We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than any Caribbean Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   684 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Kingston,Ontario.Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Better than any Caribbean Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

Just back from BW Fort Myers Beach. 1st class property with top drawer staff and ammenities. Thanks Kevin,Joy ,breakfast and housekeeping staff and any others I may have forgotten. My wife and I have travelled to many Caribbean Resorts but this beats them all. We are not all-inclusive lovers anyway so to us picking our restaurants and happy hours or just picking up a 6pack ,wine and food at Publix is part of the fun. We are Canadian and found the30% exchange hurt a bit but ,hey, we went from 20 below 0 weather to 85 in 1 day. That is priceless! If you want a wonderful experience on a world class beach where you can watch the dolphins by day or sip a cocktail while watching a magnificent sunset over Sanibel Island at dusk .... this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    207
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
358
438
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

They just completed a complete renovation of this property and they spared NO expense. This isn't your average throw some paint on the walls renovation...we're talking shut the hotel down, gut it and start over. Full kitchen in the room w/granite countertops, fridge, stove, sink, silverware, dishes. Modern amenities in the room, flat screen TV, fully tiled floor, gorgeous dark wood furniture, comfy beds with new white bedspreads & linens. Bathroom had granite counters, new upgraded faucets, fluffy white towels. ALL ROOMS are beachfront with a balcony. Rooms on the ground floor have a terrace. They have a pool with lounge chairs and a very cute grassy area with shuffleboard, shade trees, adirondack chairs & a swingset. With the breeze blowing outside, it was very relaxing sitting out there looking out at the gulf. I saw lots of families out there watching their kids play in the grassy area and beach. Beach very clean. You can rent loungechairs and umbrellas. I brought my own so didn't have to worry about that, cheaper that way! This hotel was in walking distance to everything on the public beach, restaurants, ice cream, gift shops. Continental breakfast included each morning in the lobby. Had bagels, donuts, hard boiled eggs, cereal, juices, coffee/tea, toast, instant grits & oatmeal. Lobby had a gorgeous view of the gulf. There is a small area to sit in with brand new wood & granite tables. You can also bring your food outside and sit in the grassy area with the adirondack chairs. Green parrot in the lobby called coco, was hysterical talking up a storm. Everyone very friendly. This is NOT your average Best Western! The only things missing to me were that the pool closed at dusk, wish it was open a little longer and also would like an outdoor bar of some sort. I know that this was the Best Western though. Oh and no full service restaurant, but honestly, I rarely eat in the hotel restaurant anyway. And there were plenty of restaurants in walking distance. One I highly recommend is the Greek diner that is right on the beach in town. It is about a 10 minute walk down the beach toward the pier. We saw dolphins playing in the water in the morning right from beach in front of the hotel.

Take a look at my pictures to see this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

VERY QUIET TOO!!!

The resort is just like the pictures and the sunsets from our balcony were gorgeous. If you are an early riser we also suggest getting up around 7:00 am and taking pictures of the moon still casting beautiful light across the water.
What we like best also was that all the rooms face the gulf so everyone has a great view. The room was exceptionally clean. We had a king bed /refrigerator and kitchenette. NICE POOL! All the hotel staff from desk clerks to grounds and housekeeping were friendly and accommodating.
We highly recommend this hotel and guarantee you wont be disappointed!

WE WILL BE BACK!
B & D from Illinois

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauderdale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Absolutely beautiful refitting of this building; this wasn't your typical slap-shod "let's keep this hotel alive" renovation. this was professionally done.
full kitchen
fantastic views from the room of the sunset over sanibel island and the pier.
heated pool
nice garden with lots of coconut palms and golf course grass along with a shuffle board, very key westy feeling without the hassle of getting down there.
for the little money above the cess pool down the street it is well worth the cost.
close to the pier and town center as well as the lighthouse tiki hut.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

My husband and I were down visiting family, and decided to stay in Ft. Myers Beach. The hotel was wonderful!!! Very friendly and easy check-in. We had a king room on the 5th Floor.....unbelievable view with a balcony. The room had a small kitchen, with a sink and apartment size frig. Big bathroom with great water pressure. The floors were all tiled - which I loved - no old musty rug. VERY CLEAN!! They have a beautiful pool and you literally walk out the door onto the beach!! Very short stroll down to the shops and bars...very convenient. We will definately stay there again. Of course, the highlight of the front desk is little Cocoa the parrot.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

We were blown away by the beauty of this property, both inside and out! We were happy that we stopped by on our search for somewhere to stay because this is not what we expected out of a Best Western at all. We were very pleasantly surprised!

Entering into the beautiful lobby with a vaulted ceiling, you can see the fantastic view of the beach, which is also visible from every room at this hotel. You are greeted by a very friendly and accommodating staff, and of course, the resident parrot, Coco.

The rooms were nice-sized and very clean, everything is brand new down to the walls as of 12/08 according to the staff, and it definitely looks it. Very crisp and clean looking.

We stayed on the 3rd floor and were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy amazing sunsets and sunrises, and watch dolphins frolicking in the Gulf in the early morning hours. Very neat!

A continental breakfast is served every morning with a variety of choices, such as fresh fruit, danishes, coffee, and juice.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful. There is a large grassy area, similar to golf course grass, so very soft beneath your bare feet! Lots of palm trees in this area for shade, as well as a shuffle board court.

There is a large pool that is open from dawn to dusk, that has ample seating, tables and chairs.

The beach is kept very clean, and many were seen swimming right offshore. There is also a watersports rental business on the premises if you are interested in waverunners, parasailing, etc.

One of the greatest things about this hotel is it's location. It is well within walking distance to Times Square, where you will find lots of quaint little shops, restaurants, and the town's fishing pier.

We have already made plans for our next visit, and cannot wait! We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

close to everything, quiet and very clean. We found many of the earlier reviews right on the mark! We would come here again!

  • Liked — new and clean with great ocean view
  • Disliked — rooms are a little small
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort

Address: 684 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Myers Beach Resort Hotel, located in the City of Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Our resort is located directly on a secluded beach at the north end of Estero Island overlooking the Gulf of Mexico where fiery sunsets will leave you spellbound ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Best Western Beach Hotel
Best Western Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.