We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - shame it was designed as a motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6890 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fort Myers Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Cheshire England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Good Location - shame it was designed as a motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2006

As Brits who had not stayed in any US hotel for at least six years and not in a Holiday Inn in the US many years prior to that, we booked the Fort Myers Beach Holiday Inn for our first two nights of our US vacation with some trepidation. What we also hadn't realised was that we were arriving at about 8pm on Superbowl Sunday.

However we needn't have worried - we were greeted at Reception by a very friendly clerk and our reservation was exactly as we had booked: a pool view room about half way back from the beach bar. We even gained from the special offer bar food laid on for the SuperBowl - swiftly served and cheap. Just what we wanted after 20 hours travelling.

The hotel is located at the quieter Southern end of Estero Island (Fort Myers Beach) with direct access to the very wide white sand beach. To the South of the hotel the beach is separated from the neighbouring apartments and condos by a lagoon that attracts many sea birds, waders, and other wildlife. There is a drug store, small shopping mall and about three restaurants half a block away on the other side of the road. The hotel is built with two wings of two floor deck access motel rooms each side on to the beach with about 8 direct beachfront rooms at the end of each wing. The Holiday Inn is one of the very few non high rise buildings on the beach side of the road.

Rooms were of a standard expected for the type of property. Ours was clean, fairly recently rennovated and reasonably maintained. However as the rooms are built back to back, all the windows are in the wall with the door and the back of the room and bathrooms are dark and a bit airless. The air conditioning units are floor mounted "window rattlers" next to the door and do make a fair bit of noise (effective in drowning out the bar noise during the SuperBowl). On the following night we turned off the air conditioning and had no problem with noise. We had reasonable strength free wireless internet access in the room - probably because we were overlooking the central bar / pool area.

Staff were very helpful and welcoming throughout - the general manager even seemed to go out of her way to greet us and check we had everything we needed.

We were happy to extend our stay by an extra night and were dissppointed to find the hotel was full for the final night of our vacation.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    252
    114
    45
    40
See reviews for
193
300
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay City Mi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2006

The only reason this Holiday Inn gets an OK is because its at Fort Myers Beach and anytime I have A vacation with my beautiful wife it can't be bad. The rooms were small and there was no view from any rooms except a few.The maids were not very good at there job and we could not speak the same language. The girl at the desk when we checked in was friendly but we never seen her again after that. The rest of the staff was busy or not around. The beach was beautiful but not any better then anywhere else on the Island. We went back to a different place the next year and will be back again this year but not to the Holliday inn. We had a good price but have found other places on the Island less expensive and a lot better.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Oh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2006

Arrived for a long weekend and surprised how small our room was. Clean, quiet (even though we were 1st floor by the parking lot. Could not hear the surf and viewed our rental car, but who stays in the room much right? My hubby was ticked that you could not get internet connection in the room, had to sit in the lobby/bar to get online. Staff friendly, bed comfy and good showerhead. Beach access great!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redfield, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2006

I traveled to Fort Myers, FL with two other police officers on business last week. I called ahead and got great rates at the Holiday Inn on the beach. It was actually cheaper rates than we had been quoted for several downtown hotels. I had read several good reviews but really did not know what to expect for the price.

We arrived and were greeted very friendly by the staff. We had great rooms on the second floor and we could see down the beach from our balcony. It was a very pleasant view.

The hotel looked like it had recently been painted and cleaned up. It was a two story hotel and the rooms were pleasant. I had read some reviews that complained of bad odors and musty smells in the rooms but I did not detect antyhing like that in my room. It was complete with a large television, cable, a microwave, refrigarator, iron, ironing board, hair druer, coffee pot and a free wall safe.

The bedding was in very good to new shape as was the curtians and carpet. Overall, I was very pleased with my room as well as its location.

We visited the beach which was a short walk out the rear of the hotel but the sunset was fantastic. The tiki bar was great and I would recommend it to anyone. They served hot wings and such along with drinks of course. The waitor staff was very nice and polite. They recommended a drink called the "woohoo" that I recommend you try if you like cranberry juice.

Overall, I would definatly stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone. I have attached a couple of photographs to this review.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2006

Positives: Location!, Beautiful Beach, Affordable Rates, Free Kids Meals for Breakfast & Dinner, Tiki Bar, Convenient to a grocery store, on the quieter side of the island, friendly staff.

Negatives: Some rooms are not updated so make sure you request one, pool temperature 90 degrees - not refreshing when sun bathing, Small pool towels - so plan to bring some beach towels.

A nice place for an affordable vacation on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2006

We wanted a beachfront property and the Holiday Inn met that criteria, but we were not prepared for how high the quality was at this hotel. The property is not new, but the owners keep it in pristine contition. It had recently been painted from top to bottom. While we were there they were shampooing the rooms that were not occupied. The housekeeping was superb! Drink prices at the beachfront bar were very reasonable. Rooms were spacious, especially the poolview ones. Requests for late check-out were honored if possible. The staff was very personable. The pool was large, with ample chaise lounges and heated to 85 degrees. In terms of location on Fort Myers Beach, this property is in the best location, less than two miles from the bridge to Bonita Beach.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2006

I have read the reviews all over the internet of this hotel, maybe some discruntled customers have a few bad things to say- like "disappointed that housekeeping didn't speak english"- you are kidding right? Or "saw a bug"- have you ever been to Florida??
I thought the hotel was truly a great place to stay. The beach is so fantastic, the staff answered to every request immediately, very clean place, wonderful tiki bar right on the beach- great sunsets and a great rate. If you want the Hyatt- go to the Hyatt, if you want a great little Holiday Inn right on the beach- go to Fort Myers Beach. And people- remember- you're on vacation- RELAX!!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach

Address: 6890 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fort Myers Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daydreaming about warm Tropical Nights and Spectacular Sunsets? You found it at the Holiday Inn Fort Myers Beach resort hotel. Dip your toes into the warm waters and relax oceanfront on one of the largest white sand beaches on the Gulf of Mexico. Our oceanfront Florida resort will make you feel miles away from all the hustle and bustle yet we are just a short drive from the SW Florida Int Airport (RSW) and activities of Fort Myers Beach. Enjoy the Florida sunshine by our outdoor heated pool surrounded by a spacious deck, comfortable chaise lounges and umbrellas. Our surroundings are tropically landscaped with Florida s natural beauty. Enjoy delectable Florida dining at Pinchers Beach Bar and Grill. Challenge yourself with our onsite recreational activities including Ping-Pong, shuffleboard, beach volleyball and scenic jogging trails. Along with free wireless access, our spacious guest rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves upon request. Relax on the balcony of one of our oceanfront rooms and marvel at all the colors of our Florida sunset. If you need a bit more space upgrade to one of our oceanfront suites featuring a panoramic view of the ocean from an oversized balcony. Paradise is just a click away at this magnificent oceanfront Florida resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.