We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expecations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expecations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had 11 adults (6 rooms) for 6 nights, so there was a great potential for something to go wrong, but all were thrilled with the Diamondhead. We chose the resort since it is has a bar/restaurant, ocean front, large balconies, and easy walk or trolley ride to Times Square. Our 6 rooms covered all views/costs (OF, Pool view, gulf view, premium), and although the updated oceanfront was my favorite, the "cheapest" view was still spectacular.

We arrived at 930 am, so it wasn't surprising that our rooms were not ready. We hopped on the trolley, did some grocery shopping ($5 cab back). We left the groceries with David (bell hop), who refrigerated as needed. While we were eating lunch at Cabana's, we received a call that our room was ready. By the time I went to retrieve our key, David already had bags to our room and groceries unloaded.This was only first example of the wonderful service we experienced all week. Front desk was also great on getting all rooms checked in ASAP.

Although conveniently located to all, we were very happy with the food and drink options onsite. Cabana's was great for lunch or dinner. Music each day from 4-7, view of the beach, and chicken/raspberry salad was a big hit. On check in, there are coupons for free welcome drinks, so make sure to look in your packages.Danielle/Janet/Matt were some of the stand out servers at Cabana's and around the pool.

At Chloe's Lounge, Spike did a great job of handling the group of us. Wednesday night they offer a special on wine and karaoke. We all ordered pizzas which when split by two people, still gave us leftovers for lunch the next day. Karaoke was fun and a few regulars were very good singers.

We ate breakfast outside on deck at Chloe's one morning, but other days just had food in the room (toaster/refrigerator/coffee pot).

We also managed to get all of us together for dinner one evening at Chloe's. We requested Danielle as a server, and food was outstanding. I would suggest getting the grouper chowder to start it off.

Only negatives (and they are few)- the fitness room could be updated and it would be nice to have more umbrellas/shade around the pool.

Location/rooms/facilities are great- service was extraordinary. We will be back; thank you for a great week.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Hickory727,
Thank you very much for staying with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort. I can't tell you how pleased I am to hear that your group had such a great experience. We truly do strive to exceed expectations at every opportunity, your happiness is our number one priority. We are very fortunate to have David, Danielle, Janet, Matt, Spike, and the rest of our DiamondHead Team, each person does a great job and truly cares about our guests. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to them. Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope to see you and your group back in the future.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    213
    72
    34
    19
See reviews for
203
336
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, Massachusetts
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

CSecond stay here and just as good as we remembered. Excellent service at cabanas beach bar, helpful concierge Kim and a great location right on the beach within walking distance of bars and restaurants. We will be back..

Room Tip: Great views from higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Jane S,
Thank you very much for staying with us again at DiamondHead Beach Resort & Spa. I'm pleased to hear that your second stay was just as enjoyable as your first. Our goal is to give each guest a truly special experience and I'm happy we could do that for you. Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Our experience staying at the DiamondHead Beach Resort has been most pleasurable. From the professionalism of the staff to the cleanliness of the resort, was a true testimony that customer satisfaction is their #1 priority. Not having been to Fort Myers beach before I'm pleased to have chosen DiamondHead Resorts as our Silver Anniversary getaway. Thank You! - We look forward to returning with our family.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a pool view room on the 11th floor. Great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Larry S,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort & Spa. I'm pleased to hear your first time to Fort Myers Beach was a wonderful experience and I'm happy we could be a part of that. We truly do strive to give each guest a special experience, exceeding expectations at every opportunity. Thank you again and we are looking forward to serving you and your family in the future.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Plains, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were in a one bedroom king on the eighth floor with a partial view of the beach. This hotel is far from new but the room was very clean and nothing appeared worn. The kitchen was small but well appointed....we only used the fridge and coffee maker. The bed was very comfy, the bathroom a comfortable size for two, a walk in shower, no tub.

We had lunch twice at the beachside cafe and the food and service were very good. We didn't use the pool area at all.....spent each day on the beach. It was rather annoying to pay a resort fee and then also have to pay for beach chairs, and not a small fee at that. Twenty five dollars a day for two chairs. A ways down the beach chairs could be had for less than half that.

This hotel is right on the beach and an easy walk to shops and restaurants. The exterior of the building and the open air hallways are a little dark and uninviting, but otherwise it's a nice enough place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great location right on the beach. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Room was comfortable but the interior of the hotel was very dark and unattractive. Restaurant dinner was delicious but they failed miserably on the Easter Sunday buffet. The meats offered were way over cooked. Chairs and umbrella were a daily rate and quite expense for guests staying at the hotel especially for a week. We enjoyed our week because the weather was great and the beach was beautiful not the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Janet M,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed our location and glad our friendly staff did a great job of taking care of you. I apologize you weren't satisfied with the Easter buffet, but thank you for letting me know so we can correct that for the future. The beach chair rental service is run by a separate company and unfortunately we don't have any control over their pricing. Thank you again and we do hope to see you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

First- what I liked. Convenient location-right on the beach. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice, open air, beachside casual restaurant/bar adjacent to the pool. (I LOVED the fact that they don't allow people to "reserve" chairs by putting towels on them.) More formal restaurant upstairs seemed quite nice although we only went there for breakfast. We stayed in an oceanfront one bedroom suite on the second floor. It was a little pricey at $330 per night for the quality of the hotel, but was spacious enough and had a nice screened in patio. The beach is a beautiful white sand beach and all water sports activities are available right there. You can rent 2 chaise lounge chairs and an umbrella for $25.00 per day ($20.00 per day for three days or more) and it's $5.00 per day for additional chairs.
The negatives on this place are few. It is a little dated and would more likely be rated as a three star vs.a four star quality. The drinks at Cabanas seemed weak and weren't cheap. The food there was not great either(although the wings are pretty good). The ocean at Fort Myers Beach is hard to enjoy for me. It's shallow, a little murky, and just sort of boring. That's not Diamond Head's fault- it's just the way the water is on the gulf.
We had a really nice dinner at The Nauti Turtle which is just over the bridge on he Fort myers side and had a great happy hour and meal at Parrot Key which is a lively place at the end of the day.
Anyhow, FMB is not my favorite vacation destination, but it's nearby where my mother lives and when I go there again I'll likely stay at Diamond Head again. There really isn't a lot of quality hotels there and given the choices, this is not a bad bet.

Room Tip: We stayed in 208, oceanfront, easy access via stairs vs. elevator. Recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Camsdad11,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort and Spa. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed our location on the beach and glad our staff was able to take great care of you. We work hard to exceed expectations at every opportunity. We do have newly renovated rooms you can upgrade to, they have granite counter tops, new stylish furniture, and look fantastic. Thank you again for staying with us and we are already looking forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

My sons and I visited for 3 nights in April 2014. The Cabana's Restaurant staff was very unfriendly to us the first day we arrived. The beach chair rental and jet ski rental booth staff were extremely aloof. When we inquired about jet ski rental and declined they were very rude that we didn't purchase the rental. The beach concierge was trying to sell one hour tours of Diamondhead in an effort to sell condos. She wasn't really helpful otherwise. The front desk staff was very professional and the poolside towel desk staff was very friendly too. Housekeeping did a poor cleaning job and came very late in the day. For two days they didn't put the iron away for us, crumbs were not cleaned from the floor and caps to the shampoo were left on the shower floor. The hallway floors were also dirty. The air conditioning was not working appropriately and we had to call maintenance. I work in the hospitality profession and was very disappointed to spend nearly $400 a night for poor service and mediocre rooms. I would have much rather spent another $100 a night to stay in a cleaner resort with great service. Would not go back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Kgroff,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to give us your feedback. I apologize you weren't completely satisfied with all aspects of your stay. We receive nothing but the highest praise for our staff, including our staff at Cabana's Beach Bar. I can assure you this is not a common issue and I'll be looking into it. The beach rental service is run by a separate company so I can't comment on their staff. We truly do strive to exceed expectations at every opportunity, that attention to detail has made us one of the top resorts on Fort Myers Beach. Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope to see you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DiamondHead Beach Resort & Spa is the premier choice for Fort Myers Beach lodging. It offers 121 one-bedroom suites with a king-size plush pillow top bed, private bath, living room with queen-size sleeper sofa and a fully stocked kitchenette. WiFi internet connection throughout the resort. Enjoy casual dining right on the beach at Cabana's Beach Bar & Grille and upscale dining at Chloes and Chloes Lounge. Amenities include The Esterra Spa & Salon, watersports, two outdoor hot-tubs, heated Gulf-side pool, exercise room, piano bar, private screened balconies and spectacular Gulf of Mexico sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick and Hotels.com so you can book your DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamondhead Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Diamondhead Beach Resort
Diamondhead Resort In Fort Myers Fl
Diamond Head Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.