We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay--would return again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1230 Seaway Drive, Fort Pierce, FL 34949   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Fort Pierce
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay--would return again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Never having been to the Ft. Pierce area we were not sure where to stay but wanted accomodations fairly close to the ocean. After searching online we decided to stay at the Hutchinson Island Hotel. We were very pleased with our choice as it was a pleasant walking distance to the beach--about 15 minutes --but an easy walk. Our room was clean and well appointed. The staff was friendly and professional. There were several nice restaurants a very short distance away. Overall a great experience and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Ft. Pierce area looking for a waterfront view at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tore K, Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers! I am ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed your first trip to our hotel, and the Fort Pierce area. It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and that your room was clean. We pride ourselves on being the cleanest hotel in Fort Pierce with the friendliest staff. I am glad that you had a chance to enjoy our local beach and restaurants all of which are a short walk away. I hope you enjoyed the beautiful views of the inlet from your private balcony, and from our heated pool located on the water’s edge. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    55
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
54
88
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Wonderful accomodations & helpful staff . Great location with views of the Intracoastal Waterway. Only a short walk to the beach and a nice area to walk or bike and get some exercise. A good breakfast buffet was provided each morning and a few nice restaurants were nearby for lunch or dinner. CHERI was extremely helpful !!!!

Room Tip: Hotel suites have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tore K, Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us! I am pleased to see that you were able to enjoy some of the breathtaking views our property has to offer. We are happy to hear that you also enjoyed our deluxe continental breakfast each morning with both hot and cold items. We pride ourselves on having the friendliest staff in town, and it makes my day knowing that Cherri was so helpful during your stay. We hope the next time you are in town; we will have the pleasure of providing you with another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our say at this hotel, nice room a bit of a view of the water, good places for dinner near by and beautiful walk at near by park and jetty. One of the better hotels we stayed in after our cruise, we worked our way up the coast & back to Fort Lauderdale wish we had stayed another night at this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you Kate for letting others know how much you enjoyed your stay! We are so pleased that you found us on your way up the coast. Hutchinson Island in Fort Pierce is a small area but there is lots to see and do, such as dining at one of our fantastic restaurants, visiting one of the local museums such as the UDT Navy Seal museum or the aquarium located right here on the island. I'm glad you found your room to be nice and clean and enjoyed your view from the balcony. We hope to see you again and hopefully you will be able to stay more than one night! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This small hotel lived up to the positive reviews here on Trip Advisor and elsewhere. Small but clean rooms and friendly, helpful staff complement the convenient location. Waterfront hotel in walking distance to several restaurants and bars. Highly recommend. Great value for the price.
Special thanks to the front desk, cleaning crew, and all the other staff members.

Room Tip: Book early and choose water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for writing such a nice review! I am so pleased to see that the hotel lived up to your expectations, with clean comfortable rooms and friendly helpful staff. We offer the most ammenities, including a deluxe breakfast in the morning, free WIFI and a fridge and microwave in every room, all for a reasonable price. We hope to see you the next time you're in Fort Pierce and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christmas, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Booked hotel over the phone for three guest was told only thing available was a king room but they could put a roll away bed in the room. Was told on phone when you come in check to see if we have a two bed room available. That was fine had no issue with that. When we arrived the young man at the counter was very polite, we asked if he could check to see if there where any other rooms available, then out of no where a young woman comes out from behind a wall and starts out by saying what you book is what you get we are full. She was rude to me and my friend not to say she was very rude to the young man behind the counter. She told us if they had a roll away bed we could have one said it was on a first come first serve basis. We advised her we were told on phone we could have a roll away. She snapped back at us agian. The young woman was not wearing a name badge, but when we stopped back later to ask who she was we were informed she was the division room manager. We were shock that a manager would treat her guest let alone an employee in this manner.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we take your comments and suggestions very seriously. As you can see from our other reviews, one of the things we take great pride in is knowing that our staff offers the best customer service. Your situation is truly unique and is not the normal here at the Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel. I sincerly apologize for any mistreatment you believe you were given and I assure you it will never happen again. I appreciated your email as well and I was pleased to see that you found the hotel to be clean and the rest of your experience was on point with what we strive to achieve. We hope the next time you are in Fort Pierce you will give us another oppurtunity to wow you and prove to you that we value our guests and that great customer service is at the heart of what we do. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Excellent value. Hotel is ideally located for walking to nearby restaurants, pubs and even the beaches.
Clean rooms, cheerful, helpful staff.
Towels were a bit skimpy, but that was the only thing we would improve.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let others know how you enjoyed your stay with us! I am so pleased that you were able to get out and explore the island, and found the local bars and restaurants to be terrific. We are located right on the inlet and only about a quarter of a mile from the actual ocean. We do have a small beach on the property that is perfect for setting up some charis and watching the boats cruise the inlet. We also have a 24 hour gift shop filled with snacks, and a hot breakfast buffet every morning. Thank you again we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights on my trip throughout Florida. This was definitely a highlight of my travels. Beautiful landscaping, excellent staff, hot and delicious breakfasts, wonderful location. Hutchinson Island is beautiful, with many great restaurants and just a short jaunt to the ocean. The bed was comfortable, rooms very clean, and the view was great. I sincerely recommend this hotel to everyone and I will definitely stay here again next winter.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your enjoyable experience with us! I am so pleased to see that we exceeded your expectations and provided you with a wonderful stay. Hutchinson Island is a beautiful place and has recently completed a very in depth renovation, the new Jetty Park only about a quarter of a mile from here is defenitely something not to be missed. I'm glad you took some time to enjoy our hot breakfast, and hope you were able to relax by our heated pool and spa or fish off of our 24 hour pier. Thank you again, we so look forward to having you next winter and hopefully sooner than that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites

Address: 1230 Seaway Drive, Fort Pierce, FL 34949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Pierce
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Pierce
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Pierce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel & Suites offers waterfront accommodations in a relaxed tropical atmosphere. We are located on South Hutchinson Island directly on the Fort Pierce Inlet. Just steps from the water and nearby businesses and attractions, the Plaza offers something for everyone with private balconies on every room offering gorgeous water views, seasonally heated pool, hot tub, private fishing dock and a Free Hot breakfast in the morning, Free wi-fi, and much, much more, we are sure to please the most seasoned of travelers. We invite you to come and discover the Hutchinson Island Plaza experience for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhurst Hotel And Suites
Sandhurst Hotel Fort Pierce
Sandhurst Motel Fort Pierce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.