We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a resort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain Resort

Fountain Resort
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fountain Resort to your Saves list
Fountain Resort
4889 N US Highway 1, Fort Pierce, FL 34946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Fort Pierce
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not a resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Not worth the price, not near the beach, this hotel is not worth half the price. Very dated, 80s style motel. Linoleum floors, small double beds, old tube tv, wifi didn't work and when we really needed coffee at 7 AM the breakfast room was locked with no indication of when it would open, still locked when we were packed up and ready to leave at 7:30. Find another place to stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
4
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was suitable for the price, but if we had known it was infested with bed bugs we would have paid $100 for another place (which we did at 2am). After being bitten and inspecting the bed we found the mattress and pillowed were infested with bed bugs. We were only there about 2 hours and hightailed it in the middle of the night and the hotel has been avoiding our calls because we want a refund.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012 via mobile

We had three rooms in total:
Very unclean. Dust on fans, furniture, greasy lamp shade, soap scum in bathroom room.
One room saw roaches on a daily basis. I know it's Florida but I live in Miami and I have never seen so many roaches.
Ask clerk to have room serviced and response was "we don't clean rooms everyday".
Probably the only positive note about this resort was the pool and jacuzzi.
Contiential breakfast is a joke.

In closing this place should be called
"the last resort".

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

While visiting family, we were looking for somewhere close to their home. The Fountain "Resort" was nearby and had good reviews. Upon arrival, the manager greeted us wearing pajama pants and a sweatshirt with a big hole on the chest. That was the 1st sign. We went to our 2 "non smoking" rooms and were knocked over by the smell of cigarette smoke (the butts in the mulch outside the room should have warned us) in 1 room. We asked for another room. The next room did not smell but had a stained bedspread & towels. We settled into the 2nd room, which did not smell, but had a blanket with cigarette burn holes and a nightstand that looked like an ashtray had dumped over and ashes were in the nooks & crannies of the wicker. The bedskirt had ashes on it also. The manager blamed the "blue collar" workers he rented to during the week and not the lack of maintenance or housekeeping for the nasty rooms. The hair dryer & ironing board/iron that were listed in the hotel room amenities, were missing. This was not a "resort" experience. I will never again go to this "resort" or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

A bit off the beaten path, but worth the extra drive. Very clean and cozy, and a great value. The rooms are pretty basic, but clean, and the bathrooms are good sized, especially the showers. The microwave and refrigerator in each room were a huge plus. The only negative is the lack of a good easy chair in each room to watch TV from or read a book (but you can do the latter outside by the pool or your room quite well!). You can also do some grocery shopping about 6 miles in either direction in Vero beach or Ft. Pierce. There's also a good pizza place in a strip mall about 3 miles towards FP adjacent to the CVS. Also check out the restaurants near the FP courthouse and over the bridge along the road towards the FP beaches and park. And Ray's package store on Rt 1 just after downtown FP is good find as well.

In general, this is a clean, cozy 1950's style motel that's a very good value for the money, in part because of its off the beaten track location. Once you get inside its gates you feel like you're in your own private little sanctuary. It doesn't have any frills, but the owners really appear to stay on top of the maintenance and appearance of the property, both outside and inside. The general manager greets as many of the guests as he can, and the woman in charge of maintaining the rooms not only works hard but is awfully nice as well. I've been coming here for 3 years now for a long weekend of baseball and it hasn't disappointed me yet. The only disconcerting thing is that there is a for-sale sign outside, so I don't know how much longer it will be in business, or at least in business with quality ownership and management it enjoys now, who are willing to continue to invest in the property to offer a clean motel at a good value.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geogia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

This was our very first family vacation. We didn't even need to spend money on the area attractions. The children decided they would have just as much fun just enjoying themselves at the resort. The room was like a home away from home. I found every thing very clean and comfortable . The two bedroom was plenty big enough for 6 of us.We cant wait to go back after the new water feature is built.

  • Liked — The room had everything we need to prepare food . The Kids just love the pool.
  • Disliked — There was nothing special about the lake.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Fl
1 review
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

My boyfriend wanted to get away for the weekend because his job at the newspaper was getting stressful. He found this "out of the way place" in Fort Pierce thinking it might be nice. The small room was acceptable but the DVD player advertised as a feature wasn't hooked up. Not really in the $108 a night range, but it was "in season."
At check-in he stated he would be paying in cash but Amber said she needed to run his credit card anyway.
The next day at checkout my boyfriend paid Amber in cash.
When his credit card bill arrived he discovered he had also been charged the full amount on his credit card. The manager Neil Goetze would not issue a credit.
I feel so bad my boyfriend had to pay all that extra money. We just wanted a relaxing weekend but it turned into a disaster.
This place is barely worth $108, but $216 for one night.......
We go to Fort Pierce 1 or 2 times a month but we will never return to The Fountain Resort

  • Liked — Fairly clean
  • Disliked — Being charged double by inexperienced help.
  • Tips/Secrets — Check your credit card bill if you pay cash
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortMgr, Resort Manager at Fountain Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2007
I am happy to report this member did, after wrting this review, contact us about the problem discribed.The resort did issue a credit and an apology. We took this guest on his word, as no documentation was provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Resort

Address: 4889 N US Highway 1, Fort Pierce, FL 34946
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Pierce
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Pierce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An oasis where you are always welcome!" Located on the Florida's Treasure Coast, The Fountain Resort features newly renovated, clean, and comfortable guest rooms and suites. All with wireless high speed internet access, microwave, refrigerator, satellite TV, and DVD player. Our complimentary continental breakfast, heated pool and spa, meeting room, fitness center, & guest laundry will insure your stay with us is comfortable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Hotel Fort Pierce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.