We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort, But...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterscape Condominiums

Save Saved
You added Waterscape Condominiums to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterscape Condominiums
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1110 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel amenities
Hernando MS
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice Resort, But...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Waterscape, June 14-19. Checking in was no problem as we arrived at around 4 pm. Grounds, pools, lounge areas all were extremely nice. We stayed in A624, top floor, which is toward the very back of the resort close to the kiddie pool. Glad we were facing the inside pool areas.
The whole resort is set up kind of strange if you ask me. It is shaped as a very long and narrow U, and our condo seemed far from the beach and even the pool area mostly because of the building design. Our balcony was probably a hundred yards or more from the beach. Getting from the condo to the pools/beach involved walking down a long, dim hallway, getting into an elevator, walking down another long hallway, then going out a stairwell/pool exit. The beach was another long walk through a maze of lounge chairs, and walkways.
We went with our 6 and 15 year old daughters. I think the resort is perfect for families with very young children (2-4 years old). There are lots of really nice areas for children that age. Kids were everywhere! I don't think it is all that great for those with older kids. Well, not for what this place charges anyway. We could have stayed beachfront for an extra night at Water's Edge (we stayed there in 2007) for the price that we paid at Waterscape.
The condo itself had a great floorplan, and I was amazed at the size of the balcony. But no beach view made it a waste of space. The kitchen didn't seem to have some necessary items, and my biggest problem-- the beds were hard and very uncomfortable. Our king bed was terribly uncomfortable. When I shell out 350 bucks a night, I expect the beds to be better.
Before you book, realize you may not have that breathtaking beach view, and access to the pools/beach may not be the most convenient. Location is great, beach is nice, but in my opinion, it's too expensive and too far from the beach compared to other places we've been to in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    57
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
162
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We stayed at Waterscape the week of 6/6-13 in unit B501 that we rented fropm owner on VRBO. The location of the unit was good as faced West and very close to beach, which did mean longer walk to parking garage. Unit was well decorated and we had 4 adults and 4 kids (6-11) and fit just right. The resortnad pools are great for kids, especially younger ones. There is a snack hut by the pool with food from Fudpuckers across the street. Disney movies on Tuesday and Fridays by the pool. Several nice Weber grills. Fitness room is great as looks over pool and has new machines. Crab Trap on pier was good as I had blackened surf and surf. Fudpuckers is Ok and can be crowded. Scoreboards is fine, close and never overly busy, but does not have any atmosphere or view, other than Gentlemen's club next door. Speaking of which, there are a few "clubs" and liquor store accross street, so area is not as upscale as Destin where you have Ruth's Chris accross the street. The beach and water were good and having 2 chairs and umbrella was nice. However, the beach nazi will take your chair and move your stuff, and give to someone else, if you leave for more than 45 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We recently stayed at waterscape (unit A508) and had a great time. I stayed here with my wife and 2 year old son. The condo was very well decorated, and nice. We had a terrific view and there was plenty of room in the condo. The bathrooms were very spacious and very clean. The other nice thing about this condo is the door they added to the bunkroom. It really blocks out all of the noise and our son could sleep without any noises waking him up. The only complaint about the condo was the matresses were very uncomfortable. The amenities are terrific, especially for kids. The kids splash pool was great for our 2 year old. Also, the beach is very large and was not too crowded.

I will warn about two things before you book a condo at Waterscape. First, if you stay in a condo closer to the beach, the walk from the parking garage is pretty far. However, we did not mind it too much. Second, they have a movie by the pool every Tues and Fri. So if you have condo overlooking the pool area, it is very loud. We were on the 5th floor and it was difficult to watch tv in our condo (our son was already in bed and we didn't want to watch the disney movie they were showing).

I will probably stay here again, but may try another condo since the matresses were so uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Waterscape resort. When we first arrived, we were upset to find out that the extra night in our room that we had added on a few weeks before our stay was occupied and would have to be put in a different room for a night and then move to our real room the next day. We have 3 small children and weren't happy to hear that we would have to move all of our belongings (which is a lot with a newborn, 2 and 3 year old) and groceries to another room during the next day which we'd hoped to stay at the beach/pool all day and relax. The staff was wonderful and gave us that first night for $200 off and the next day, amazingly at our request moved every one of our belongings to our real room and put everything exactly (and I mean exactly) in the same spot we had them in our previous room. We were then able to enjoy our day and never had to worry about the move. They were very friendly and helpful and have also kept us up to date on one of my childs blankies she had lost and have been looking everywhere for it. So, definitely A+ on the customer service.

The resort itself was wonderful with the 3 different pools which are great for any age. The small pool has a pirate ship slide and is no more than a foot deep and has a mushroom that sprays water off the top and little animals that also spray water in the pool. This is a great pool for small children that are just walking or are too young to swim in a big pool themselves. The middle pool is nice and quiet and is like a normal pool to leisurely lay around in. The pool nearest to the beach is neat with the lilly pads to play on, waterfall, food bar, and has another foot deep enterance for small ones. And of course, the lazy river which is a lot of fun to float around in. My only complaint of all of the pool areas is that there isn't an onsite food grill/bar type area to grab lunch. You can order off the menu from Fudpuckers across the street there, but it is expensive and can take a while to get there. So, be prepared to pack a lunch or be sure to have lunch on hand since there are no good food options for lunch unless you leave the resort. The beach is beautiful with the emerald ocean and white sand. They set out 2 nice beach chairs and umbrella each day for each room at the resort - complimentary which is great.. but be sure to put your towels on them early as the best spots go fast.

The rooms are fine - nothing spectacular, but are just fine for a family to stay comfortably in. It is definitely nice to have the option with stainless steel appliances to be able to cook dinners in the room and not have to go out each night. It can really save some $. And, we had the nice big refrigerator to stock drinks and food items in for meals we didn't want to eat out for. I do love the built in bunks in the wall - my kids really thought they were something. Do be prepared though to bring some extra towels for bathing due to them only setting you out 4 total for your entire stay. Not a big deal though as there is a laundry room in each room so if you want to wash them you can.

Overall, we had a wonderful trip and are so happy to have found this gem in Ft. Walton - which is such a great area for families and has a lot of food/shopping options - as well as Destin only being 15 minutes away. We will for sure be back and are going to begin planning our trip for next year! Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

First let me say the rooms are gorgeous. View from balcony was exceptional. Have nice pools and lazy river. That being said . We rented a 2br/2.5 bath condo for one week for 3 adults at the cost of $2200.00. There is absolutely no housekeeping. No towel replenishment. Nothing!! Be prepared to wash them yourself. I own 2 timeshares with the Hilton and avoid staying with them because they only give midweek service forget that here. You are on your own.If you like working and not being waited on during your vacation go for it. It is probably a great place for younger people with children. The hallways are very long and difficult for the older folks I was with to walk. There are benches though along the way to rest. Forget about any luggage assist. If you like to pay high dollar for no amenities this is your place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Visited with our 19month old, rented 1 bedroom condo through an website of a private owner. The kiddie pool with slide was great for our daugher and could be for the next couple of years. Be careful of their play area - the ground gets very hot - make sure your kids wear shoes :(. Since we went through a private owner, we didn't get the beach amnenities (chairs/umbrella) that are a part of a ResortQuest rental but the white sand and ocean made up for it. It was very easy to go back and forth from the beach and pool as our daugher wanted since they are just separated by a short boardwalk. Plenty of good restaurants nearby in Destin. The condo wasn't huge but was pretty new and well kept. Only disappointment was that the kitchen table was higher with bar stools which made it difficult for us to use a booster seat for our daugher. We had a inner courtyard - pool facing unit and could see the beach as well from the balcony. Thinking about returning Fall of 09!. Would recommend to any family looking for a great beach/pool vacation.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

We just returned from our stay at Waterscape. We stayed in room A 424. It was a GREAT place to stay! Great dining across the street at Fudpuckers....awesome beach, amazing pools, lazy river, great service, friendly staff...modern & CLEAN facilities, safe..& the list goes on. I will definatly return to Waterscape, and I highly recommend it to anyone & everyone!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterscape Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterscape Condominiums

Address: 1110 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterscape Condominiums 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterscape Condominiums, professionally managed by Wyndham Vacation Rentals, are located on beautiful Okaloosa Island, which is infamous for its emerald green waters and white sandy beaches. Waterscape was constructed as a U-shaped property to house the "heartbeat" of the facility; the tropical oasis and pools. Waterscape has a two tiered pool deck separated by a 10 foot waterfall. The lower pool deck includes a large zero entry pool with spray toys and lily pads for the young at heart. The resort's lower pool deck features a long lazy river for you to float down on resort inner tubes. The upper deck houses a seasonally heated pool. There is a children's splash area on the upper pool deck that features toys for toddlers and a covered play area for maximum sun protection. There are two hot tubs located in the tropical oasis for your relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Waterscape Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterscape Condominiums Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterscape Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.