We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mellon Patch Inn

Save Saved
You added Mellon Patch Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mellon Patch Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3601 North A1A, North Hutchinson Island, Fort Pierce, FL 34949   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Fort Pierce B&B and Inns
Fort Pierce, Florida
1 review
“Very Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

When you have to work at being friendly, running a bed and breakfast is probably not the best business choice. Cathy, the owner, is gruff.

We were promised a level of service that was not delivered.

Beds were OK but breakfast was uneatable. No coffee, nothing, until Cathy shows after 9:00 am. Based on the low quality offering it would have been better if she had just stayed away.

Our party was catered, at extra cost, and the staff was seen eating our food and drinking our alcohol. Unbelievable.

I DO NOT recommend the Mellon Patch Inn. Two thumbs down.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mellonpatch, Owner at Mellon Patch Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Mary Lynn did not stay at the Inn. Her brother in law had two servings of Breakfast. Her neice finially came out at 2:00 a.m. and asked her aunt to tone it down her baby had just woke up.

I am sure people you will be able to read between the lines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Boston, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

The Melon Patch was everything I was hoping for and more. The location was perfect...within a few minutes walking to the beautiful, pristine beach and trails to walk, jog, or ride your bikes on. Kathy and Bud the owners, made us feel so welcome that it felt like we were vacationing with good friends. We didn't feel confined to our room, Kathy made it clear that we should feel at home by giving us complete access to kitchen, dining room, or even the canoes for a ride in the bay. Our rooms were outstanding, from the beautiful decorative touches to the bathroom I'd love to take home with me. The Melon Patch was the last stop on our vacation and definitely the best. If I vacation again on the east coast of Florida I know that it would be foolish to stay anywhere other than the Melon Patch. Bob and Karen

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broward
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Our family stayed for the weekend. Things that we were told in the beginning never happened they changed the rules as they went along. They said too much about their lives and talked about money problems. Cathy also replied that she was not happy with serving people anymore. That was written all over her face when we were there. She was very RUDE!! It's ashame because the house is beautiful and very clean but they were not pleasant. Make sure that when you come to this Bed & Breakfast you have a written contract so that she does not change things as she goes along. She will change in a second.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mellonpatch, owner at Mellon Patch Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2010
the person writing this review was the problem with her children. She started out calling to inquire about stereo equipment to have a party at the BNB for her boyfriends parents. She was told there was none and I was unaware of any party scheduled.

The parents of her boyfriend had reserved a few rooms for family coming in for their anniversary. They were told there were other guest staying at the inn.

Upon check in the mother added her son and his girlfriend Nicole and there kids asked for cots. I accommodated however was very explecite that no teenagers were allowed on the North side where the other guest were staying. That evening the entire family with several others took over my inn including the kitchen and dining area.

One ofthe boys tried to enter the other guest rooms. The family was downstairs drinking and oblivious as to what the kids were doing. At 10:00 I finially ended the party.

The next evening Nicole proceeds to eneter my kitchen without asking or my knowledge and started preparing seafood and dinner for the famil. I was in the middle of preparing food for a wedding I had the following day. Which the family was aware of prior to booking. They again had all the family memers over and had a drunken party.

Nicole and her boyfriend become intoxicated spilling red wine all over the outside patio where I was setting up for the wedding. Her and her daughter had a confortation outside and her boyfriend had a arguement with his son and his son went across the street and was pulled over by the police for sleeping in his truck.

Again at 10:30 they were getting louder and in the great room area so I called the party which is when Nicole and her boyfriend became angry due to the alcohol consumption.

The next day was suppose to be the day of the celebration of his parents anniversary. They had a part planned at his parents condo. They were all back to the inn by 9:00.
I wanted to ask why so early because the condo people would have called the law?

The other family staying here apologozed on many occassions for their brother and his girlfriend. They said they told him they would have been kicked out ifthey were staying a a Holiday Inn and a BNB is suppose to be quiet and restfull.

Nicole's children trashed the room broke the window treatments and they left to go to the beach not checking out until after 3:00. Check out is at 11:00 they knew this so we were unable to clean the room.

They ere suppose to sleep here not have a drunken party. My other guest thank goodness are guest that have stayed with us for 5 years so they know tis is not the normal of our inn.

I hope people can read between the lines and see this is all due to immature self centering selfish guest. Obvioulsly ones tat have never stayed at a BNB. They are not classy enough.

The other couple that was staying here contacted me to say they wrote a review to tell their side and it has never been posted????
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

Had my daughter's wedding and reception here. The place is beautiful. Cathy, the owner was very accommodating and instrumental in arranging everything. Food was excellent. I would recommend the Mellon Patch to anyone who needs a place for an event or just a weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, fl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

i must say that i am one of the pickiest travelers when on personal time, but when it comes to business im a cheaper, yet safe establishment type. The melon patch inn would easily make my top list when it comes to personal travel, and yet it fits my business budget. Im not afraid to dish out the big bucks for superb accomodations when im on vacation, and yet, here i have found the ideal mix. One can only be so lucky. EAch individual room has its own charm, with the feeling of home all around, whether its sitting on your balcony enjoying the warmest of ocean breezes, to luxurious tub, shower and bed accomodations in the bridal suite. YOur host, will make you feel as if you are part of the family from the moment you walk in the door to the homecooked breakfast. And even though you are accross the street from the ocean, the backyard mega deck, and intercoastal access brings about the most tropical of memories and experiences. If you are in the area, dont hesitate to check in, you will NOT be dissappointed as far as B&Bs go, this is one of the best i have ever encountered.

  • Liked — friendly atomosphere
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

We found the Mellon Patch by accident! Working FT in the medical field can drain the FUN right out of you. Hubby an i would venture up north to "detox" and explore Florida as our jobs really keep us busy. We enjoy fishing and love to canoe and just get lost in nature. One day I called the number on MP's sign and the rest is history...this is truly the place to stay on North Hutchinson Island IF a room is available!

The place is immaculate, truly 5 star quality and quite "insulated". One weekend all rooms were filled and we didn't even know anyone was there until the morning of course, as the freshly made coffee and yummy almond french toast aromas filled the air!

You can enjoy canoeing on the river...see manatee and dolphin as they swim right near you!! This can stop the fish from biting but the memories will be for a lifetime! If you happen to meet the owners you will REALLY be blessed! Do you dive or like to deep sea fish then ask to book a charter with Bud and Cathy!!

  • Liked — so huge inside you "don't feel crowded by strangers"....not like a bed and breakfast at all...when the owners visited once they treated us like family...
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2006

We were in town on business with a day to day itinerary. Cathy was very accomadating to our unknown schedule and we ended up spending the entire week with her and Roxanne. The Inn is fantastic and eveything associated with it is Much more than what we were expecting from a lodging establishment.
We were made to feel more at home than I sometimes feel when I AM at home.
We will be back.
Lori and Drew Solomon
Buffalo Run RV Park

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Pierce
Free Parking, B...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Dockside Inn & Resort
Dockside Inn & Resort
#11 of 24 in Fort Pierce
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Royal Inn Beach Hotel Hutchinson Island
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
9.6 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Pierce West
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
17.4 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside / Jensen Beach
Free Parking, B...
Show More
8.3 mi away
3 Palms Hotel Fort Pierce
3 Palms Hotel Fort Pierce
#5 of 24 in Fort Pierce
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellon Patch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellon Patch Inn

Address: 3601 North A1A, North Hutchinson Island, Fort Pierce, FL 34949
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Pierce
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Pierce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mellon Patch Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are across the street from Pepper Park Beach & Recreation Area. Complete with; 2 lighted tennis courts, basketball court, volleyball court, ball field, and large playground. This park has covered pavilions, BBQ grills, bathrooms & showers. We provide beach towels & beach mats. The National Navy UDT SEAL Museum is within walking distance of our Inn. There is a dock in the backyard with river access and no fixed bridges to the ocean. Bring your boat, there are several public boat ramps on North Hutchinson Island. The rooms have been updated in July 2012. Most of the rooms, all non-smoking have a king size bed. We serve a full gourmet breakfast including fresh fruits and juices. Coffee and tea are always available. Free WiFi. We invite you to experience our island paradise. Enjoy the sunrise from the beach in the morning and the sunset from our lush backyard, patio, or boat dock in the evening. Perfect for a weekend getaway, summer vacation, or special event. Allow us to prepare your; picnic on the beach, BBQ on the patio, family reunion, etc. It would be our honor to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Mellon Patch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellon Patch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.