We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay on way to/from Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1230 Seaway Drive, Fort Pierce, FL 34949   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Additional 10% Discount
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Fort Pierce
Lynn Haven, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay on way to/from Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I got a reference for this hotel from the bartender at the restaraunt I enjoyed dinner at. I got a standard King. This hotel was actually a Holiday Inn Express in the past. In my opinion it has been kept up better than most of those hotels of the same vintage.

Room was clean and quiet. Internet service was complimentary, fast enough, and easy to connect to.

Great view of the Fort Pierce Pass from the Balcony. It is a short drive from the jetties and from downtown Fort Pierce. Staff was friendly and very helpful when I asked for local information..

Karen Marone was the general manager and she was particularly helpful. The hotel is in the process changing it's name to the Hutchinson Island Plaza.

They have a nice dock/fishing pier on the Fort Pierce pass. I'm definately looking forward to staying here again. Hopefully for a fishing trip instead of a business trip!

Complimentary breakfast was very good also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your enjoyable experience at the Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel! I am glad I was abe to to assist you with anything you needed, and the other staff member's were equally as helpful. We really appreciate the photos you took the time to post as well, and the local area information too. Please come see us again when you return to Fort Pierce area, and thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    48
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
82
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I went with his business associates to Fort Pierce for a deep sea fishing trip the weekend after Memorial Day. We stayed in one of the suites and was very pleased with the sedate accommodations. It's not particularly fancy but is more home-like and friendly which suited us perfectly. We arrived just in time for warm cookies that are served each late afternoon. Our suite had a refrigerator (and microwave) which proved helpful as temporary storage for my husband's fish catch. I also noticed there were a few dishes that could be used for meal prep if needed. The room was quiet and dark at night and overlooked the beautiful water outside the balcony. While the hotel pool is small it was enjoyable as was the hot tub. No beach but that was OK. We hope to return to The Sandhurst next year. Excellent seafood restaurants in the area. Great long weekend trip all around.

Room Tip: The hotel arrangement has only a few end room suites which is where we stayed. No fitness center, be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your enjoayble experience at The Sandhurat Hotel. The hotel is under new ownership and has changed it's name to the Huntchinson Island Plaza Hotel. Along with the name change, we have made many upgrades to the room as well. Icluding a 40 inch flat screen TV in all our waterfront suites, brand new high quality linen and upgraded our WIFI equipment for even better service. Please come see us again when you return to the Fort Pierce area, we will look forward to having you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertown, ct
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Clean, comfortable room, nice view, good breakfast etc. What made our stay so enjoyable was the staff. Each employee treated us as if their sole purpose was to make us as comfortable and happy as possible, not because it's their job, but because they genuinely wanted to. They are a real team who work together to make your stay as pleasant as can be. From tips on local dining to serving freshly-baked cookies daily, each staff member takes time to make sure no detail is overlooked. We look forward to being guests at the Sandhurst again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your enjoyable experience at The Sandhurst Hotel. The hotel itself is under new ownership and the name has changed to the Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel. We appreciate your kind words regarding our terrific staff, their job is to make you feel welcome and taken care of so it's great to see they are doing that. While the courteous staff hasn't changed, we have updated the rooms to include a fridge and microwave, flat screen TV's and very comfortable bedding. Please come see the new propety the next time you're in Fort Pierce, we will look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites

Address: 1230 Seaway Drive, Fort Pierce, FL 34949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Pierce
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Pierce
#3 Business Hotel in Fort Pierce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel & Suites offers waterfront accommodations in a relaxed tropical atmosphere. We are located on South Hutchinson Island directly on the Fort Pierce Inlet. Just steps from the water and nearby businesses and attractions, the Plaza offers something for everyone with private balconies on every room offering gorgeous water views, seasonally heated pool, hot tub, private fishing dock and a Free Hot breakfast in the morning, Free wi-fi, and much, much more, we are sure to please the most seasoned of travelers. We invite you to come and discover the Hutchinson Island Plaza experience for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhurst Hotel And Suites
Sandhurst Hotel Fort Pierce
Sandhurst Motel Fort Pierce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.