We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free!
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Centereach, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Enjoyable weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the DiamondHead Resort on Fort Myers Beach for two nights on the last weekend in September. We found everyone at the resort very friendly and the staff was very helpful. We stayed in a beachfront 1 BR suite on the 11th floor and the view was magnificent. As we entered the living room, the curtains on the sliding glass door were open and all you could see was the ocean. It was as if it was right outside the door. We had the corner unit, so we were able to have a view of the city, sunset, and ocean. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were roomy and the shower was updated. Water pressure was awesome and the shower massage was the best I've had in any hotel/resort that I can remember. We spent most of our time at the pool which was very clean and relaxing. Nice music was playing throughout the day. Plenty of lounge chairs, along with tables and chairs with umbrellas. The pool was plenty big and had two nice hot tubs adjacent to it. One of them was working better than the other. They also had a very nice pool bar and grill. There was also very good poolside service. Vicky and Cheryl were great and took very good care of us. They also made a couple of very good suggestions on dining options. We ate at Charlie's Boathouse, where we had an excellent steak and a nice salad bar. We also ate at the Bridge on Sunday where we had a very good meal and were able to listen to live reggae. I had never been to this part of Florida and was a little disappointed with the clarity of the ocean water . It was very calm, but, I have been spoiled by the waters of the Caribbean. The beach itself was very nice though. Wide and long. You could walk long distances in either direction. I would definitely recommend this resort for those looking to stay in a very nice beachfront resort in this part of Florida. The temperature was about 90 degrees everyday with no humidity. You are a short drive from Sanibel and Captiva Islands, which we did not get to. If you have any questions, please feel free to email me at granluxvacation@optonline.net

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    192
    67
    28
    19
See reviews for
189
302
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jenks OK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2006

Stayed at Diamondhead Resort July, 2006. This was a great place to stay right on the beach. Wonderful views from balcony. They do have screened in balconies, not so great for pictures. However, the hotel was wonderful. Rooms were spacious. Nice pool with beach view. Walking distance from Times Square and many restuarants and bars. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Liked — Directly on the beach
  • Disliked — Screened balconies
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go in July - Red Tide
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2006

We stayed on June 19th & 20th, the only thing wrong I found was the smell Alberto dredged up from the gulf the week before. Everyone assured us it normally was not like that and that it would eventually wash away.
The staff were all super friendly and helpful and the grounds were very clean considering the storm. Our room was very clean and comfortable for the three of us, and when our son had an emergency with the plumbing maintenance was there in no time to save the day!
We used the parasailing offered for an additional fee, and found it well worth it. The captains were very accomodating and made the experience very memorable for our family.
Diamond Head was also a very short stroll from the pier so there were plenty of restauraunts,shops and things goings on.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2006

This is the best hotel near the boardwalk area. The rooms were clean and the beach wasn't crowded for June. I really suggest families to stay her for the price because it's a good atmosphere. Call hotel direct for better prices.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2006

In my opinion, this is the nicest property on Fort Myers beach. Great location on the beach. Large spacious rooms with huge screened balconies. Parking was never a problem and was free. The views from the gulf view suites are great. Be sure to get a room that faces the west so that you can see the gorgeous sunsets. The ocean front rooms are also nice but the gulf view rooms (those that face west) allow you to see the ocean/beach and the city. We sat out on our balcony and did lots of sunset-watching.

We would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2006

We stayed at the Diamond Beach for a week with our 2 boys aged 8 & 18 and found the resort good, for the most part. Not a whole lot to do for fidgety kids - there's the pool and the beach, but no activities or game room, etc. Lots of food and drinks available, but kinda pricey, although from the guests we saw, money is no object. Rooms were fantastic. Be sure to request beach front. We had a room on the 11th floor above the patio/restaurant and pool and a couple of nights I had to get up and shut the patio door because there were some rowdies. I just wanted to hear the surf, not yelling and loud laughing until 2 am. We moved. Lots to do in the area, however there were no great restaurants within walking distance. Drove to the Crab Shack just over the bridge near the marinas. Great spot to eat!! Also, drove 20 mintues to Bonita Springs, lotsa good shopping and restaurants there. Went to the dog races there also. That was fun!! Captain Tony's deep sea fishing crew are the best. Caught lots, met some great people and had a good time. Beach is not like Cuba, lots of red tide and icky stuff at the waters edge and stingray's are always a danger. Pool was nice, but had to go down at 7 am to claim chairs for the day. Southwest Florida Airport is one of the slickest international airports around. Bright and clean, everything handy, smooth as silk. All in all, nice place, but after calculations, an all inclusive resort holiday to an island would have been more economical.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2006

Me and my girlfriend just went down for a quick "Girls Lay In The Sun Have Fun & Relax" weekend. After visiting Diamondheads Website it appeared to be the perfect place. We are both in our mid thirties and didn't want to deal with "Spring Breakers". (The Diamondhead does not allow anyone between 18-24 w/o an adult over 35). Little did we know that every family with infants, small children & teenagers would be staying there. They take over the entire pool area; out of the 4 days there we were only able to lay at the pool once. If your not up by 7:00 - 8:00 to put a towel on a chair you don't get one. Also we noticed that alot of people would put towels down and never use the chair; they would be in the pool with the kids all day. Nor did they pick up after themselves around the pool; if your done take your towel drop it in the bid, pick up your garbage, just have some respect for other guests. Anyways we head to the beach only to find out that the resort does not provide beach chairs for its guests. To me for the price you pay that is unexceptable. Granted we layed on the beach on a towel anyways (better bring your own they don't allow pool towels to leave the pool area; nor do they have enough to accomidate all of their guests). The pool bar is about 10ft from the pool and is completely in the shade but they do bring drinks to you at the pool. The rooms are overpriced. You can get alot more elsewhere. The staff was not overly friendly. I guess would only recommend to families if you can get a good deal. The location is good you can walk everywhere and feel safe. Overall forget about Fl go to the Bahamas the staff will treat you like gold no matter what, the sun always shines, everyone's happy & can't beat the price!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DiamondHead Beach Resort & Spa is the premier choice for Fort Myers Beach lodging. It offers 121 one-bedroom suites with a king-size plush pillow top bed, private bath, living room with queen-size sleeper sofa and a fully stocked kitchenette. WiFi internet connection throughout the resort. Enjoy casual dining right on the beach at Cabana's Beach Bar & Grille and upscale dining at Chloes and Chloes Lounge. Amenities include The Esterra Spa & Salon, watersports, two outdoor hot-tubs, heated Gulf-side pool, exercise room, piano bar, private screened balconies and spectacular Gulf of Mexico sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamondhead Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Diamondhead Beach Resort
Diamondhead Resort In Fort Myers Fl
Diamond Head Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.