We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamondhead - Year #6” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Centerville, Minnesota
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Diamondhead - Year #6”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stay at this resort each year. 3 years without kids and 3 years with our son. Everything we need within the facility (food, recreation, beach chairs, pool, hot tubs, aundry, exercise room) and a great short distance to the hot spots 'in town'. The rooms are consistent and well maintained. The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. Moreso, than any other hotel I have stayed at. Will be looking forward to year #7.

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool are great, but the lower you are, the noisier it is, especially if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Karen F,
I would like to personally thank you for continued business. We are thrilled you have enjoyed your time at DiamondHead Beach Resort over the years. All guest feedback is very important to us, thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Our staff strives had to make every guest experience a special one and I'm happy to hear that that is what you received. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    166
    56
    25
    17
See reviews for
162
260
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, Massachusetts
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at Diamondhead 3/17/13-3/20/13 and had a fantastic time. The suite (11th floor, beach view) was super clean and very comfortable. The view was gorgeous. The balcony is quite private and screened in. The screen mars the view ever so slightly but probably deters pelicans from hanging out on your patio furniture. It was extremely quiet up on the 11th floor, heard no "spring break" noise or anything, just the sound of the waves. The pool area is great: heated pool and two hot tubs. The other guests were all couples (mostly 30's or older, very few college kids unless they were there with their parents) and families. Cabanas, the poolside bar, was great! Not a huge menu but decent for daytime beach food (salad, snacks, burgers, sandwiches) and they have a great selection of drinks. The waitstaff serves the pool area so someone will bring you a daiquiri without you having to leave your chair! Also, the pool is for registered guests only and you can sign out towels for free. You can also rent chairs/umbrellas on the beach for $25 a day. Seems pricey to me, but since the gulf breeze was strong while we were there we stayed in the pool area for sunning ourselves. You still have a view of the beach, but are slightly protected from the wind. The beach is clean and groomed. If you walk about a 1/4 mile towards town (on the beach), you hit more of a spring break area, much less refined than the Diamondhead. The people-watching there is great, but I'm really glad not to be sharing a resort with the more rowdy spring break crowd. All the staff we encountered were great: friendly, helpful and professional. Had drinks at Chloe's lounge, but never ate in Chloe's restaurant. We preferred to walk to the Times Square area to eat. It's an easy walk to town (0.6 miles) for bars, restaurants, and souvenirs. The traffic on Estero Blvd. can be tiresome, much faster to walk unless you are headed out of the area, so plan for that. Also, if you walk a few blocks to the right leaving the resort, you will get to a small supermarket which is great for breakfast foods or snacks or whatever to keep in your room. We had never stayed at the Diamond Head Beach Resort before and don't know anyone who has, we just saw it online and it looked nice. We were so pleased with our experience there. I would highly recommend it. Several people actually suggested we'd be better off in Sanibel or Naples. We liked Fort Myers Beach because it's close to the airport and, unlike Naples, we could be directly on the beach. Also, unlike Sanibel, there were no minimum stays (we could only do 3 nights). I found this resort to be more affordable than many on Sanibel and in the Naples area anyway. Literally, the only critique I really have is that I wish the bathroom had a towel bar. There aren't enough places to hang wet towels or suits in the bathroom. One other minor thing was a bit of a discrepancy in the eco-conscious approach. While there are the usual "go green" signs in the suite about hanging towels up to reuse them or leaving them on the floor to replace them and a sign to put on you're okay with housekeeping just making your bed instead of changing the linens everyday, the maid loaded 2 spoons, 2 mugs, 1 glass, and 1 plate into the dishwasher and ran it on an hour+ cycle! I'd have washed them myself, but hadn't gotten to it yet. You'd think with such a tiny amount of dishes she'd just take the 3 minutes to wash them, seemed crazy and not at all environmentally friendly to run a dishwasher cycle for that.

Room Tip: Beach view is worth it and higher floors will keep you above any possible bustle/noise of beach reve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Stephanie C,
Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay at Diamond Beach Resort! It sounds like you had a fantastic time and we are thrilled we could be a part of making your vacation a great one. We think Fort Myers Beach is a little slice of paradise that has something to offer everyone. Thank you for the comments about the towel bars in the bathrooms. We can look into space requirements and see if this is something that works for future room upgrades. We hope to serve you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Diamond Head Beach Resort is centrally located on the beach and is close enough to access most everything you need. The room has 2 parts - a main bedroom with its own television and a living room area with pull out sofa, small kitchen, and television. We were on 11th floor so we had a wonderful view of the beach from a screened balcony. Free coffee and local newspaper are a great way to start the day. The room was cleaned daily. The pool area was small but we had no problem finding a place to worship the sun. The staff were welcoming and friendly. We would definitely return if we return to the area.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear dllrschll,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at DiamondHead Beach Resort. We truly appreciate guest feedback as it helps us to improve our already award winning services. We are glad you enjoyed the free coffee and newspaper and that you were able to soak up some of that warm Florida sun. Thanks again for choosing DiamondHead and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Visited hotel 3/9/13- 3/17/13 thought it was going to be a very nice hotel but it wasn't. Bellman did an outstanding job. The front desk staff had 1 employee that was very hepful the other employees did not want to be bothered. The rooms were dirty when I arrived hairs in bathtub, floors dirty, toilet dirty, sink dirty, etc so I called front desk and they said maid left and they would send laundry lady she never came. I had to purchase cleaning products from cvs and clean it myself! Front desk completely ignored the issue. 3 woman stayed in the room and the next day the front desk told me a man told maid not to clean the room. It was an absolute lie. Called for extra blankets and I was told they ran out of blankets. Restaurant food was gross and overpriced. Female bartender at Cabana's was mean and acted miserable watching tv ignoring customers. I had to stay an extra day unfortunately and I was put in a gulf view room one of the best you can get and ended up listening to trucks emptying the hotels garbage which was in my view on balcony. Could not get a restful sleep with all the noise of trash bins being dumped. I dont call that luxury at all. Save your money and go elsewhere the only good thing was the location.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 409. 11th floor during spring break every night I heard fighting, screaming,and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Carrie W,
First of all thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, all guest comments are used to improve our services and make our resort the best on the beach. All of your concerns have been passed along and discussed with the department managers. We apologize for any miscommunication that occurred with housekeeping. We know it will be difficult, but we would very much like to earn back your business. We know we can provide you with fantastic service and give you a memorable experience on your next visit. Thank you again for the feedback.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in Room 1070 2/16/13 - 2/23/13, which had a great view (albeit through screens).

Nicely updated decor, bedding, etc. Mini-fridge held a lot more than you would ever expect...held pretty much everything we needed for a week's stay (1/2 gal milk, dozen eggs, 1/2 gal OJ, butter, sparkling water, cheese, bread, jar of pickles, Klondike bars, leftovers from restaurants, full-size large creamer with room to spare). Publix a couple miles down the road.

Friendly bell staff took our bags up to our room and parked our car while we checked in and then recommended a good restaurant for a quick bite (Chuck's Last Stop - great veggie burger!).

Two hot tubs by pool with no kids in it using it as a swimming pool - that was sooooo nice (and seems soooo rare) :)

Traffic is horrible on Estero Blvd...literally can walk faster than drive, so plan on that.

Could watch dolphins right from our room. Nice beach walk both directions. Beach is busy, but not too busy.

Room Tip: Room 1070 is beachfront. Nice view, quiet room (high up from pool). I don't mind pool noise, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear LJA-MN,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We really do work hard to make sure every guest is taken care of and has a fantastic experience at DiamondHead Beach Resort. You're right those Mini-fridge are deceptively big! You're not the first guest to comment on that. We hope you can make it back again soon. We will do everything we can do give you another great experience!

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We came down for the Bonita Springs Blues Festival, and quickly discovered that we were doing far more driving than we would have liked.
Our check in went very smoothly and the front desk staff were always most helpful.
The bar and restaurant prices were excessive in my opinion. We had breakfast one day at the Chloes and would not go back. We spent over $38 just for breakfast for two that had very small portions and the service was very slow. The restaurant looks pretty in the brochures, but is really overrated.
The beachfront was great and very clean. We had several great walk on the beach. We had planned to go parasailing, as the pricing in front of the hotel was some of the most reasonable that we've seen; however, we ran out of time.
Hung out at the pool for several hours one afternoon...was quite crowded, so were not able to find a chair, which was disappointing and the drinks were on the high side.
Was so nice to be able to walk to restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1010, which was right beside the elevator, facing the north (towards the fishing pier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Lisab4498,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review DiamondHead Beach Resort. We are happy that our staff was able to give you a great experience and that you loved our beautiful beach. We are sorry you weren't able to find a pool chair one day. When the weather is cool our heated pool becomes very popular. We look forward to serving you again and give you a great experience.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've probably stayed at this hotel 15 times over the years and as usual the hotel is perfect. The front desk personal was great on our late night check-in. Unfortunately, the weather wasn't the best so we did not use the outdoor bar/pool area much but still......no complaints. Even though it was a bit cool at night you still have to take advantage of the big screen in balconies and keep the doors open just to hear the waves on the beach....so nice.

Room Tip: Gotta face the beach to hear the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear TDubby,
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at DiamondHead Beach Resort. You've stayed with us over 15 times? That's amazing! On your next visit please let me know when you're arriving. We will have something special waiting for you in your room Hopefully you'll have a little warmer weather as well. Thank you again for your feedback, our staff truly appreciates it. We are looking forward to seeing again!

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel

Also Known As:
Diamondhead Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Diamondhead Beach Hotel
Diamondhead Beach Resort
Diamondhead Resort In Fort Myers Fl
Diamondhead Resort
Diamond Head Beach Resort
Address: 2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DiamondHead Beach Resort & Spa offers 121 one-bedroom suites with a king-size plush pillow top bed, private bath, living room with queen-size sleeper sofa and a fully stocked kitchenette. Complimentary high-speed Internet is available in all guest rooms, meeting rooms and wireless "hot spots" throughout the resort. Enjoy casual dining at Cabanas Beach Bar & Grill and upscale dining at Chloes and Chloes Lounge. Amenities include The Esterra Spa & Salon, watersports, two outdoor Jacuzzis, heated Gulf-side pool, exercise room, piano bar, private screened balconies and spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.