We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roaches” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pierview Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Pierview Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pierview Hotel & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1160 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 46 hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Roaches”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I just got back from Fort Myers, we stayed @ the Pierview, NEVER AGAIN, room was filled with roaches, I told front desk, they offered to come in and spray, I said Why so they can come out of walls and into our baggage. I kept the room very cold so they would stay in the walls. Noise was crazy late at night, not a place I would ever stay again, I paid 150.00 a night to have no sleep and roaches. This place is horrible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judycoleman1, General Manager at Pierview Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a response regarding your stay at the Pierview Hotel. I am sorry you had a disappointing stay. We occasionally do have problems with bugs but we do have a company come out and take care of the problem on a regular basis. Unfortunately being on the beach that is a problem. As for the noise I do apologize but being in that location that is where all of the beach life begins with the restaurants and lounges.

I do hope you will give us another try to make your stay a more pleasurable one. Perhaps in the future you can visit on a less busy weekend.

Respectfully

Judy Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    10
    25
    28
See reviews for
25
35
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I don't have anything good to say about this dump. Firstly before I let you know about the stay I went to management with concerns and they chose to ignore them. So when they come back with their standard reply of you should have let us know, we would have done something about it they had a chance to do something.
When we got there the ice machine was broken they put a note on it saying we could purchase ice across the street. Told them the hotel should purchase for the guests for our use. That was laughed at. The pool was closed by the health department for being dirty. They dumped massive amounts of chemicals into it and then locked the gate. Staff came out and hung a sign saying closed 1 hour. We overheard the
Health department person say shouldn't be used until the following day. I questioned it pierview said health dept said it was fine. Why would we have two different stories.....money that's why. Refrigerator full of frost. Room dirty and smelled of mold. Just a nasty dirty motel. Again they will respond with with their stock answer to a neg review. Under new management or you should have said something. I should have read reviews before booking in this rat hole.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judycoleman1, General Manager at Pierview Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you had such a bad experience at our hotel. Had you heard the complete conversation the pool was closed due to a large amount of sand from the beach and yes we did have to shock it to get the levels correct which is a not unusual for any pool at times especially here on the beach.

Your other complaints will be addressed with the staff and I do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. But we are slowly making improvements to the property and we do hope you will at least give us another opportunity to make you stay a better one. In the Ft. Myers Beach area you can't beat the location on the beautiful white sand beaches and the local night life with shops and the entertainment in the area. This coupled with our on-going improvements will make this a one of a kind location.

Respectfully,

Judy Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is the fourth year in a row we've stayed at the Pierview Hotel. This year our room was not up to par as the original room we reserved was smoke filled. Desk clerk moved us and discounted our stay. I agree rooms are in dire need of upgrading but we didn't spend that much time in the room so we were okay with it. Front desk clerks are very good tour guides giving excellent suggestions on where to eat, best entertainment and even arranged transportation back and forth from the airport. WORD OF CAUTION: do not go over ANY holiday weekend. Everyone from Miami comes to Ft. Myers and they are loud and obnoxious but if you're looking for a quiet place to vacation WHY ARE YOU GOING TO THE BEACH? After the holiday was over we returned to the peaceful atmosphere. Next year we will rent a suite for an even more relaxing time. The new paint scheme on the outside is going to be great when finished and we're told the hotel is being remodeled by the new owner (December 2012). We've stayed in a ton of places that were way worse and had terrible customer service. This place ranks so high in customer service, convenience and location that you don't mind the smaller rooms.
My biggest complaint was no wi-fi service was available from our room, had to go to the lobby. Owner MUST fix that to improve overall experience. EVERYBODY in these days and times needs to stay connected. Shame on owner and GM for not addressing that issue ASAP.

Room Tip: choose a suite or any room facing the pool for better wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judycoleman1, Guest Relations Manager at Pierview Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment regarding your stay at our hotel. It has been a long time coming but we are finally getting the upgrade we so desperately needed. I am glad that you were able to experience some of the service enhancements that we have been working on with our staff to ensure our guests are well attended to during their stay. Please rest assured we are in the process of making product improvements as well, and we do hope you will come back and experience the changes we are making. I do apologize about the internet that has been a battle here but please rest assured we are working with the cable company to make sure that problem is solved as well. In the Ft. Myers Beach area, you can't beat our hotels location on the wonderful white sand beaches; this, coupled with our on-going improvements makes this a one of a kind location. We do look forward to having you back on your next trip to the area.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We live in Fort Myers, and have stayed at Fort Myers Beach many times, but we have never stayed at Pierview. At the last minute, we (my mother, my son and his friend, and myself) decided to spend Mother's Day at the beach. My mother is elderly and not well, and the beach is her favorite place in the whole world. So what better Mother's Day present than spending the night? I called the place where we usually stay and they were booked, so I found Pierview. I've seen Pierview from the outside many times, and thought it looked like a nice-enough place, and the price was certainly right, so I decided to take a chance.

I can honestly say that this was one of the worst nights I've ever spent in a hotel room. But I try to find the good in everything, so first,

The pros: 1. The lady at the front desk, while a bit loud and brash, was nice enough. (Although she announced my room number loud enough for everyone in the lobby to hear...a big no-no in the hotel industry). 2. The room was literally right on the beach, with a nice little porch and chairs to enjoy the beautiful view. 3. The room seemed pretty clean. 4. The bed was pretty comfortable, and there were extra pillows in the closet.

The cons: 1. The room was incredibly small. Two double beds barely fit into the tiny space. And the furniture/decor was circa 1980's thrift shop. (The dresser literally had duct tape holding it together.) 2. The bathroom was a complete disaster. One sink didn't work at all and was extremely worn and damaged. (wish I would have taken a picture....words can't describe...) The other sink did work, but only had hot water, so if we needed/wanted cold water, we had to use the tub faucet. 3. The room only had one plug for the refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker, so if you wanted to use one thing, another thing had to be unplugged. 4. And the table next to the coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave had to be moved to get to them, because the room was so small. But when the table was moved, it blocked the main door to the room, so then it had to be moved back. 5. And the worst of all....the noise and the rowdy guests (and these weren't just teenagers/young adults....these were also middle aged people acting like kids.) None of us slept a wink that night. All around us there was banging, doors slamming, people yelling, laughing, running in and out of their rooms. I called the front desk at 1:00 am, again at 2:30 am, and then again at 3:30 am. Finally at around 4:30 am, everyone must have passed out, because it got quiet. We were so exhausted the next day that we literally slept on the beach. Nice Mother's Day.

I will never stay at this hotel again. How does the saying go? You get what you pay for. Lesson learned.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judycoleman1, General Manager at Pierview Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at our hotel. I apologize for the fact that you had such a bad experience here. Unfortunately, we cannot do much about the size of the rooms and other people's behavior such as "the rowdy guests" or the "middle aged people acting like kids" that you mentioned in your review. This end of the beach has always been considered the "Party" end of the beach what with bars, restaurants and shops all within walking distance. As to the issues with the room, if you had made your concerns known to the front desk, these things would have been attended to immediately. As you may know, the property is under new ownership/management and they are doing all that is possible to upgrade the rooms and make product improvements We do hope you will consider making a return visit to experience these changes. In the Ft Myers Beach area, you cannot beat our hotel's location and that coupled with the wonderful white sandy beaches makes this a one of a kind locale. Again, we do so look forward to the time when you will give us another try. Best regards, Judy Coleman, Gen. Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I'm writing this at 2:27am after telling teens/college kids to keep it down! This is a dump where spring break type party's happen throughout the halls & outdoors. You will hear Slamming of room doors all night and groups of drunk kids running around everywhere! I'm in hell. Front desk people are rude & a joke. Beds are hard & unbearable. Adjoining Door lock broken --you wont feel safe here! Bathroom seats stained. Water drips all night in tub. Fridge reeks! Bar next door plays loud music. Drunks everywhere! Parking is tight. Pool is a joke! StAy AWAY!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judycoleman1, General Manager at Pierview Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
I apologize that you had such an unfortunate experience here! However, had you mentioned any of the issues you mentioned in your review to the front desk they could have been attended to.Coming at this time of year when prom and graduations are going on, the beach is always loud and crazy and I do apologize for the noise. However, having said that allow me to inform you that the beach is a "party beach". We do endeavor. to inform all adults when they arrive at this time of year, that it is prom and graduation time so that they are prepared. If you were looking for peace and quite and sereneness, this end of the beach is not it. As for the bar next door, we do not own it and therefore have no control over loud music, etc. and we certainly have no control over drunks and people's drinking habits. "let he who is without fault, cast the first stone" I'm guessing that you have never consumed to much alcohol. Good luck in the future in all your endeavors.. Regards, Judy Coleman, Gen Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We been coming to fort Myers beach for the past 3 years. Thought we'd give this place a try. They told us they remodeled the rooms but the furniture looked old and the TV looked like it was from 1980. No table to eat at. Had to lay in bed to eat. Ants, roaches everwhere. Went down to the pool, couldnt bring myself to get in it.. Pool was absolutely green. Was nasty.. Ended up hanging out at another hotel (Neptune) just to swim in there pool. I wouldn't recommend this place to no one.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judycoleman1, General Manager at Pierview Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
I apologize that you had such an unfortunate experience here! However, had you reported any of the issues you mentioned in your review to the front desk they could have been attended to immediately. We recently went through an ownership/management change and have been working on making improvements to this wonderful beachfront hotel. Please, rest assured that we are in the process of making product improvements as well, and we do hope that you might consider coming back and seeing us at a later date and experience first hand the upgrades. Oh, and by the way, the pool was not green! Have a nice day. Regards, Judy Coleman, Gen Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Pierview 2x's. The 1st time back in 2007 and it was not impressionable at all!!! The room was small, dingy, dirty and quite disgusting.

6 yrs later (April 2013) I again booked at the Pierview (to find out there are new owners) and WHAT A DIFFERENCE. This hotel is far from a 5 stars but newly painted outside with new porch chairs, a clean pool and for the most part a friendly staff. To my surprise, the room was clean, there was a new TV and I felt safe knowing that a staff member patrolled the grounds at night. Although my reservation was messed up, the front desk staff compensated me accordingly.

Located in the perfect spot, close to everything Ft. Myers Beach has to offer, I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: call day before or day of to confirm your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judycoleman1, General Manager at Pierview Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review about the hotel. It's great to hear from guests that can see the changes that have been made and most of these changes are due to the terriific efforts of the new owners. Of course, they are most anxious to continue with these improvements now that season and spring break are over with. And along with our white sandy beaches and sparkling blue waters, once all updating is completed, we will be a one of a kind hotel with the best location on Ft. Myers Beach! Hoping to see you folks back here really soon. Best Regards, Judy Coleman, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pierview Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierview Hotel & Suites

Address: 1160 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pierview Hotel & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pierview Hotel & Suites located on beautiful Fort Myers Beach in southwest Florida! Our hotel is just feet away from the Gulf of Mexico and miles of white sandy beaches. Guests can watch nightly sunsets from the hotel's heated beachfront pool.This hotel offers 62 guestrooms in a three-story building with exterior corridors. All rooms provide compact refrigerators, microwaves, in-room safes, cable TVs, wireless internet and speakerphones with voice mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pierview Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierview Hotel And Suites
Pierview Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierview Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.