We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome history, great stop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Temple Mound and Museum

Indian Temple Mound and Museum
139 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL
850-833-9595
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Natural History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are an educational and cultural institution of long standing traditions. It is our mission to preserve, interpret and present the prehistory and history of the Fort Walton Beach community and the Northwest Florida area from 14,000 B.C. through the 1950′s. We serve students, citizens and visitors through exhibits, educational programs, publications and special events.The Indian Temple Mound Museum is part of the Heritage Park and Cultural Center which also includes the Camp Walton Schoolhouse Museum, Garnier Post Office Museum, Fort Walton Temple Mound, and the Civil War Exhibit Building. One admission price covers all four museums!
Palm Coast, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Awesome history, great stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This museum is well curated and is a treasure-trove of information about the civilizations present here before Europeans settled. Very well-researched.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Museum Programm... C, Museum Programming Coordinator at Indian Temple Mound and Museum, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We're glad you had a good time at our museums! Our museums cover over 12,000 years of history about Native Americans and local history, and our exhibits are constantly evolving. Come visit again and you'll probably see something different!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Local History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

First, we checked out the Indian Mound and the replica of the Temple and read about its history. Next, we toured the museum and the related buildings. There were quite a few Native American items exhibited going back 14000 years! The most interesting part was the early 1900's restored schoolhouse with all the furnishings and pictures. Does anyone know what a 'Dun's' cap is? Bruce the tour guide gave us a historical overview of life at that time. The Civil War and Post Office exhibits were also informational. A must for history buffs.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Museum Programm... C, Museum Programming Coordinator at Indian Temple Mound and Museum, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are so glad you had a great time at our museums during your recent visit! The Dunce cap was named after John Duns Scotus, who is a well-respector Scottish scholar and theologian born in 1260. One of his more mystical teachings was that wearing a cone shaped hat, similiar to that of a wizard, would funnel knowledge to the wearer and hasten learning. As Humanists gained the upper hand, Scotus' conical hats became a symbol of shame. Scotus was actually beatified by Pope John Paul II in 1993.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great little museum. We needed a place to go as the beach was too cold. I am surprised that we have driven past it several times. The total price was $13 for the 4 of us. We learned about the history of the Native Americans in the area. Within the museum, there were several hands on features that we loved. Great info all around. Here are some tips:

-You cannot walk on the mound. There is a viewing area. There are 4 levels of stairs to get to it. If you have a stroller, you will have to park it at the base. There isn't handicap access
-The post office and Civil War area was interesting. Lots of info
-The school house was wonderful. It was hands on and gave the kids some next experiences

This is a hidden treasure within the area. Don't miss it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Missouri, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Learned a lot about the history of Fort Walton Beach. Never knew anything about the native Americans who inhabited the area. We learned about the area and the people.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very cool exhibit and history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Loved seeing this museum and finding out a little more history about indians who lived on the coast. Lots of interactive hands on stations for kids and adults. Didn't get to visit the school house. The surrounding area near the museum would have been fun to walk as well. Would love to go back! It is a small museum, but there is soooo much to see!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Temple Mound and Museum also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Indian Temple Mound and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Temple Mound and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.