We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterscape Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Waterscape Condominiums to your Saves list
Waterscape Condominiums
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1110 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel amenities
Carrollton, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is one the best place we have stayed in Florida. The staffs are wonderful and our kids love the pool and the convenience access to the beach. The room is equipped with everything to cook with. You just have to bring food. Knowing what your kids are eating is better than eating out. Save $$$ at the same time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    60
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
175
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We visited Waterscape as our first visit, and really loved the place. We booked through Resort Quest and stayed for a week in a 1 bedroom condo. The Resort Quest staff was really great, especially Keri who took time to answer all of our questions for us. Upon entering the lobby and the resort in general, it is kept very clean with well manicured landscaping. I saw many workers tending to the care of the facility during our stay.

We entered our condo on the 6th floor and were very happy with it! The furniture and decor were very up to date and everything was clean. Our girls loved staying in the bunk beds; however, they were in a precarious spot. They were right by the AC unit that kicked on and off all night and close to the washer and dryer that we had running. There was also a fire sprinkler right above which you had to be careful not to knock your head on when entering the top bunk, so we warned our daughters. Our unit had 2 bathrooms which came in handy and a very large balcony which we spent a lot of time on for lunch and sipping coffee in the morning. The condo overlooked the pool with glimpses of the gulf. It was a great unit overall!

The pool deck was very well planned. It had so many options for so many different ages. It included a little kids play area, a splash pad, two large pools (one of which was zero entry), two hot tubs, and a lazy river. The pool deck also had many gas grills that were available to use. There was a fitness area close to the pools that looked very nice. I read in previous reviews that other guests complained of the workers enforcing the rules around the pool area, but I have to say that the worker that reminded us about a rule we were breaking was very nice about it. All the staff was very pleasant that we came in contact with.

There was also a kids entertainment crew that would do a lot of activities for kids. We didn't have a chance to do most of them, but we did partake in the snow cones and the dive-in movie!

The resort offers free DVD rental which was nice. Many of the movies we wanted to see were checked out though and never available during our stay; however, we were flexible and watched other movies. We were just thankful for the free rental abilities.

The beach was beautiful with the softest sand we have ever seen. It was like walking in powdered sugar. The water had a unique three rows of colors (emerald, teal, and dark blue) which was beautiful. Unfortunately during the week we were there, there was some June grass coming it. It did not hinder us from going in the water, but was somewhat gross when it stuck to your swimsuits. I know it is just nature and it cannot be helped, but it slightly lessoned our opinion of the beach overall. Still great though!

We found that there were many things to do around the area. We went to the Gulfarium, the Boardwalk, the Village of Baytowne Wharf, and Harborside Village which were all fun areas. The BEST activity we did was the Buccaneer Pirate Cruise! Our kids had so much fun on it and it leaves from Harborside Village in Destin. Great family adventure. There were many great food places in the area too. We ate at Fudpuckers, Dewey's Seafood (Destin), and the Crazy Lobster (Destin). We ate our breakfasts and lunches in the room with the nice full kitchen.

Overall, Waterscape is definitely a resort our family would love to come back to with many great things to do in the resort and a lot of great attractions outside of it as well!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We recently stayed at Waterscape in room A508. This is our second visit (same condo) and really enjoyed the experience. A number of reviewers have noted the security and requiring wrist bands at all times. This is true, but we didn't mind at all since it keeps non-guests from using the facilities that you are paying for. Also, the staff were very friendly and welcoming and we really appreciated seeing them around the pool areas. The staff at checkout was terrific and we were able to check into our condo an hour early. Also, they gave goody bags to our two children, which they were very excited about. Overall, the resort is great and very kid friendly. They have done an excellent job at maintaining the resort.

The only suggestion I would have for travelers is that if you do not have children, stay at another resort as this is probably not the place for you. The pools were a little crowded, but it was fine and expected. We would definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Very nice 7 day stay in unit B602. Nicely decorated and well kept. Great views of the beach and pool. Location was better than average because Waterscape is at the end of a row of properties which made it less crowded at the beach. Pool area was not too crazy - crowded but big enough that you could still spread out. Lots of gas grills for cooking. Fuddpuckers snack shack was the only disappointment - pricy and not good. Close enough to Destin to enjoy shopping etc but much less congestion in Ft Walton beach. Definitely a great spot for families. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

1st stay on the Gulf side .this is a nice place with lots for the families. Beach is different form the ones at Hilton Head sand is very white. First two days were rainy so our well stocked condo(games) was a Godsend. The place is clean and our unit was very convenient . On the first floor and close to parking and pool A109. We rented from Southern Rentals there were one communication issues but not anything bad. The parking garage needs a few more convienient Handicap spaces. The pool police are A. Annoying B alittle rude. That could be handled better. All in all we would come back here for future vacations.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our first time at Waterscape. We stayed in unit A418 and they said it was a "no view" unit,which was entirely wrong. We had a lovely view of the ocean from the balcony. The pools and grounds were beautiful,staff was friendly and location was excellent. We have never stayed in a one bedroom unit that is made for 6, but this had plenty of room for our party of five. Free beach chairs and umbrella was nice to have already set up and paid for (included with rental). Definitely a good family choice with kids. We will return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Make sure you request inside room. You will face courtyard,if not, you will face outside to street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA - NC
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is our 3rd year in a row of staying at Waterscape and we all still love it. This year we came the first week in June whereas we used to come a week before Memorial Day so as to avoid the crowds. Thankfully it wasn't that bad. There was always room in the pools since they have 3 plus a lazy river. The pool area was always kept clean. There was also plenty of availability for beach chairs/umbrella. (Tip: You need to go out early and reserve yourself your chairs/umbrella if you want to be on the first row closest to the water, which was important to us. If not then you will have no problem getting a chair in the 2nd or 3rd row when you get out each day). We found the complex to be clean and the staff friendly. There are several grills placed throughout the pool area on a first come - first served basis. We used them twice and had no problems finding an available one near our condo. If you have a family with kids and like to vacation in the Fort Walton Beach Area, this is the place to be. There are not a lot of restaurants near the complex, but we cooked most of our meals so that was not important to us. If being near a lot of restaurants and shops is important to you, I would suggest staying in Destin. For us, the beach was most important. We can't wait to go back to Waterscape next summer!

Room Tip: The lower the number the room the closer it is to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterscape Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterscape Condominiums

Address: 1110 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterscape Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterscape Condominiums, professionally managed by Wyndham Vacation Rentals, are located on beautiful Okaloosa Island, which is infamous for its emerald green waters and white sandy beaches. Waterscape was constructed as a U-shaped property to house the "heartbeat" of the facility; the tropical oasis and pools. Waterscape has a two tiered pool deck separated by a 10 foot waterfall. The lower pool deck includes a large zero entry pool with spray toys and lily pads for the young at heart. The resort's lower pool deck features a long lazy river for you to float down on resort inner tubes. The upper deck houses a seasonally heated pool. There is a children's splash area on the upper pool deck that features toys for toddlers and a covered play area for maximum sun protection. There are two hot tubs located in the tropical oasis for your relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waterscape Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterscape Condominiums Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterscape Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.