We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visits bring a better perspective” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Berea, Kentucky
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Return visits bring a better perspective”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Here for a conference, thus the group price created increased value. I eat three times on the property and found the food excellent. Saturday afternoon had live music at the pool and the viewing of beach volley ball was inspirational. I may return this next fall.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Hackbert,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at DiamondHead Beach Resorts.
I am happy to hear that your visit with us met all of your expectations and that you enjoyed our pool and live music on Saturday. My staff and I greatly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood, General Manager
DiamondHead Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    166
    56
    25
    17
See reviews for
162
260
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great location, you can walk to anything. Fun events all day long and in the downtown area every night. Very safe and easy to walk to/from the downtown/pier area via beach or sidewalk on street. Great, friendly service. Good food and bar service poolside. Third visit here and we will be back!

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The accommodations are very nice, a one bedroom condo with a well furnished screened balcony with an excellent view even though we were on the less expensive side. Fort Myers beach was perfect for long walks and lounging. The water was calm but I was surprised that it was brown and not blue-green. This was blamed on dredging by the locals. The service was very good at check in and beach service was excellent for chair rental. Bar service was a bit slow. Drawbacks included hotel construction, a noisy environment due to construction, traffic, and a nearby fire station so there were frequent sirens day and night. Interior condo furnishings could be more comfortable especially the living room love seat. The bed was adequate but nothing special. The kitchen furnishings were good but a couple of wine glasses would have been a nice addition to the basic dishes. We bought and consumed a lot of bottled water as the local water had an odor. The bathroom had an odor also but it had a very nice tub/shower. All in all this beach condo compares equally to other condo rentals we have had in the past, primarily in Gulf Shores, Alabama.

Room Tip: Ask about the direction your room faces. Ours faced east and we had strong morning sun. Even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

View was good, nice deck to sit in the a.m. And have your coffee. The bed was very uncomfortable very saggy should have already been replaced, could not get much rest at night, the a.c. Was noisy when it kicked on or off so that kept us up also. Staff was friendly. Having the bar at the pool, hot tub area was something we liked. Beach/water was close that was a plus. Had breakfast at Chloe's not too bad. The rooms are on the small side. We stayed a week and this our fourth year in fmb. More than likely we will try a different place next year.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Kevin K,
Thank you for commenting on our DiamondHead Beach Resort in Fort Myers Beach. We wish to apologize regarding not meeting your expectations during your stay; we are currently in the middle of renovations/improvements to the rooms and to our F&B outlets in an effort to exceed the needs of all our guests. My staff and I greatly appreciate your feedback as we work towards the improvements in the future and we do hope to have another opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood, General Manager
DiamondHead Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at Diamondhead Resort on our first trip to Ft. Myers. We are always a bit cautious when making a reservation at a hotel for the first time, and did a lot of research. It was clear, as soon as we arrived that we made the right choice. We were greeted by a very kind bellman, who unpacked the car for us, called the lobby to let them know we had arrived, parked our car, and carried out luggage up to our gorgeous room. Vickie, at the front desk was kind, informative and seemed truly pleased to have us as guests, and not an inconvenience. After settling in, we ventured to Cabanas for lunch. We were greeted as if we were long-time guests.our waitress brought us a newspaper to show us some places we may like to visit. Everyone greets you with a smile and a warm welcome. I have never seen so many people willing to help and make sure you have everything you need. Room was spotless, with a stunning sunset view. The balconies are screened in, assuming to keep bugs out in the summertime. The resort is close to everything you need. We will be back!

Room Tip: Corner suite has a great view and huge balcony. Definitely pay the extra $ to have a gulf view, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear sutton1626,
Thank you for commenting on your recent visit with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort. We are happy to hear you were pleased with your accommodations and that our front desk staff member, Vickie, was able to assist you with all your needs. I am also happy to hear you stopped in at our Cabanas Beach Bar & Grill and you were more than satisfied with everything. We appreciate your feedback as we work hard on a daily basis to exceed each and every guest's expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood, General Manager
DiamondHead Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are in our late 20s/early 30s and wanted somewhere relaxing to celebrate our one year anniversary, rather than the typical party scene found in Vegas/Miami, and could not have been happier w/The Diamondhead. Cleanliness was our #1 priority and we were not disappointed. The maid service comes 2x a day and are constantly observed to be scrubbing the floors/walls to keep everything clean. They even give you a call every day to see if there's anything else you need before they leave for the day! The beaches, pool, and common areas are also very cleanly. We stayed in a one bedroom king suite on the 8th floor and had a beautiful sunset view each night. The balcony is huge: has a table w/chairs and 2 lounge chairs as well. All of the staff were really friendly. Jay the bellman had really good tips for local sites, as did John, who rents the jet skis. We took a dolphin tour w/John on the jet skis and it was like nothing I've ever experienced: dolphins, manatees, sea turtles, and hammer head sharks within touching distance. The beach at the Diamondhead was also much more enjoyable than the overrated Sanibel Island or Lover's Key, both of which are covered in shell fragments and dead sea creatures. However, we did have fun searching for shells on Lover's Key and would highly recommend that. Personally, I'd skip Sanibel Island, it wasn't worth the $60 cab ride, but if you do go, stop @ Pinocchio's ice cream near the lighthouse. Other food faves included the fries, clam strips, and jerk chicken pineapple quesadillas @ the Diamondhead pool bar, Volcano rolls @ Chuck's, the food/drink @ The Beached Whale, and crab legs @ the Oyster Brewery. The ambiance at Mantanza's was nice, but the food was gross. Overall, we were very pleased...if you're looking for a party nightlife, FMB isn't it, but if you're lookin to relax w/food and drinks on the beach or a nice rooftop, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear irisheyes27,
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort. I am happy to hear you and your boyfriend enjoyed your suite, all the resort amenities and our local area beach. I especially appreciate your feedback regarding our staff's level of customer service, as we take great pride in exceeding every guest's expectations. I will be sure to share your kind comments with Jay and John as well. My staff and I truly look forward to serving you both again in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood, General Manager
DiamondHead Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort in September. We would not consider it 5 star, but a nice place to stay with a good location on Ft Myers beach. It is easlity accessable to Ft. Myers, Sannibel, etc. We had a nice Gulf view on the 5th floor. The balconies are screened in and quite large. The suite is of good size equipped with nice sized fridge, all glasses, plates, utinsels, coffee maker and....a dishwasher! Though we were not there for long, this would make a great 'home' for a week stay, etc. The staff from the front desk, waiters, barkeep, pool, etc. were all very polite and accomodating. Very pleasing!

Room Tip: Try for a room directly facing the Gulf on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear KB,
Thank you for commenting on your stay with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your suite, all the resort amenities and our local area offerings. We appreciate your feedback and comments regarding our staff's high level of customer service, as we take great pride in exceeding every guest's expectations. We look forward to serving you and your husband again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood, General Manager
DiamondHead Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel

Also Known As:
Diamondhead Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Diamondhead Beach Hotel
Diamondhead Beach Resort
Diamondhead Resort In Fort Myers Fl
Diamondhead Resort
Diamond Head Beach Resort
Address: 2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DiamondHead Beach Resort & Spa offers 121 one-bedroom suites with a king-size plush pillow top bed, private bath, living room with queen-size sleeper sofa and a fully stocked kitchenette. Complimentary high-speed Internet is available in all guest rooms, meeting rooms and wireless "hot spots" throughout the resort. Enjoy casual dining at Cabanas Beach Bar & Grill and upscale dining at Chloes and Chloes Lounge. Amenities include The Esterra Spa & Salon, watersports, two outdoor Jacuzzis, heated Gulf-side pool, exercise room, piano bar, private screened balconies and spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.