We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1230 Seaway Drive, Fort Pierce, FL 34949   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Fort Pierce
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Riverview, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hotel stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We got to the hotel on Saturday afternoon and left this morning. Everything was clean and neat. Our room was ready for us. Cherri was at the front desk and always had a great attitude, We can not wait to go again.
She helped us find some place to eat, told us where to find live music and was just great,

Room Tip: the rooms on the west have the sun set view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your enjoyable experience at the Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel! I am pleased to hear that Cherri was accomodating, and that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. We pride ourselves on having the only hotel on the island with exceptional service and immaculatly cleaned rooms. I am glad you were able to take advantage of the breathtaking sunset fews and hope you had the time to enjoy our hot breakfast buffett and relax by our tropical pool and jacuzzi. We hope to see you in the future, and again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    74
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
65
127
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Dealing with Cherri was a wonderful experience. She began taking care of us before we even arrived by answering all our questions with patience and friendliness. She quoted the exact price we would pay when we made our reservation and she was correct to the penny. Every restaurant Cherri recommended served delicious food. The hotel itself is good. It is right on the water. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tore K, Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! It is a pleasure to hear that Cherri was so helpful with answering any and all of your questions before and during your stay. I am happy that Cherri was able to recommend a wonderful place for you to grab a bite to eat. It is fantastic to know that you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of your room. We have updated our rooms with high quality linen and pillows for your optimal comfort. I hope the next time you are in the area you have the chance to take advantage of our pool and fishing pier on which you can see the beautiful views and wildlife our area has to offer. Thank you again for sharing your feedback as it is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We are leaving in the morning and had to Share our Great Experience at the Hutchinson Island Plaza. Everyone was Exceptional! Cherri assisted us almost daily. She is like an encyclopedia of the Area and if she does not know... She will find out! The entire Staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome.

The entire property is immaculate. Nice Pool & Hot Tub overlooking Inlet/Waterway. Small private beach with a private pier. Benches on the Pier to watch the Sunset or just enjoying the boats and water.

1 week and No Negatives or Regrets, Thank You to each & every employee!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tore K, Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback with us! I am ecstatic to know that you had such an exceptional time here with us! It is a pleasure to hear that all of our staff were able to make you feel welcome, especially Cherri. I am glad that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our property. We pride ourselves on having an immaculate property and an outstanding staff. It is wonderful that you had a chance to take advantage of our refreshing pool and the beautiful views that can be seen from our dock. Next time, I hope that you have a chance to take advantage of our delicious breakfast that features items such as omelets, sausage, and bacon. Thank you again, for sharing your experience with us! We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel & Suites was one of the last hotels we stayed in on our Florida roadtrip, and made most other accomodations in our price bracket pale in comparison. When we checked in, Cherri at the front desk gave us the 411 on all the best places to eat and drink on the island, as well as the best places to swim. Our room was nice and very clean (even though, sadly, our patio didn't overlook the beautiful inlet), and the pool was a great place to spend a lazy afternoon by the water. Overall, we would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

P.S. The breakfast is to die for (fresh omelettes, sometimes even bacon and sausages)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tore K, Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay! I am happy to hear that Cherri was able to give you such great recommendations on the best places to eat, drink, and swim on the island. It is good to see that you had a chance to indulge in our delicious breakfast in the morning, as well as our lovely pool on the inlet. I am very happy that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room. We strive to maintain our status as the friendliest and cleanest hotel on the island. The next time you are in the area, you may want to take advantage of one of our suites that directly overlook the beautiful inlet, and provide incredible views. Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The staff were all very helpful. Cherri on the staff helped us with what was in the local area. The room was perfect in every way. Breakfast was provided with many hot items included. Their is the beach and a park with a long fishing pier within walking distance. The hotel's price was very reasonable. With a pool, hot tub and its own fishing pier, We will book a room here next time we visit family that lives in Ft. Pierce.

Room Tip: Hotel has 4 floors with elevator, so a higher room would be choice if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tore K, Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I am happy to hear that our staff was helpful during your stay, and that Cherri was able to point you in the right direction to the great destinations our town has to offer. I am delighted to know that your room met your expectations and was perfect in every way. We have updated our rooms with brand new high quality linen, pillows, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, and microwaves in order to offer our guests the most comfortable and accommodating experience possible. We strive to maintain our status as the cleanest and friendliest hotel on Hutchinson Island, all for a reasonable price in a great location. Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mims, Florida
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel was a great choice, very clean, friendly staff (Karen) and was very safe. The boat slips were very convenient. The beach area and pool were also very accommodating. I would definately recommend this hotel for a great getaway!!! :)

Room Tip: The water view was gorgeous!!!! Excellent view from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tore K, Front Office Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms and the safety of our property. I am happy that our friendly staff and Karen were able to help make your stay a great one. I see that you were able to enjoy our boat slips and pool on the beautiful inlet. I hope the next time you will have a chance to enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet in the morning featuring hot items like sausage, bacon, and omelets. Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocal
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I used to live on the island, but had never been in the hotel. I was pleasantly surprised upon entering the hotel and the room. Our balcony overlooked the water and the mini fridge was by no means mini.

My only negative remark regarding the room was the towels because they were thin and scratchy. Although, I didn't pick one up at the front desk, I noticed that the beach towels were just regular towels.

Otherwise, the hotel was pleasant, the breakfast good, and the staff pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. It's on the river and the beach is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback! We are happy to hear that the in room fridge was able to accommodate your needs, and that you were able to enjoy the beautiful view from your balcony. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the quality of our bath towels. We have placed all new high quality towels and linen into all of our rooms. Our pool towels are not the same as our in room towels, they are a high quality pool towel that is also larger then our room towels. I am delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast in the morning with both hot and cold items, as well as our pleasant and knowledgeable staff. We pride ourselves on being the cleanest and friendliest hotel on Hutchinson Island. Thank you again for your feedback, and we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites

Address: 1230 Seaway Drive, Fort Pierce, FL 34949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Pierce
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Pierce
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Pierce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel & Suites offers waterfront accommodations in a relaxed tropical atmosphere. We are located on South Hutchinson Island directly on the Fort Pierce Inlet. Just steps from the water and nearby businesses and attractions, the Plaza offers something for everyone with private balconies on every room offering gorgeous water views, seasonally heated pool, hot tub, private fishing dock and a Free Hot breakfast in the morning, Free wi-fi, and much, much more, we are sure to please the most seasoned of travelers. We invite you to come and discover the Hutchinson Island Plaza experience for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhurst Hotel And Suites
Sandhurst Hotel Fort Pierce
Sandhurst Motel Fort Pierce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.