We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   684 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Mukwonago, WI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

My wife and I just returned from our vacation. We stayed at the Best Western Beach Resort and found it to be a wonderful hotel. We also stayed here a few years ago and couldn’t believe the change. They invested over three million dollars renovating it into a first rate resort. All the rooms have a gulf view. Our room had a mini kitchen with a spacious bathroom and a comfortable bed. The lobby is large with plenty of room for guests to enjoy the continental breakfast. We found the lobby staff to be very helpful and the cleaning ladies to be very thorough. We liked the location, the traffic is very light on that side if the Times Square area. We will definitely be staying here next season.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    207
    39
    8
    4
See reviews for
358
440
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

We stayed at the Best Western Beach Resort in Fort Myers Beach December 21-27, 2008. It was newly renovated and I believe we may have been the first to stay in our unit. We stayed in Room 511, which is a 1 bedroom suite.

When you first walk into the hotel lobby, you are blown away by the view. The entire back wall is windows or glass doors and the view of the grounds and beach is spectacular! Even 4 days after arrival, I was blown away by the view!

This suite had a separate bedroom with a door that closed it off from a main living area and small kitchen. The bathroom is located in the bedroom area. The suite was very clean with ceramic tile flooring and brand new furniture. There was a leather sofa and chair in the living room; the sofa opened into a queen bed. There was a dark wood credenza with 6 drawers and a coffee table, also with storage drawers. These drawers were just enough to hold 5 days worth of clothes for our 4 children. The kitchen area had granite countertops, a full-size fridge, a microwave and stovetop. There was a breakfast bar with seating for 2 and a small table pushed against the wall with 4 chairs. There was a leaf to the table in the bedroom closet and 2 more chairs in the bedroom area, but I'm not sure where you could put this expanded table without blocking the door out of the unit. The bedroom had 2 full size beds. It appeared that all linens were new. There was also a credenza in the bedroom. There were flat screen tvs hanging on the wall in both the bedroom and the living room. The bathroom had a bath/shower combo, toilet and sink in the room (previous members complained that the sink was outside the bathroom - don't know if this was covered in the renovations or if it was because we were in a suite). There was a HUGE dressing area outside the bathroom and right in front of the closet. It kind of seemed like wasted space. There was a safe in the closet to store your valuables. Our balcony was very nice, with an entrance from both the bedroom and the living room (although we couldn't get the living room door to open). There was an adequate number of chairs on the balcony which directly faced the beach, as do all the balconies at this hotel.

The front desk staff were nice enough, I'd give them an average rating. They have a parrot, Coco, "on staff" and our kids enjoyed seeing him and listening to him chatter (when he felt like talking).

Breakfast is included in the hotel lobby. It is just a step up from a continental breakfast. There were donuts, pastries and muffins, white bread, wheat bread and bagels, with a toaster for the breads. There was butter, jelly, peanut butter, and cream cheese to spread on the breads. There were hard boiled eggs, 3 types of cereal, apples, oranges and bananas. There was a coffee dispenser, juice dispenser, and carafes of whole milk and 2 percent milk. There was not a lot of seating in the breakfast area, however, and on one morning we did not have a place to sit. And, the hotel was only about 1/2-2/3 full while we were there. I could see it being a real problem at full capacity.

The grounds were lovely, with seating on the grass under the palms, a shuffleboard court (with equipment available at the front desk), a picnic table in the shade and a pool. The back door to the hotel is not very far from the sand and there is a large beachfront. We did not see a lifeguard on duty while we were there. There were chaises and umbrellas available for rent - at $22 per day (we did not partake!) The pool was heated, which is probably not necessary in Southern Florida, but it seemed to be just the right temperature while we were there. There was adequate seating around the pool, with four tables with umbrellas and lots of lounges. The pool is not huge, however, and might be a problem with the hotel filled to capacity. The pool ranges in depth from 3-2 to 6 feet, so small children will need to be with an adult. (Water wings were very helpful for our 3-year old daughter).

We would classify this hotel as a very nice, no frills sort of place. I would not necessarily call this a resort, as it's really just a clean hotel with a pool on the beach. The last resort we stayed at had a snack bar, bar, restaurant, stores, etc., which this place did not have.

However, we would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend this hotel to others.

  • Liked — The location - right on the beach and right near the Town Center
  • Disliked — Not really a resort
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

We as a family have had 5 vacations in Ft. Myers Beach and have stayed in this Best Western 3 times. We can not say enough how great the view is and how great the staff has been at this resort. We love this location so much that we booked the same week next year. We also have several family's joining us this year at the Best Western and they too will enjoy this great location!

  • Liked — the beach
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

Loved the resort. They were able to accom us after spending 1 night in a dump down the road. Would go back without a doubt. 4th floor view was amazing. I was told they are renovating next month and it will take 6mos.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

My family of four - kids ages 12 and 17 - just returned from Best Western Beach Resort yesterday after a 7 night stay. We had a great time. This was our first time there and we intend to go back. It was clean and comfortable. They are updating/renovating this spring and summer, and the rooms were a little dated, but not necessarily run down. It will be refreshing to see the changes they make. The property was kept in beautiful shape inside and out. The pool was big and clean, never crowded even for a booked hotel. The beach is beautiful and well kept, the nicest in the area. The breakfast was well stocked, however, could use a litlle more variety and more nutritious choices, but still good. Coco, the 25 year old parrot was entertaining and the view was the best. We had a 5th floor room and had a great time watching the dolphins play in the early morning hours and watch the tide come and go. We were only 5 min. walk from all the main stores and restaurants, but were still on the quiet end of things. I cannnot say enough about this place and intend on returning in a couple of years. Can't wait to see the renovations and see what they improve. If you are thinking of staying here, please disregard the negative feedback. You will be making a wise decision to stay!

  • Liked — The beach view.
  • Disliked — The outdated rooms, but they are renovating.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JANESVILLE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

My husband and I spent a week, the end of February. The location is absolutely the best..right on the beach, and able to walk to beach bars, and all the restaurants we wanted. The square (where all the shops are, and many restaurants is a 5 min. walk. The rooms were clean with king bed and small kitchen. It was perfect for us, but the best was watching the dolphins playing in the ocean, while we sat on our balcony. Miles and miles of beach to walk, it was just GREAT. They are remodeling this spring, but clean and convenient is the greatest asset, and we were very happy. The sunsets, with cocktail in hand, from the colorful adirondack chairs were awesome every night . Jim and judy

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a "Girls Weekend". We booked a mini suite that had 2 queen beds, a small kitchenette and living room combination. The room was clean but without any xtras. The bathrooms in this hotel are extremely small and have the sink outside of the bathroom. The few amenities we had were mostly broken. The iron didn't work, the toaster didn't work properly and one of the burners on our little stove was popped up and we were afraid to use it. The balcony didn't have screening nor an outlet or fan but on the bright side, all the balconies faced the ocean.
The staff was friendly enough and they offer a continental breakfast in the lobby which was mostly sweet things but they did have fresh apples, oranges and bananas. Also, the location was within walking distance of the times square area and that is a plus.
I missed not having a refreshment stand near the pool where you can have a drink and some nibbles for lunch. That might have made things a little nicer for us. I guess I would rate this hotel about average.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — very dated
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort

Address: 684 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Myers Beach Resort Hotel, located in the City of Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Our resort is located directly on a secluded beach at the north end of Estero Island overlooking the Gulf of Mexico where fiery sunsets will leave you spellbound ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Best Western Beach Hotel
Best Western Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.