We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool and great condo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterscape Condominiums

Save Saved
You added Waterscape Condominiums to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterscape Condominiums
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1110 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great pool and great condo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I loved the pool - great for kids! Our kids were 6 & 7 when we went. The inside of the condo was wonderful. The bathrooms were huge with a nice big bathtub and seperate freestanding shower. The only complaint was that our balcony was on the side and there was construction going on next door on a new condo building. Not a big deal but not ideal either. Also, it seemed like we drove to Destin just about everyday. Would have preferred this place been more convenient to our destinations. When you go out to the beach you have to get there early to reserve a spot on the front row, otherwise you are stuck in 2nd or 3rd row and can barely even see the ocean. For people with kids, it is a MUST that you can see them in the water so I would keep my eyes peeled for someone leaving the front row then run and claim it and lug all of our stuff up there again. Long walk to the parking deck then long drive down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    57
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
158
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We just returned from our Spring Break vacation at Waterscape. We rented our unit from VBRO, it was very spacious, clean and had everything we needed. Decorations and furniture are going to vary from unit to unit, but ours was very nice. Big bedrooms, large on-suite bathrooms and a good size kitchen. The balcony was also a very nice size, but the view was not good. HINT when renting - the resort is a U shape so all the units with an even number will have a pool view. All the units with an odd number will have a limited view of the beach and also (like us) the highway, and construction. The lower number the unit, the closer you are to the beach and the higher number units are closer to the parking lot. So, keep that in mind when renting.
POOLS are really nice. The weather was pretty chilly so it was nice to have a heated pool and a few hot tubs. There is also a really nice toddler pool with a little slide and my 3 year old LOVEd it there. It was next to a little shaded toddler playground area, very nice. There is also a lazy river and a zero-entry pool with a waterfall. Can't say enough about the pools, very nice. There is an on-sight pool side restaurant which is great for snacks or drinks or even lunch, and grills are available pool side for your use. The beach is just beautiful - very clear water. Our unit came with 2 free chair rentals (I believe they all do) which was a nice bonus..
Overall, very family friendly and clean and in a great location. Destin is just 6 miles away and there is lots of shopping, tons of restaurants, and plenty to do to keep busy.

Room Tip: Remember - odd numbers have a beach view but it will be limited unless you get a LOW number unit. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Nothing to say much more about this condominium but Very good, we stayed here(Waterscape condominium) for 3 night for the first time and my family they enjoyed the beach and Waterscape pool property clean and beautiful, room is so nice. weather(03/242014) for this time is cold no body want to swim in the beach just playing around.

Room Tip: Bring your own hair dryer, jacket(depend on current weather).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at Waterscape over our spring break, March 15-22. Although the weather was not the greatest with storms and rain the first 3 days, the last 3 full days were wonderful. Below I have listed the pros and cons to this facility. Overall, my family had a nice time and we'd consider coming back to stay again during the summer.

Pros:

* We enjoyed the beach service (provided by our owners) during our stay. Beware: when booking, make sure to ask if your beach service is covered by the owner. There were a few surprised renters who thought theirs was covered, which their owners didn't pay for, that had to pay for their own beach service or not use it. I believe it's something around $15 a day and a little cheaper if you pay for the whole week or longer.

Our 2 children enjoyed the white sand and beautiful clear water! They were able to see a lot of sea life- LOTS of jelly fish, sea stars, dolphins and fish. We appreciated being able to shower off when coming back from the beach and having a place to leave our flip flops when heading down. We tried to get in as much beach time as possible!

* The property is manicured very well. We appreciated the effort by the staff to keep the grounds clean and safe. We didn't mind the staff checking and asking to see our bracelets at the pool.

* We enjoyed using the grills down by the pool. We never had to wait for one and having the option of grilling was very nice!

* We liked the location of the property. We never took advantage of walking to nearby restaurants, but did take a stroll down the beach to the pier. It was also very easy to get to a grocery store and a short 3-5 minute drive to Destin.

* We enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub. The heated pool was located on the upper deck- which was close and convenient to our condo in the A building.

Cons:

* Fire Alarm testing- all week. Although we didn't spend a ton of time in our room, we were not made aware that they would be testing the fire alarms Monday-Friday. We however did use our room during the day to rest a little and eat our meals, which were not as peaceful as they could have been without the constant fire alarm testing. We were eating breakfast one morning when they needed to come into our room to test our alarm in our condo. Kind of strange wearing pjs with maintenance people in your room, but oh, well... I was so thankful that we didn't have a baby or toddler that needed naps during the day as I'm sure it was very difficult for them to rest if the alarms were being tested in their area.

* I had read that the resort provided activities for the kids during the summer months. I would love to see the resort provide these during "high season" times as well, like spring break and holidays. The resort was packed with kids and I'm sure many parents, like us, would have loved to have something for our kids to do at the resort on the days it was raining and too cold to go to the beach or use the pool.

* Although we enjoyed the (1) heated pool at the resort, it was the most used during our stay by all resort guests. A few kids dared to try the lily pads and I saw maybe 3 or 4 kiddos use the lazy river. It would be awesome if they were able to heat all pools for use during the winter, spring and fall months. Part of the reason we chose to stay at this resort is due to all the water activities provided for kids, although due to the temps being in the upper 60's and cold water, we didn't take advantage of them.

* I was surprised to see that the resort allows people they hire (may not be resort staff) to smoke on the premises (not in designated smoking areas).

* Lastly, the last day of our stay we were awakened before 8 a.m. to construction going on in one of the condos around ours. I wasn't sure if it was below us or above us, but there was constant drilling and hammering. Again, not the most peaceful and quietest stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are more convenient for pool, beach and grilling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was our third year in a row to stay at Waterscape in Fort Walton Beach. We have signed up for next year too. Staying here three times is an indication we like it. The covered parking, 24 hour security, easy access to the beach are some of the amenities. We booked via Wyndham Resorts whose service was excellent. Booking via Wyndham makes it easier to for many reasons, including reporting issues. Otherwise you go to your booking agent. Couple minor issues which were very promptly handled. Thanks to the staff for their quick response. Waterscape has many activities to meet and greet people get to know others from out of town as well as locals whose home is Waterscape. Units are individually owned, the decorations and upkeep varies by owner. Online gives you a good view of the available units, if you want a one, two, or three bedroom unit.

Room Tip: Units are individually owned. Thus decorating and upkeep is the owner's. You can view them onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson Harbor, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Rented for Jan and Feb 2014 and sort of escaped NY winter. Colder than expected but whole east coast was frozen. Nice 1bdrm unit, well appointed, VG grounds with pools and spas, secure, covered parking. Right price for snowbirds. Easy access to dining and shopping. Good older crowd. VG fitness room with nice equip. Lost a few lbs. Will come back if we can. Good value. Give it a try. Only gripe is sleeper couches suck for chairs and fridge is noisy.

Room Tip: Tile floors were freezing during cold snap. Unit was over parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfort, illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is our third time to Waterscape and we love it! We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit in the A building. Heated pool and hot tubs came in handy since the weather was a tad cold (didn't bother the kids, but it did us!). Our unit had games in it, so on the day it stormed we were able to play Monopoly and Uno. The unit itself was nice - great TV's and furniture was all really nice!
The unit was A416. The mattresses in both rooms were really great. There was constantly staff around the resort cleaning and doing work.

Things to remember if renting a condo:
Bring cleaning supplies (they give you a few dishwasher tablets and towels, but you need to bring everything else).
Bring your sand toys and swim toys
Don't forget your beach towels (much bigger than the standard white towels in every condo)

There are grills on site and the kitchen is stocked with pots, pans and utensils if you are planning to cook in. There is a publix just across the bridge, a tom thumb on the island and a gas station about a block away. There is a liquor store across the street.

Restaurants we love:
Helenback's -- great pizza and nachos on the bay
Bauchamps
props brewery in ft. Walton -- great burgers
old bay steamer -- great seafood
pompano joe's - great seafood on the water

You can easily walk to the boardwalk along the beach or side walk -- great shopping and we liked the crab restaurant too!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterscape Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterscape Condominiums

Address: 1110 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterscape Condominiums 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterscape Condominiums, professionally managed by Wyndham Vacation Rentals, are located on beautiful Okaloosa Island, which is infamous for its emerald green waters and white sandy beaches. Waterscape was constructed as a U-shaped property to house the "heartbeat" of the facility; the tropical oasis and pools. Waterscape has a two tiered pool deck separated by a 10 foot waterfall. The lower pool deck includes a large zero entry pool with spray toys and lily pads for the young at heart. The resort's lower pool deck features a long lazy river for you to float down on resort inner tubes. The upper deck houses a seasonally heated pool. There is a children's splash area on the upper pool deck that features toys for toddlers and a covered play area for maximum sun protection. There are two hot tubs located in the tropical oasis for your relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Waterscape Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterscape Condominiums Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterscape Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.