We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Initial Check In Problem. Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free!
Ranked #12 of 46 hotels in Fort Myers Beach
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Initial Check In Problem. Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Had some problems at check in as the Travel Agent and Hotel had some disagreement and I was told by the hotel that my booking did not exist. I was told I would have to pay again when checked in. However after contacting the Travel Agency they had a discussion with the hotel and everything was resolved.
I had prepaid for the hotel through the travel agent and the cost was aprox £100 per night.
The rooms are exactly as advertised on their website, very good with a suite, kitchenette and high quality TV's etc. I was in a Gulf View and the view was fabulous.
The pool area is very good and the beach bar was good value and the service was excellent
No charge for parking in the complex and always plenty of space.
The hotel had numerous strong points, but the location was excellent, right on the beach but close enough to walk into the Times Square area for eatteries etc so we were not reliant on the car.

With regards to the area the only issue I noticed and this is not a fault of the hotel, the road network clearly cannot cope with the demand. So accessing / leaving the island when the weather is nice can be tedious. We arrived on a very nice day and it took us around 25 mins to get to the hotel as the traffic was horrendous. This was not a problem as the island is fairly self sufficient so we just didn't use the car.
The bars and restaurants in the area were very good, especially the Yucatan.

I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat and if we venture to Florida again this will be somewhere we will surely visit again

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Cheapies,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort. I assure you that each guest’s comfort/satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we will share your input with our staff in an effort to better your future experience with us – and all of our other guests’. We are sorry that you were inconvenienced at check in. Your Agency had cancelled your initial reservations when the dates of stay changed and we assumed your plans had changed as we did not hear back from the Agency. I am pleased to hear that our agents were able to accommodate your reservation and that our property and employees exceeded your expectations. In addition, the Town of Fort Myers Beach is meeting this week to discuss the peak season traffic congestion and looking at ways to alleviate the time it takes to exit the island this time of year. We look forward to you staying with us in future years.

Sincerely,

Neil Hopgood
General Manager, DiamondHead Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    181
    64
    26
    19
See reviews for
178
285
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel! The staff are friendly, helpful and professional and the facility is very well-maintained and updated. The resort sits right on the beach and all the rooms have large screened-in balconies so you can keep your suite open to the breeze off the Gulf. We had a wonderful time and plan to return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the gulf/pool view room, but there really isn't a bad room in the place. We were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Rosi S,

Thank you for taking the time to comment and review your time with us at DiamondHead. I am delighted to hear you were so happy with your accommodations and our staff. Our staff takes great pride in their work and, they are always striving to serve our guests with the highest level of customer service and products available. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Neil Hopgood
General Manager, DiamondHead Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We only spent one night at the beach during our trip and had a beautiful room at the Diamondhead. The suite was very nicely appointed and very comfortable. The beach bar was under construction but it should be finished soon. Beach access is easy and the hotel is close to the center of the Fort Myers Beach pier and downtown area. The screened porches are great but my husband did not enjoy ours as much because we had a corner location that allowed us to see into other rooms/porches. I think this was called a Gulf View.

Room Tip: Avoid the ones where the building turns a corner. You want the ones that face straight out for more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear SeadooSue,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay at DiamondHead Beach Resort. I am sorry to learn of your disappointments with the screened in porch. I assure you that each guest’s comfort is a very important aspect of our success and I will take your comments back to our team members so that we may discuss the opportunities available to each of us to improve the guest experience. I hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you when you return to the area.

Sincerely,

Neil Hopgood
General Manager, DiamondHead Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

stayed for 10 days and every day we had to call for missing towels, toliet paper and coffee, we were then told the coffee would cost more if we had more then 1 in our room. the coffee pot was for 3 cups and we had four people in the room, the front desk people were rude except for 2 of them. all they really want to do is sell condos they call your room repeatedly and we were on the 8th floor the view was nice but if you looked down you had a view of the garbage which stunk even on the 8th floor. would never go back AGAIN

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear kayw1029,

Thank your for taking the time to review and comment on our hotel property and guest services. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction.

We assure you that each guest’s satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we will share your input with our staff in an effort to better your future experience with us – and all of our other guests’. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you if you return our area again in the future.

Sincerely,

Neil Hopgood
General Manager, DiamondHead Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We just spent four nights on the seventh floor of this hotel. The expansive view from the balcony is unparalleled, the suite is spacious, clean and bright, the beds comfortable, and the staff friendly. It's nice to have a kitchen with a fridge. If you only have a few days, this is the place to stay. You walk out of the hotel directly out onto the beach, into sand as soft as flour, rent a couple of beach chairs and an umbrella for the day, read and watch the volleyball players, walk back the few steps to the outdoor restaurant for lunch, and then sit back down and wait for a magnificent sunset. The hotel is situated in a perfect spot along the beach, close to restaurants and a grocery store. We also enjoyed having breakfast on the balcony overlooking the pool area.

We will definitely return, because this hotel made our vacation so easy, comfortable and relaxing. No negative surprises!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the beach (full or partial view are both good).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear musician1,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort. I am delighted you enjoyed your accommodations, our beautiful beach and breakfast on the balcony. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Neil Hopgood
General Manager, DiamondHead Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford CT
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

It's all about the beach...the gorgeous, endless beach full of walkers, runners, squealing children, grunting volleyballers, parasailors, and everything else you want a beach for.

The hotel itself provided us with a lovely two-room suite on the tenth floor overlooking the beach and the fantastic sunsets in the west. Pleasant and efficient staff (for the most part); dark, gloomy and scary hallways; a so-so restaurant that may see better days ahead; an outdoor tiki bar next to the nice pool; every beach chair, chaise, umbrella, boat, and other toy (all rented, nothing included in the room price). All in all, quite a pleasant place for mom, dad, and the kids.

But the traffic...yeah gods...the traffic from hell. Better traffic planning could have prevented the endless crawling cars and trucks crawling up and down the single-lane road at fifteen miles an hour. A real turnoff even with a fabulous beach.

But don't blame the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the beach side to avoid the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Bern K,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at DiamondHead. I am so glad that you enjoyed our beautiful beach location as well as your two bedroom suite. We will be sure to share your input with our staff in an effort to better your future experience with us - and all our other guests'. We hope to see serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Neil Hopgood
General Manager, DiamondHead Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was our second stay at the Diamondhead and was every bit as good as the first. Large, comfortable rooms with separate bedrooms, comfortable beds and views to die for. The staff continue to be friendly and helpful, especially Jay who gave us good advice on places to go and restaurants to eat at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Shirlshubby,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at DiamondHead. I am delighted you enjoyed your accommodations and are more than happy that our staff were there to assist you. Our staff takes great pride in their work and, they are always striving to serve our guests with the highest level of customer service and products available. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Neil Hopgood
General Manager, DiamondHead Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DiamondHead Beach Resort & Spa is the premier choice for Fort Myers Beach lodging. It offers 121 one-bedroom suites with a king-size plush pillow top bed, private bath, living room with queen-size sleeper sofa and a fully stocked kitchenette. WiFi internet connection throughout the resort. Enjoy casual dining right on the beach at Cabana's Beach Bar & Grille and upscale dining at Chloes and Chloes Lounge. Amenities include The Esterra Spa & Salon, watersports, two outdoor hot-tubs, heated Gulf-side pool, exercise room, piano bar, private screened balconies and spectacular Gulf of Mexico sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamondhead Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Diamondhead Beach Resort
Diamondhead Resort In Fort Myers Fl
Diamond Head Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.