We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Toes Beach Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Pierce
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandy Toes Beach Rentals
Save
You added Sandy Toes Beach Rentals to your Saves list
2507 North Ocean Drive, North Hutchinson Island, Fort Pierce, FL 34949   |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Sandy Toes was a perfect get-away for us. My husband and I spent a relaxed week the end of March 2012. The unit was exactly as represented on their excellent web site, very clean and thoughtfully stocked with nice touches including a complementary basket of snacks and laundry detergent; the use of a beach bag, beach chairs, and umbrella; and an extensive notebook of information about local restaurants and attractions. In exchange for agreeing to basic limitations such as no more than two occupants, no smoking, no overnight guests, no pets, keeping the shades set to keep out direct sunlight in the middle of the day when you are out, and rinsing the beach sand off your feet before going inside -- you get an ideal location, helpful hosts, immaculate surroundings, tons of space, and quiet guests in the other units. If those rules seem unreasonable to you, then you would probably be happier elsewhere. We didn’t have any problem complying with them.

The structure consists of 4 units, one occupied by hosts Nina and Glenn, and 3 guest units. It is a 2-minute or less walk to the beach, across a short, little used dead end street (serving a few other low-rise houses) to a sand/gravel path through woods and over dunes to the beach. The beach itself was quiet and sparsely occupied, with nice sand and some good waves. It is located between an endless line of high-rise shore-side condos which start several blocks north of Sandy Toes and run northward, and a state park located several blocks to the south. Only a handful of walkers from the high-rise condos or the park seemed to make it to the section of the beach across from Sandy Toes. When we left the beach, we found plenty to do within a short drive including kayaking (one guided excursion and one half day on our own at a prearranged drop off spot, kayaking among dozens of manatee), exploring home-grown museums and gardens, going to a Mets game, and checking out interesting restaurants (Portuguese, Cuban, bar-b-que, seafood shacks, etc.) If you are looking for knowledgeable hosts and a comfortable, relaxing setting with all of the comforts of home, Sandy Toes fits the bill.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Coast Condo at Sandy Toes for 3 weeks beginning January 14. Our time there was so ... comfortable!
We arrived late at night, but had no trouble finding the place or getting in. The property is well lit, with private assigned parking in back. The keyless entry (so nice!) meant we didn’t have to bother anyone when we got in, and Nina had the lights on inside for our arrival.
First impression was how clean and spacious the condo is! If you look at the pictures on the website and/or watch the video, that’s exactly what you’ll find. The space is well decorated and uncluttered. There’s no shortage of closet/storage space and there are plenty of hangers. The kitchen is well equipped. And you'll sleep so good on that bed!
TV channel selection is extremely limited, BUT there’s a good, strong cellphone signal and fast WiFi. There’s also a DVD player.
The beach is right across the road and down a path. Only trees and shrubs are between you and the water. Grab your towels, borrow a chair and head down. Even at high tide, there’s still plenty of beach to lounge on or walk.
The neighborhood is great for walking. No high rise condos here. The roads are quiet with little traffic. If you’re walking the beach, the jetties at Fort Pierce Inlet State Park are a good 30 minute walk. Don’t forget to bring a bag to put shells in! The windsurfers are so fun to watch!
Nina has quite a binder in each condo absolutely full of information on what there is to do in the area. These are just a few things we did while we were there:
The Navy SEAL-UDT Museum is within walking distance and so interesting.
The Heathcote Botanical Gardens has an amazing bonzai tree area.
For the treasure enthusiast, go to the Mel Fischer Museum in Sebastian, hold a real gold bar, then head over to Captain Hiram’s for lunch.
The Smithsonian Marine Ecosystems Exhibit (touch tank and aquariums) was fascinating and the St Lucie County History Museum was interesting also.
We enjoyed an airboat ride with “Stumpknockers”, even on a cloudy day.
The last weekend in January, head down to the Port Salerno Seafood Festival. Enjoy fantastic food, two music stages, and nice cold drinks. Oysters to die for!
There are so many good place to eat here, I don’t think you can go wrong if you just check the menus in Nina's binder. No space here to list favorites.
We had a wonderful time. Nina and Glenn take such pride in making Sandy Toes a home away from home for their guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

I highly recommend this vacation rental.
First, even before you get there, Nina is a wonderful source of information about transportation and directions; she is a source of many helpful hints, given in a generous spirit of hospitality. When you arrive at the rental unit, she has a looseleaf book in the unit which is full of local sights, stores, restaurants, excursions, and museums.
The rental unit itself is quite new, immaculate, and tastefully and cheerfully furnished, with all systems and appliances up-to-date and completely functional, and a fully equipped kitchen. The ambiance is sunny, spacious, and uncluttered. We were quite comfortable for our week's stay and would like to return next winter. Nina and her husband are helpful and friendly, and clearly want their guest to enjoy themselves.
The location on North Hutchinson Island is great. You walk across the road in front of the units and take a short path (one minute) to a breathtaking beach with silky sand, blue-green waters, and an enormous variety of beautiful seabirds, including pelicans. There are many fine restaurants, shops, museums, and galleries nearby in Fort Pierce and Vero Beach, with many other attractions farther afield but within range for day trips.j This was the best vacation rental we've had, so I enthusiastically recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyToesFortPierce, Owner at Sandy Toes Beach Rentals, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for your kind compliments about Sandy Toes Beach Rentals condos. We aim for excellence and were so happy to hear that your stay was as good as we hoped it would be. Again, we appreciate your wonderful review and look forward to seeing you back at Sandy Toes Beach Rentals for another great getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

"We started searching for a place for a winter get-away in late summer of 2010. We visited the internet site Home Away.com to look for a one-bedroom 2 bath condo on the mid-coast of Eastern Florida. We found it at Sandy Toes, managed by Nina and Glenn. We started communicating with them and just knew we wanted to visit their place. It exceeded all of our expectations, from the spotless condition of the spacious condo to the full-sized washer and dryer, tasteful furnishings, delightfully comfortable bed, full-size kitchen, and office. From the moment we drove up, we could tell the owners took great pride in maintaining the property. It was beautiful and inviting. They met us and helped us unload our car and Nina was a ready source of information during our stay. She has developed a very informative binder of local information from where to eat to historical places of interest. The first evening we ate at The Tiki Bar restaurant where we ate the best shrimp ever. Other restaurants we especially enjoyed were in Vero Beach (Toojay's, Sonny's BBQ, Lobster Shanty and Dockside Grille). The Fresh Market has wonderful rotisserie chicken and other great food. We would definitely recommend Sandy Toes to other couples who want to just get away for some relaxing days in the sun and warm temperatures."

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyToesFortPierce, Manager at Sandy Toes Beach Rentals, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
We were so pleased to hear that your winter getaway at Sandy Toes Beach Rentals condos on North Hutchinson Island, Fort Pierce, Florida, was exactly what you expected it to be. Thank you for taking your time to review the property. We agree with your comments on all the local eateries. They're nearby and range from casual, riverfront open air to 5-star elegant oceanfront establishments. The best part of staying at a Sandy Toes Beach Rentals condo is... when you don't want to dine out, you can dine in using your condo's fully equipped kitchen. We look forward to seeing you return soon for more sun and fun in Fort Pierce and the Vero Beach area on Florida's Treasure Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandy Toes Beach Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Toes Beach Rentals

Address: 2507 North Ocean Drive, North Hutchinson Island, Fort Pierce, FL 34949
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Pierce
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fort Pierce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience island life at Sandy Toes Beach Rentals condos by Vero Beach, Florida! Ideal for couples seeking condo conveniences without a crowded high-rise tower setting. The beach is just steps away! Directly across from the beach, Sandy Toes Beach Rentals offers 3 luxury vacation condos which let the ocean sounds and Florida sun shine in. Unlike typical 'tunnel' condos, the spacious 1100+ square ft CORNER condos, instantly calm and relax. Condos feature a living room with comfortable couch and chairs with a 32 inch flat screen TV, dining area, large granite counter top kitchen with upgraded stainless appliances plus dishes/pots/pans, a hypoallergenic king bedroom with 19 inch flat screen TV, separate office with desk, 2 bathrooms (one with shower, one with tub only), personal washer/dryer, quiet central air-conditioning and heat, off-street free parking, free wireless Internet, free mid-week towel exchange, free end of week linen exchange, free beach chairs & umbrella and a completely smoke free property! Highly discounted weekly rates! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Toes Beach Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.