We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location on Ft. Pierce inlet. Our deck overlooked docks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dockside Inn & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dockside Inn & Resort to your Saves list
Dockside Inn & Resort
1160 Seaway Drive, Fort Pierce, FL 34949   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Fort Pierce
Mount Dora, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing location on Ft. Pierce inlet. Our deck overlooked docks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Had a great room, with the best view. Nice and clean. Bed was comfortable. Loved sitting on the deck and watching the boats go by. Complaints: Could have used some towel bars and hooks in the bathroom, no place to hang anything. The screen that belonged on the slider was off and leaning against the wall on the deck. Otherwise, it was well worth the money. Stairs only, no elevators. There were some rowdy gatherings, one kept us awake quite late. The next day, another very loud party but a call to the desk quieted them down. The staff was courteous and helpful. We will go back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

The place is run down and smells really bad. My family and I decided that we could not stay there over night. We had booked it for 3 nights. We walked next door to the Sandhurt hotel and was able to get a room. The Sandhurst was really nice. Clean big rooms and heated pool. The dockside inn would not give me my money back for the first night so I was out $106 but I was just happy to be at The Sandhurst in my nice room and it was only $79 a night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Traveling south from Orlando to Miami and needing an overnight stop I chose Fort Pierce as it seemed a good location. I found in the Dockside Inn a great little motel, with tons of charm in a beautiful location on the Indian River. It wasn't the cheapest place in town at almost $100 p/n and for the money it is a little run down. Some of the fittings in the room are a bit tatty, and the kitchen was basic, but it was generally quite comfortable. It has been mentioned in other reviews here but I need to add that the Tiki-bar was brilliant. A spectacular sunset and a few beers by the water is a great way to end a day.

For local amenities there is not much else around it, just one small store about a quarter mile away and a two or three restaurants are close to the marina a few yards up the road.

I really enjoyed my stay here, but if you are likely to be a person who is picky if the windows haven't been washed in a while or if there isn't a flat screen TV this place is not for you. Personally, I think it is great, and the lovely people here and this beautiful little area around the waters edge is enough to make me want to return again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

We wanted a nice long weekend in a hotel near water with some sort of kitchen set up. We picked this hotel cause it came as a "featured" hotel when I searched for hotels in Hutchison Island. We got a small studio on the second floor. I'll just give the run down in bullets:
- run down and very dated unit with slanted floor that made me think I was in a Batman episode.
- no amenities other than soap. no tissue box, no alarm clock, nada.
- only one small wobbly table with a lamp next to the bed that was jammed up against a wall.
- terrible bed with an indentation so deep in the middle we kept rolling into each other all night long. it was like sleeping in a taco.
- poor lighting throughout.
- one a/c unit high in the wall. since the controls are all on the top you have to drag a chair over to climb up to be able to reach the knobs which you can barely see.
- the kitchen's setup was THE BARE ESSENTIALS: some plates, silverwear and about 4 plastic cooking utensils: all huge spoons, no spatulas!! 2pots and 1 frying pan. that's it.
- living room had two cushioned easy chairs and the tv. no tables or anything to put a drink down on.
- their continental breakfast was granola bars, packaged danishes, horrible coffee and OJ. that's it. it was ridiculous actually that they call that a breakfast.
The only good thing I can say about this place is that the dock was nice to go out on and feed the pelicans. We left early and will never be back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

We were driving from the West Coast to the East Coast and were looking for a place to stay two hours South of Ormond Beach. I arbitrarily picked Fort Pierce then proceeded to access this website on my iphone (not easy!). It appeared that the only decent hotel there was the Dockside Inn so I called them. The lady who answered was so sweet and helpful, she gave us a room on the marina which was so reasonably priced we expected the worse. Upon arrival, there she was to welcome us and suggest we should eat the their brand new Tikki restaurant, i was dubious, i've never had good food in an average hotel restaurant.
Our room was adequate and clean, it was late and we have two young girls so we just decided to brace ourselves and go to the tikki bar. Well, what a treat!! Our server was a very sweet South African girl, the table was right by the water, and the food was out of the this world: I picked freshly caught grilled fish with a salad, and it was delicious!
We opened the big bay windows and listened to the waves crashing right outside our room to fall asleep. The next morning, they had continental breakfast which we ate on our balcony overlooking the marina, then went for a walk and watch people catching fish.
The only hiccup we had is that I went to the bathroom in the middle of the night and the flush kept on filling up all night until i turned the faucet off. But yesterday i got a letter of apologies in the mail and a refund for $28 because after we left they noticed that the refrigerator was not so clean (we hadn't even noticed!)
By the way, it was really quiet at night time, i was worried they might be drunk people next door (happened to us a lot!) but everybody seemed very respectful of other people, and the hotel is well insulated for noise!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Fl.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We were back at Dockside this past weekend to relax. Left the boat at home and fished off the docks. Had a great time and staff was very helpful! Can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, Fl.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Great place. Rooms very clean. Boat slips are a plus! So is the dockmasters and the bait store. Tiki bar was great but there could have been a little more food for the money. We will be back with another fishing club -- can't wait.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dockside Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Inn & Resort

Address: 1160 Seaway Drive, Fort Pierce, FL 34949
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Pierce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Pierce
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Pierce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dockside Inn and Resort is located on one of the finest deep water inlets on the east coast of Florida. The Fort Pierce Inlet on South Hutchinson Island only 13 miles to the Gulf Stream boasts some of the best sport fishing in the USA.Relax in a pristine Tropical Environment where you will enjoy one of the most diverse eco-systems in the country. Fish for Snook, Grouper, Snapper or Sand Perch from our docks or lie out at one of our 2 pools under swaying palm trees.We offer a wide range of accommodation to suit the Traveler or Family, from Waterfront Guest Suites with Private Balconies to Economical Motel Rooms at attractive packages. The Dockside Inn promises you a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dockside Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dockside Inn And Resort
Dockside Hotel Fort Pierce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dockside Inn & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.