a small Civil War exhibit nearby. We were glad to have access to these resources of an educational nature while visiting beaches in the Panhandle.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“History Preserved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Indian Temple Mound Museum is a peaceful haven in the heart of downtown Fort Walton Beach. While the city is bustling just outside the museum once inside I was transformed to a time long ago when Native Americans lived here. The artifacts tell the story of the mound Indians that lived here. It's fascinating to see the pottery and photos and to read/hear the story of how they built the mound carrying the dirt by hand. Then when you climb the stairs to the mound to begin to understand just how much dirt they carried and how much time it took. On top of the mound you realize how they must have looked out over the bay and surveyed the land around them. The staff at the museum are knowledgeable and more than answered all of my questions. The best part for me was the gift shop! The jewelry is beautiful. Browsing thru the books, little drums, dream catchers, CDs etc. was delightful. The Indian Temple Mound Museum is the best place to visit in Fort Walton Beach.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsland, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“nice visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Interesting museum. Fun to walk around and check out. Was within walking distance from where we were staying.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Temple Mound and Museum also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Indian Temple Mound and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Temple Mound and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.