We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6890 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fort Myers Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great spot for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Block long beach, clean rooms around family friendly pool. Tiki restaurant open to public beachside, public not in pool area. Parking is definitely reserved for hotel guests but space available for daily beach goers. Tiki staff happy and friendly. Short walk to Lovers Key beach area

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    236
    103
    43
    36
See reviews for
177
283
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We Have made about 5 trips to this Holiday Inn. We first came in 2002 and fell in love with the area. It has a great location on a gorgeous beach, an outdoor tiki bar with entertainment and lots of shops and restaurants in the area. I love that the guests are an older crowd and get up and dance like teenagers .

During the last 2 or three years the service has deteriorated. Checking in has become stressful and difficult to get the room that would make you happy. Ali and Ecward were lovely to deal with. The Front Office Manager is gruff and dismissive. Our platinum status means little here and responsiveness to needs is sorely lacking. The rooms need updating, the wireless didn't work in the room and the landscaping is no longer pretty.

The hotel is surrounded by condos. People come pouring in and use the beach and restaurant which is fine. However they also use the pool. There are not enough chairs for the guests, let alone outsiders. The management does nothing about restricting the pool to hotel guests. It is not fun to have to argue to get a chair and I feel that if I am paying over $200 a night I a entitled to a chair and shouldn't have to fight with people not even staying here. To top it all off there are hardly enough chairs for half the people staying.

We will probably come back here. I will continue to hope that the front desk will respect my platinum status and give me the room type I requested 4 mos in advance. That stress is not a good start to a vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside in the 130 or 140 area. If you don't like people walking by ask for second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear wheelwatcher,

Thank you for your feedback and or being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service, internet access and the poor pool experience. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife & I decided to take a "get-a-way" from tennessee cold weather for a few days in end of january. Searching for a room/resort when we had not been there was a "shot in the dark", Trip advisor was a big help. We are in our sixties, and really enjoy a good beach, outdoor TIKI style bar&eats,nice heated pool & a nice clean room--not extravigant but very comfortable. Holiday Inn ft. myers beach covered all of these goals VERY WELL. Beach was very wide with great white sand. TIKI bar/grill was SUPER- great large bar,nice outdoor seating & live music each nite. Pool was heated perfectly with poolside drink attendant. Rooms are a bit old fashioned but were nice and clean-comfortable bed, small/med. frig etc -- fine for us. At this time of year and at this end of the beach, crowd was more our age. Up at other end toward pier and lots of shops - we had a great time -- lots of shops,beach bars/grills, on street eateries - lots of people.

Room Tip: Room on outer sides,away from pool are quiter-away from music and more activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The room is nothing special, as its an old HI. It was freshly painted, clean and had a flat screen TV. Being old, there's a total lack of electrical outlets for laptops, ipads, etc. The small refrigerator was nice. Bathroom is tiny.
The outdoor bar was hopping and live music every night. Close walk to the beach and shopping.
I used the exercise room, which was small but well equipped.

Room Tip: Poolside is the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPatterson, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to see you enjoyed the tiki bar, flat screen tv, exercise room, the location and the clean room. Our property I would classify as a "classic/retro" Holiday Inn. We definitely appreciate your feedback. We are in the process of remodeling our rooms which will include all new furniture in our rooms. There will be new outlets intergrated into the new furniture to help provide more plug-ins than what we have now. This remodel should be completed by the end of the year. If you would like to revisit the property when the remodel is complete please feel free to contact me directly and I will help assist you with your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We got an upgrade, and our room was very large, with a small kitchen and a patio overlooking the beach. It was heaven---they even supplied toothbrushes, shaving cream, toothpaste. Pinchers Restaurant for lunch, outside by the pool, and we had the nicest, kindest waiter (he said he came down from Montclair, NJ just months before). All great, but then came Friday night. We went to the indoor restaurant because the outside one had a band and was really crowded. We stood at the entrance for 10 minutes and no one came to help. I finally went up to a waitress and asked if there was a waiting list or a maitre'd, and she was very irritable and told me that she'd come back when she had a chance. I believe the manager passed several times. No one looked at us except the diners, happily eating. Finally the waitress returned and said, "I'm asking my manager if he thinks there should be a list for people waiting for tables." We left and tried outdoors. No tables, and I finally asked a waiter, who said, "First come, first served. You should have been here two hours ago." We waiting around for several minutes, and he finally returned and asked how we were doing and was compassionate. But the hotel/restaurant has to figure out a way to deal with crowds---just to having someone help with seating or to have a waiting list would be very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach are great, but not too close to the pool (loud band every night).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Friendly check in staff, the housekeepers did a great job of cleaning our room! The rooms were clean and sand free. The bed was comfortable. The attached restaurant had great staff, live music and good food. I loved that the beach was right out my door. We hardly was in the room so it did great for us. We used it to sleep, shower and dress the rest of the time we were on beach or out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to use holiday inn points! Although the rooms were small and outdated, we were only steps away from the beach. The staff was very friendly. It's a large beach too! Request a north facing room. There is a pool but dont count on a place to relax as it's a very small area. There's a restaurant on site but mostly just a bar. It has live music at night so it's loud until 9pm. There's a strip mall across the street with several restaurants to choose from although none of them were great. There's a CVS across the street for any needs. The nightlife area is down towards the pier so you have to drive or take trolley. Traffic was terrible so plan to sit in bumper to bumper traffic. There's a great beach to walk along and walking paths in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPatterson, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I really appreciate your kind words about our staff. We are working on updating our rooms and should be completed by the end of the year. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach

Address: 6890 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fort Myers Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daydreaming about warm Tropical Nights and Spectacular Sunsets? You found it at the Holiday Inn Fort Myers Beach resort hotel. Dip your toes into the warm waters and relax oceanfront on one of the largest white sand beaches on the Gulf of Mexico. Our oceanfront Florida resort will make you feel miles away from all the hustle and bustle yet we are just a short drive from the SW Florida Int Airport (RSW) and activities of Fort Myers Beach. Enjoy the Florida sunshine by our outdoor heated pool surrounded by a spacious deck, comfortable chaise lounges and umbrellas. Our surroundings are tropically landscaped with Florida s natural beauty. Enjoy delectable Florida dining at Pinchers Beach Bar and Grill. Challenge yourself with our onsite recreational activities including Ping-Pong, shuffleboard, beach volleyball and scenic jogging trails. Along with free wireless access, our spacious guest rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves upon request. Relax on the balcony of one of our oceanfront rooms and marvel at all the colors of our Florida sunset. If you need a bit more space upgrade to one of our oceanfront suites featuring a panoramic view of the ocean from an oversized balcony. Paradise is just a click away at this magnificent oceanfront Florida resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.