We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think vacation rental” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free!
Ranked #12 of 46 hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Think vacation rental”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is not a hotel. It is a timeshare/vacation rental property. The views are stunning and the beach is beautiful. The room was clean, but not maintained like a hotel. The sheets were not changed, there wasn't a card to ask to wash or leave them so I figured they would be changed, but as I said, this is a vacation rental not a hotel. The wifi in our room was not working and since we were there over the weekend and IT did not feel is was an emergency we were unable to use the wifi service in our room. They did bring an ethernet cord so the laptop would work, but the ipods/ipads did not work. Also had to use data plan on the smartphones because it would not connect either, unless we went to the lobby. Oh and the cord--there was a $10 fee if we did not return it to the front desk at check out. Room was stocked with glasses, silverware and plates.There was a table in the room with 2 chairs. The room is supposed to accommodate 4, and since the kitchenette table is bar height, you can't bring in the deck chairs as substitutes. Also - shower head is about 5' high. I am 5'5 and had to duck to get under it. The staff was helpful, polite and professional through out the issues, but I would look for something else next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Codysport,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We very much are a hotel with just a couple floors that are dedicated to our vacation club. Thank you for giving us your feedback, all guest feedback is important to us as we use it to improve our property and service. Please come back and see us soon.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    181
    62
    26
    19
See reviews for
177
285
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The whole facility was well groomed and clean.

My meal, which was provided by the hotel, was excellent.

Every employee whom i met was courteous and appeared unbothered.

-Thank you Diamondhead for a most pleasant visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear C Vernon T,
Thank you very much for staying with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, meals and that our staff was able to take good care of you. We strive to give each guest a memorable experience and I'm glad we could do that for you. Please come back and see us soon!

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks in June, first time as a couple, the many previous occasions were as a family. We love the DiamondHead and come here every year! Fab location, fab view from all rooms. Seamless check in and checkout. Easy onsite parking. Lovely pool. Pleasant rooms, great having a separate living area with fridge, microwave, toaster and coffee maker. Flat screen TV's in both bedroom and living area. You can't beat having breakfast on the balcony each day accompanied by the sounds of the sea and the call of the ospreys who live on the roof, and the sight of dolphins swimming by :) We can't wait to return in 2014. My only criticism is the pillows - so uncomfortable and not enough - please upgrade them and then we could upgrade the sleep quality points to excellent.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 12th floor and sea front if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Bunyiplib,
Thank you for staying with us over the years! I'm so happy that we are able to give you a top-notch experience each time you visit. Yes, there's nothing quite like the views from the balconies--pelicans, dolphins, shore birds--simply paradise. Thank you for letting us know about the pillows, I will look into that. We are looking forward to seeing you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for six nights at DiamondHead Resort along with friends of ours. We had a wonderful stay, topped off with wonderful weather. The rooms were nicely arranged with a small kitchenette. The bedroom was very spacious with a connecting bath that was nice and roomy. The only fault with the bathroom is that the shower head is quite low. The family we travelled with had a 6'5" gentleman that could barely fit in the shower and the shower spray hit him in the chest. The beds were extremely comfortable and we had great sleep the whole week. The beach was absolutely beautiful. Loved that the pool and beach were close together. Little awkward that you had to walk through the pool bar/dining area to get to the pool or beach. The staff were all very courteous and helpful. We ate at the pool one day for lunch and the food was very good and reasonable priced. We also loved that the hotel was in walking distance to local bars and restaurants! A place that the hotel suggested just down the street called Chucks Last Stop was absolutely amazing! YUM! Some of the best food we ever ate!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear huffy22,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort. I'm happy to hear you had a great time and enjoyed your room, the beach, and the on-site dining. We also love Chucks Last Stop, I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I just finished my second visit at Diamond Head. I was greeted by a smiling employee named "Vicki" who remembered me from my visit last year. Even though I was ridiculously early for Check in, Vicki took great care of me and helped me find the location of my meeting, and then she called me when my room was ready.

During our meeting food and beverages were provided, buffet style. Everything was fresh and just the right temperature. Plates were cleared quickly and in a way that did not disturb the meeting. There were times I noticed my water glass had magically been refilled and was frankly stunned at how smoothly the Diamond Head staff operates!

My room was one of the “Club” rooms. It was a corner suite with a full view of the beach. Our balcony was outfitted with lounge chairs and a table for four that may husband and I really enjoyed our coffee at. Inside, we had a breakfast bar, microwave, mini-fridge, stove top and anything I could think of needing to cook or bake, a comfy sleeper sofa and flat screen TV in the main dining/living space, our bedroom was HUGE and the bed was incredibly comfy. Our bathroom had plenty of space for me to spread out my make up, too, which was a huge plus. In short, the room was heavenly! I could definitely see wanting to become an “owner” at some point.

We were part of a very large party for dinner, and our waitress “Robin” made us all feel like we were the most important person in the room. I don’t know how she managed it! I am vegan—which is normally a pain when it comes to eating out, but Robin helped me to design a meal that I would love in no-time-flat. I’ve never had that experience before and I’m so grateful to her and the chef!

When it was time to check out, I have to admit we didn’t want to leave. Diamond Head seems to have mastered the personal, welcoming feel one would expect from a high-end bed and breakfast and married that exceptional personal touch with all of the best amenities once would expect from a 5-Star Resort. I look forward to my next trip!

Room Tip: Definitely go with the beach front rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear KRG_13,
Thank you so much for staying with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort and for giving us such a wonderful review. I can't thank you enough for all your kind words and I will be sure to pass along your review to our staff, I know they will appreciate it. We strive to give each guest a special experience and I'm glad we could do that for you. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you back soon!

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Once again a relaxing stay. The staff are all top-notch, great food, spectacular view from the 12th floor. Family oriented! After spending 12 day's traveling around Florida on business it's always wonderful to end the jaunt at the Diamond Head Resort ... Always my favorite! We often overlook the best things that are in our backyard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Jay A,
Thank you very much for staying with us again at DiamondHead Beach Resort. I'm happy we could give you the relaxation you need after your Florida business travel schedule. I'm glad you enjoyed the 12th floor view, there's nothing like waking up to the view of the Gulf. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great location......within steps of the gulf...just a few blocks from the square and pier....Great view of beach.......Professional staff........Excellent food reasonably priced......pool and spa within steps of beach............Perfect....perfect....perfect.......I will be back.........

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
Free internet...
Show More
3.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#24 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
5.3 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#11 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#15 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#2 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#8 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,692 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Neptune Inn
Neptune Inn
#9 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DiamondHead Beach Resort & Spa is the premier choice for Fort Myers Beach lodging. It offers 121 one-bedroom suites with a king-size plush pillow top bed, private bath, living room with queen-size sleeper sofa and a fully stocked kitchenette. WiFi internet connection throughout the resort. Enjoy casual dining right on the beach at Cabana's Beach Bar & Grille and upscale dining at Chloes and Chloes Lounge. Amenities include The Esterra Spa & Salon, watersports, two outdoor hot-tubs, heated Gulf-side pool, exercise room, piano bar, private screened balconies and spectacular Gulf of Mexico sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamondhead Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Diamondhead Beach Resort
Diamondhead Resort In Fort Myers Fl
Diamond Head Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.