We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in an OK location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   137 Miracle Strip SW, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good hotel in an OK location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was our 3rd US hotel in as many days. We decided to stay here longer than 1 day due to it's location near the beach. The rooms were fairly standard but clean and with the added bonus unlike most US hotels, of having an in room safe. The hotel was extremely quiet with no noise from other guests or from outside, The check in (early) was handled smoothly and in a very friendly manner. We did have a small problem with the aforementioned safe but this was dealt with quickly and effectively by the same lady who checked us in. There is a smallish pool which is quite cold despite being supposedly heated and a very warm and nice hot tub. The breakfast is adequate for most needs.

There are 2 restaurants within walking distance- a Thai and an Olive Garden and a Pizza Hut next door.

All in all we would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: 4th floor front of hotel rooms have a nice view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear we met your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will look into the pool opportunity mentioned in your post. Thank you for your business. We look forward to your net visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    25
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
36
18
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times on business and for pleasure and have always received the best service. Michelle and her staff do an excellent job and are so helpful and accommodating. The rooms are clean and well appointed, the hotel is quiet and very convenient to the beach and town. After trying a few other hotels near by I keep coming back to this one , the price is good and the staff are great, Joe and Travis you are gems !!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you letting us and others know about your excellent stay for both business and personal. We will let our GM, Michelle know your kind comments about her and her team including the service you received. We look forward to seeing you back again soon when your travels bring you to Ft Walton for both business and pleasure. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, IA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Well, I'll start with the positive:
The room was quiet, even though we were on the end facing the main road. (We were on fourth floor). We did not hear any noise from neighboring rooms. The location worked well for us. We were close enough to Destin for all it had to offer, while paying quite a bit less. The property looks nice. The halls are very wide. The staff was all very friendly.

Now, for the negatives:
The elevator beeps at every floor, and it was so loud that, to my ears, it sounded like a smoke detector noise. I had to plug my ears and let my husband operate the elevator.
The vending machines and "store" near the front office were all out of water. I didn't feel like venturing back out at that hour, so we drank tap water. I went to Publix the next morning (we were there for two nights) and bought a case for $5, which is something the manager might have considered doing to take care of the guests.
The shower had absolutely no water pressure. We were on the 4th floor, so there may not have been sufficient force. The shower curtain was too short, so we had to fight it to keep water from getting all over the floor. The toilet needs a new flapper, because it ran intermittently.
We had paid for an "ocean view suite". Well, if you see my picture, you have to look way out there behind the bay and some trees to see a tiny glimpse of the ocean. SO not worth the extra money.
The first day I just wanted to grab a yogurt at breakfast (about 7:30 a.m.) There was none in the cooler. Another guest was also looking for some yogurt. The second day, we didn't bother with going into the breakfast area. You may wonder why we stayed a second night; my husband wasn't feeling well that morning, so he didn't feel like loading up and looking for another hotel for just one night, as we were headed to Orange Beach the next day anyway.
Worst of all was the bed. We had a king size bed and kept rolling into each other in the middle. The second night, I lined up the extra pillows down the middle and it helped to keep us from bumping into one another.
At checkout, I brought up the water pressure, shower curtain and toilet issues, but didn't feel like standing there with a long list of complaints; we were just ready to leave at that point. The clerk was very apologetic, but there was no offer of any refund. They promised to get everything fixed before our next visit. hmmmmm.... don't think there will be one. But hopefully, they can fix those things for someone else's visit.

Room Tip: don't pay extra for "ocean view" get two doubles instead of a king so you're alre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. We will address each and every concern you mentioned in your post. We hope you will return and allow us a second chance to give you an exceptional stay as we always want every guest to arrive and depart happy. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was my first visit to the Fort Walton Beach area, so I had no idea where to stay.
Unfortunately, when this happens my corporate travel agent takes over and books the cheapest room available! Which is not always a pleasant stay!!! I have to say, that for the price, and compared to what else is available in the area i would stay here again!! sure, the carpets are worn, and maybe a little dirty. As are 90% of hotels more than a couple years old. Breakfast was no feast, but for the rate I got on the room, not really an issue. Bottom line, if you are a business traveller that just needs a decent room for a good price, stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy you chose to be our guest and hope when your business or personal travel brings you back to Ft Walton, you will make us your first choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort walton veach
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Establishment is old, dirty and items are broken. Non-smoking rooms are sandwiched between smoking rooms. There is no apparent pride by the owners. The breakfast is not worth getting up for. We booked thru expedia and was told we could cancel with a 24 hour notice motel has a 72 notice. They donot honor online policies. Donot recommend this motel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments. The hotel is actually going through some great changes and updating the guest rooms. We sure wish we were able to offer a larger variety of breakfast options, however we follow what the brand has available.
We will look into the Expedia opportunity mentioned in the post to ensure both the hotel and third party websites have the same policies. We hope you will allow us another change to give you a great stay. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I'm rating this now even tho we checked in earlier today. We called ahead for reservations for one night and was pleasantly surprised to receive the most courteous and efficient service. So when we checked in, the desk clerks were just as nice and fun to talk to. The room was very clean and comfortable. Good location with easy access to a choice of many restaurants.

Room Tip: We are a Choice Hotels member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate you and your business. We are thrilled to hear we not only met, but exceeded your travel expectations. We hope when your travels bring you back to Ft Walton, you will stay with us. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights while property hunting and were in a top floor king directly facing the gulf. Room was cleaned well, beds comfortable and it was quite. Would recommend if you don't need beach front access

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for being our recent guest. We are glad to hear you may be making Ft Walton your new home in the near future. We hope until you find your permanent home, we will be your first choice while in the area. We appreciate your review and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites

Address: 137 Miracle Strip SW, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.