We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with great staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1230 Seaway Drive, Fort Pierce, FL 34949   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Fort Pierce
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Good hotel with great staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is located near the ocean, only a short walk away. It has a pier on property with built in seating that guests can use. The poolside "bar" area was nice to sit under each night while the kids swam. Tore, the evening front desk employee, was fantastic!! Very welcoming, respectful and accomodating. She provided excellent service with a smile and we looked forward to seeing her each evening of our stay. Definitely would stay again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    72
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
64
119
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had driven up from the Keys and were not sure what to expect, but we needn't have worried. What we got was a very clean, comfortable hotel room, with wonderful views across the water. The Staff were very pleasant, knowledgeable and well trained.
Breakfast was the best we had had in a hotel during our stay, the only problem was that we only got to stay one night and will definately stay longer next time we are in this part of the world.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Hutchinson island plaza is a hotel right on the ocean in fort pierce, a short drive to Vero beach. The beach in front of the hotel is more for fishing and I would not swim there, however there is a beach for swimming a short walk away. There are many restaurants near by that are reasonably priced and have good food, so the location was great.
The hotel was clean and there was a breakfast served however the options were very limited and not the best. Also, the pool was on the smaller side and there were not many chairs. Overall, this is probably one of the best hotels in the area of Fort Pierce.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Another enjoyable stay. My husband and I enjoy walking mornings in the nearby neighborhoods. Quiet and clean rooms. Nice bedding and friendly staff. Breakfast room was a little crowded but manageable and breakfast is included. Nice bars and restaurants near by. Can't stay on the island without a stop at Archie's. Can't wait till visit four!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We have spent a month in Florida and booked this hotel for 2 nights through a third party after having read on the site and in many trip advisor responses from the management that all rooms have a balcony and sea view, which was very important to us. On arrival we were allocated a room on the ground floor with no balcony and a view of the car park. We could not even open our curtains or window as there was no privacy or security and therefore had a dark, dingy room. We were told that there are rooms without a balcony and these are allocated to those who do not book directly. We asked to upgrade and pay the difference but there were no vacancies. The misrepresentation spoiled our stay which otherwise would have been good. The staff were friendly, the room very clean, the breakfast adequate (and having been in a dark room, we were pleased to take ours out by the pool as the breakfast area was congested), the location was good.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a "sea facing" room at additional cost. We arrived to discover the room was on the first floor and when we opened the drapes, we had a view of not the "sea" but the hot tub and the Tiki Hut. Immediately requested a room change (any other room) but was told they were completely booked. Have read in some sources that the worst rooms are given to guests who do not book directly with the hotel. Since we booked this room through a second source well in advance, what I read might have merit. Overall this hotel had some good features which you can read about in other reviews. Here are some reasons in our experience this hotel is generally overrated. The room had an air conditioner and a dehumidifier with a drainage hose running through an unsealed hole in the wall. The wireless internet connection was poor. I lost connection several times. The side doors have a sign saying "Locked At All Times." Not true never locked and our room was 3 ft. From one of those doors. Breakfast area was very nice looking but somewhat small and the food display area was very congested. One day we left the room at 9:00 and returned at 4:00 and had to wait while they finished cleaning the room. Finally, the last night I went to the front desk and specifically requested the time for a wake up call. We had a flight the next morning. They called our room 22 minutes after my requested time. We tried to accept the room location as buyer beware and booking lesson learned but honestly several other aspects of our stay made us feel this hotel was "average."

Room Tip: Call hotel directly to book a "sea facing" room and insist it not be 1st floor unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked a room through a third party for 3 adults and was given a room with one king bed. When asking Cherri about the room, Tori came out from an area behind the desk to take over the conversation and stated we would have to pay for a roll away. I told her we had booked for 3 adults and she said we obviously had chosen the wrong type of room, even though the reservation stated 3 adults. She was extremely rude and said again we had chosen the wrong room. We had to pay for the roll away. She wouldn't even look at my confirmed reservation. The hotel is nicely located near restaurants, walking distance to some. Later we overheard Tori arguing with another guest. It is too bad she was working that day or we might have come away with a better impression.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites

Address: 1230 Seaway Drive, Fort Pierce, FL 34949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Pierce
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Pierce
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Pierce
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Pierce
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Pierce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel & Suites offers waterfront accommodations in a relaxed tropical atmosphere. We are located on South Hutchinson Island directly on the Fort Pierce Inlet. Just steps from the water and nearby businesses and attractions, the Plaza offers something for everyone with private balconies on every room offering gorgeous water views, seasonally heated pool, hot tub, private fishing dock and a Free Hot breakfast in the morning, Free wi-fi, and much, much more, we are sure to please the most seasoned of travelers. We invite you to come and discover the Hutchinson Island Plaza experience for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhurst Hotel And Suites
Sandhurst Hotel Fort Pierce
Sandhurst Motel Fort Pierce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.