We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Beach Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Place Resort

Save Saved
You added Summer Place Resort to your Saves list
Summer Place Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer Place Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1111 Santa Rosa Blvd., Okaloosa Island, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Beach Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family (4 adults and 2 children) just stayed at Summer Place for a week. We stayed in one of the 3 bedroom/3 bath units. The room was clean, decorated nicely and comfortable. We had an amazing view of the beach from our balcony. The property was clean and the two pools and hot tub were great. It was also really nice to have a full kitchen and washer and dryer too. I would definitely stay at Summer Place again. The rooms were spacious, nice and comfortable. The beach was AMAZING.

Room Tip: If you're staying longer than a few days, you'll need to go pick up a few things. Toilet pap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Angola, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just stayed in condo 605 and it was very nice but not really worth the price in my opinion. I have stayed in a few condo's for a lot less and just as nice. The condo was left with 2 rolls of TP, 2 dish towels, and 2 garbage bags and no dish soap. The worse part about the whole condo was the internet was so slow my family just used our phones internet instead. Would i go back to this condo, no i wouldnt i would look for a cheaper condo. It was very nice just too much money. The summer place facility was very nice, great pool and beach and close to boardwalk.

Room Tip: spend less your not in the room most of the time anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, Kentucky
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My family and I have been coming back to stay at Summer Place for years now. We absolutely love these condos and have stayed in multiple units and have yet to have a bad unit or bad time. The pool is big enough for all those staying there, the free chair service on the beach is a great plus and the condo's are always clean and well put together. The location of the condo is great, it's far enough way from Destin that you don't feel like you are in a tourist trap but close enough that you can take a quick drive over the bridge to experience some of the restaurants and things to do over there as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is a gem in the Emerald Coast. Fantastic staff, fantastic rooms and fantastic service. What more can you ask for? This gem may not be on the beach but it makes up for this with being a "home away from home"!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Unit 102. Fabulous beach. Unit is a few steps from the pool(s) which are well maintained, as are the grounds. Condo was as advertised - 3 bedroom with each having their own bath. Perfect for several adults. We rented through the property management company. We were dissatisfied
with the cleanliness, especially the kitchen. Utensils, pots/pans were stored unclean. Glass top dining table had food residue dried under the edges. When reporting to the property management company, the response was "the table glass is moved every three months. And the other issues are deep cleaning issues, which we do yearly.". Bed linens and towels were very worn. I would stay at Summer Place again, but rent directly from owner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in Unit 306. This was the second time to rent this unit. Great condo with lots of room. King bed in master, two queens and bunk beds in the third room. Complex is well kept. Clean and pools are kept up. The view from the balcony is just amazing. We sat on the balcony each morning listening to the waves and watching the dolphins play in the ocean. Lots of great places to eat that are close by. Destin is only about a 10 minute drive down 98. I would recommend this condo to anyone wanting a great get away vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Very nice condo building. It was very clean and well maintained. There usually isn't anyone on site so you pretty much take care of yourself. Someone must come and clean up the common grounds some time but I never saw them. One thing we weren't thrilled about was that there was only 2 charcoal grills. During dinner time there was usually a wait for a grill. The pools are small but very nice, the kids enjoyed them. The beach is beautiful, but there can be seaweed problems at times. Very satisfied with our stay there though, and would recommend this place to other families.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summer Place Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Place Resort

Address: 1111 Santa Rosa Blvd., Okaloosa Island, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer Place Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best location on Okaloosa Island! All units are directly on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Summer Place Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Place Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Place Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.