We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location And Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1230 Seaway Drive, Fort Pierce, FL 34949   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Additional 10% Discount
Ranked #1 of 24 hotels in Fort Pierce
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
“Great Location And Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a great 3 days at this hotel. Cherri the front desk person was a gem. She was very knowledgeable about the area with places to go for entertainment and eat. The rooms were very clean and the water view is amazing. All the staff is polite & friendly. Very peaceful place with a lot to do around the area. We will be coming back again since we now have a great staycation beach place to escape to from Hollywood Fl. Thanks again Cherri for all your help and courtesy during our stay.

Room Tip: you need to book water view but do 3rd or 4th floor great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    48
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
80
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and had a wonderful stay at the hotel...great location and wonderful information provided by front desk staff. Imagine my dismay to find a $300.00 charge on my next credit card statement for smoking in the room!!! We are smokers but enjoyed our smokes on the balcony as instructed!!! I have called 5 times to speak with the manager Karen but as yet I have not received a return call!!! I was hoping to return for our anniversary but that will not happen!
I am totally appalled at the lack of customer service on the part of the hotel manager karen

Room Tip: Rooms on west side have poor wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 4 days ago
First I would like to thank you for your review of our property, we greatly value the opinion of our guest and use these opinions to improve our product and services. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, however it does sadden me to learn of your disappointment in our customer service and with our nonsmoking policy. These days people don’t take as many vacations as they should, so the ones they take need to be extra enjoyable to make up for this lost time. Arriving in a nonsmoking room that has a strong smoking odder is a major way to start that needed vacation on the wrong track at the very beginning. Our policy is made very clear at check in and in the cases we do in fact charge for damage to the room, it is due to the procedure we must take to clean and repair the room from the odor. The room has to be shampooed, all linen in the room has to be stripped and washed including curtains, and an ionizer machine has to be left in the room for at least 24 hours. This takes several days and the room is of course unrentable during this procedure. I have not received any voicemails from you to date, I apologize if you feel I am avoiding you, I assure you that is not the case. It is our goal to satisfy every guest, however that includes protecting our future guest experience. In the case of your stay it appears we have failed to satisfy you, while also attempting to satisfy the next guest. I want to offer you my sincere apology for the disappointment you experienced during your visit. I do hope you will choose us in a future visit to our great island, and please feel free to contact me anytime to discuss your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had such a good time we extended our stay here for another 4 days. Warm and very helpful staff were always on hand to help with our questions or suggestions for local spots to eat. Loved our room!!! PS Cherri at the front desk was awesome! She was the absolute best!!! We will be back to visit because of her friendly and warm help!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your great review! I am so happy to hear that you were able to extend your stay with us to such a long period of time. Guests that continue to come back and stay for long periods of time is proof that we are doing something right. 100% customer satisfaction is our goal and it starts with a very friendly knowledgeable staff, wonderfully cleaned and comfortable surrondings, and a great value. Thank you again, we look forward to you spending another long weekend with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed at this location several times, each under a different name and management. This year they really stepped it up. The rooms were cleaner, better appointed, and the staff friendlier. Every time I ran into an employee, they were extremely courteous and made sure all of our needs were met. Having a boat slip available was another great perk. Cheri at the front desk was super helpful and nice!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your review and your beautiful photos! I'm so thrilled to hear that you've been staying with us alot over the yerars and have noticed the positive changes that have been made. Great staff, like Cherri, are one of our most important assets in ensuring that our guests have a wonderful stay and feel right at home. We hope to see you again soon, and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed only one night for a family members local activity. The 4th floor has nice view of the water. We thought the beds were 2 queen & were disappointed they were only double size. One bed was very creaky, every time you moved it made a noise which woke us up. Management said they were in the process of replacing them and would note it. We accidentally left medicine in a drawer & the manager was awesome - she locked it up & a local family member was able go pick it up for us. They could have tossed it or, if they were unscrupulous, they could have sold it, but they didn't. That says a lot for their management & ethics!

The hot tub was huge, the pool average. The dock was nice we sat out there at sunset. Local restaurants & bars within walking distance. The wifi was painfully slow. Maybe that's part of the upgrade, let's hope. Overall very nice, it was quiet & clean.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor in the note section when booking for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your very detailed review! We have undergone many upgrades already and new mattresses are at the top of the list for future improvements. I'm sorry to hear that you left your daughter's medication behind, but happy that you were able to get it back in a timely and professional manner. We take great pride in konwing that we have the friendlist most knowledgeable and loyal staff. Thank you again, we hope to see you the next time you are in Fort Pierce!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very helpful friendly staff, full of local information, clean rooms, good views...... Pool, altho alittle small, had access for wheelchair people, people were catching fish off the hotel dock! .All in all a great hotel for the $$$ definitely would stay there again. There were good resturants within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you so much for you review! I am so happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We do offer wheelchair lifts to access our pool and jacuzzi so that all of our guests are able to enjoy the ammenities we offer. We've always taken great pride in knowing that we are the best value in town, offering loads of ammenities and very clean and comfortable rooms for an extremley reasonable price. Thank you again, we look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for Business and pleasure, this hotel was perfect will be back again ,very clean. great
breakfast, very pleasant. Pool beautiful on the Bay. Next time I will try and get a room over looking the Bay Thank you for a nice stay

Room Tip: Try and get room over looking water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review! I am so pleased to hear that you were able to get in some pleasure time while here on business. Knowing that you found your stay to be perfect is something that we love to hear. Our main focus is clean comfortable rooms and 100% guest satisfaction! Thank you again, we look forward to the oppurtunity to wow you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites

Address: 1230 Seaway Drive, Fort Pierce, FL 34949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Pierce
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Pierce
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Pierce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel & Suites offers waterfront accommodations in a relaxed tropical atmosphere. We are located on South Hutchinson Island directly on the Fort Pierce Inlet. Just steps from the water and nearby businesses and attractions, the Plaza offers something for everyone with private balconies on every room offering gorgeous water views, seasonally heated pool, hot tub, private fishing dock and a Free Hot breakfast in the morning, Free wi-fi, and much, much more, we are sure to please the most seasoned of travelers. We invite you to come and discover the Hutchinson Island Plaza experience for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhurst Hotel And Suites
Sandhurst Hotel Fort Pierce
Sandhurst Motel Fort Pierce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.