We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   684 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Best Western Plus Ft. Myers Beach Resort from February 21 to 26. Travelers included me (a mom), my husband, our two kids (3.5 and 1.5), my mother-in-law and father-in-law, and my sister-in-law and brother-in-law. We stayed in Room 104 (a suite) and the others stayed in 203 and 207.

Overall, this hotel has a really nice setup for families with young kids. The staff provided a pack n play upon my request and also provided a "coverplay," something I had never seen before: it is a washable cotton and mesh slipcover that goes over the rails and sides of the pack n play, in case your kid, or the kids who came before you, like to bite and chew on the rails. This was an attention to detail that I really appreciated. Having said that, though, I think the pack n play itself could probably stand to be replaced. The mattress pad was really compressed and hard. I folded a blanket and put that between the mattress and the fitted sheet, and it worked just fine. Even better, the hotel has a small swingset right in the main yard / beach area, and my kids loved that. It has one baby bucket swing and two regular swings. There is also a grilling area which made it easier for us to make and enjoy meals all together, since the hotel lacks a restaurant.

Also, I had ordered several packages from diapers.com (microwaveable toddler meals, swim diapers, beach toys, some other toys to keep in the room for quiet time / evening, etc) and the hotel staff was very good about accepting them for us and letting us know when the boxes arrived.

We found the rooms to be impeccably clean and the cleaning staff friendly and accommodating. On our second day, I requested that our room be cleaned at the top of their schedule instead of right at noon (when my kids were napping) and they graciously scheduled our room to be cleaned at 9:15 for the remainder of the trip. The floors were mopped and the beds were changed regularly, and they even washed our sinkfulls of dishes.

Our room (104) had a living room / kitchen area with a pullout couch, a stovetop, a microwave, and a refrigerator. There are two counter-height stools and a nice counter. There is a dresser, a tv, and a coffee table with several large drawers. This room could be improved with the addition of more seating (perhaps an easy chair) or a small dining table with regular-height chairs.

Through a pocket door was the bedroom, which contained two double beds, a dresser, a tv, a night stand, the pack n play, and the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of room for everything. There is also a large closet with a safe.

The bathroom was large and well-appointed. My only complaint (and this is very minor) is the shower pressure. The shower head must be aerated or something, because the water comes out in very irregular and uncomfortable bursts. It actually stings to stand in the stream. Adjusting the spray didn't really help, as the other options were too diffuse to actually accomplish any rinsing / washing. But this is more a point of personal preference and not a major complaint. The bathroom was also remarkably free from mold and mildew, which is impressive given the humidity at the location. The full-sized bathtub made it easy to wash my kids off at the end of their sandy days. If I could make one change to this bathroom, it would be to replace the shower head with one that has a handheld sprayer option and a gentler stream.

Parents looking to stay at this hotel should keep a few things in mind when requesting a room. We found the location of room 104 to be convenient in that it opened directly onto the back yard area and was immediately behind the pool. This made it easy to retrieve 1,000,000 beach toys and sunglasses throughout the day. However, it can get pretty loud behind the pool during naptime (midday), and if your kids are bothered by noise, you might want to request a room farther down the line, closer to the swingset (my city kids did not mind). Another element of the first-floor rooms is that you cannot open your windows, so at night you have to choose hot and sweaty room air or overpowering air conditioning. Upstairs, the rooms have private balconies and guests can sleep with their sliding glass doors open. They can also lay their bathing suits out to dry on their balconies, and this is tricker on the first floor. So, if you like to sleep with the windows open to hear the ocean and get the fresh air, sleep upstairs. There is an elevator, so having a room upstairs with kids and a stroller would not be too bad. I'm not sure if there are suites upstairs, though.

A few other family-friendly items: the free breakfast is quite extensive considering the hotel does not have a restaurant. There are hot Jimmy Dean sandwiches, a waffle station, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, baked goods, and really decent coffee. There is also a very entertaining parrot named Coco who all the kids enjoyed (and the adults did, too). There is also a coin-operated laundry room on the third floor -- I only wish I had realized this on our first day! It makes traveling with kids a lot easier if you can do a wash midweek.

We did not explore the surrounding town too much -- just a few quick errands and one meal out with my brother- and sister-in-law while the grandparents babysat. There are plenty of restaurants and bars, and small beachwear shops. We did rent a car, but ended up only using it to get from the airport to the hotel and back. It may have made more sense to use a car service for those two trips.

If you are looking for a family vacation where you and the other adults are providing most of the entertainment to the kids, then this is a good choice. The hotel is directly on the beach and you have pretty much everything you need.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, we are always happy to read about great guest experiences at our hotel. Thank you for the nice review and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    207
    39
    8
    4
See reviews for
358
440
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hotel spotless, staff very friendly and helpful. Location to stores and eateries perfect. Beach front well maintained. Very relaxing experience. All rooms are beach front with great views of beach and gulf. Price a little on the high side but place made you feel that it was well worth it. Plenty of water sports available; sailing, jet ski, parasailing.

Room Tip: Price a little high, but place made you not mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. Most of all we hope you come to see us again. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Plus. We paid extra for a larger room, and were delighted with it. All rooms have beach views.
The location is hard to beat - the far northern (quieter) tip of Fort Myers Beach, but within 10 minutes' easy stroll of the shops and restaurants at Times Square.
This hotel has won quite a few "in house" awards, and it's easy to see why. All of the staff that we encountered (in a 10-day stay) were friendly, welcoming and helpful: the chief engineer, the breakfast staff, reception, housekeeping - the hotel should be proud of them.
The room was spotlessly clean; the bathroom was fine, and toiletries were replaced daily. The kitchen includes a microwave, toaster, two rings, and a coffee-maker, although we never used the latter as free (excellent) coffee was available 24 hours a day from reception.
We had two double beds, which were ok, not the most comfortable I've ever had, but nothing to complain about.
Free pool towels are a bonus, saving space in our suitcases, and we enjoyed using the pool (when we weren't on the beach).
The free breakfasts were incredibly good - we have had far inferior breakfasts which we've had to pay for. Fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, oatmeal, muffins, danish pastries, lots of different types of bread, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, branded hot sandwiches (ham, sausage), fresh waffles, dunkin'doughnuts, plus juices and hot drinks. We enjoyed taking our plates of fresh fruit salad and toasts outside to sit in the garden, overlooking the beach (especially as it was February and it was snowing back home!)
The trolley bus leaves from right outside the hotel, and you can travel the length of Estero Island, including the excellent Lovers' Key State Park, for 50 cents each. There are also trollies which go to the local (Edison) shopping mall, an outlet mall etc, so if you don't want to use the car, you don't have to. Many people used the trolley on an evening, to go to restaurants which were a bit further afield, so they could drink.
If there was a minor niggle, it would be that chairs, parasols for the beach had to be rented (although most people chose to buy cheap ones to use every day), but it is quite difficult to think of anything wrong with this place, in my opinion.
To sum up, we both loved this place, and didn't want to leave...

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors probably have better views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are very happy you enjoyed yourself while staying with us. Your review was outstanding, thank you for staying with us and we hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockfod, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel January 1-4, 2013, and had a two bedroom suite, kitchen, and large seating area with a pull-out couch. The place is amazing! Very clean, very comfortable big rooms. Easily had plenty of space for our family of 5. Wonderful breakfast and beach staff. We loved the parasailing experience = great staff from the guy who reserved our timeslot to the crew. We ate on the island each night, and because our keycard had the Yucatan restaurant on it, we got a discount when we ate there. Most everything is within walking distance, shops, eateries, and ice cream! Wish we could have stayed there longer than we did but they were booked up. Would truly love to go again in a year! :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We hope you can make it back as well! Thank you for the nice review, we did a 100% renovation in 2008 and we are working hard to keep it all in like new condition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had never been to the Gulf side of Florida. The Best Western Plus was a great choice. The location was in a quiet, picturesque area with a beautiful view of the Gulf of Mexico. Shopping and restaurants were within a short walk.

The room was very modern and exceptionally clean. There were two of us and it was roomy enough for us. If you have more than two people you would need something bigger than a standard room. It had a nice sized balcony with a great view of the beach and the ocean.

The staff was friendly and very helpful. They helped arrange transportation from the airport and that was even an excellent experience. We didn't have car but they tracked down an umbrella so we could walk to dinner on a rainy Valentine's Day!

The breakfast was good but the eating area was small. We ate outside under a grass hut which was much better vthan staying inside.

We are looking forward to a return trip to Fort Myers Beach and the Best Western Plus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for the very nice review. We will continue to do our best to keep guest like yourself to come back year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Me and my husband came from Germany to that hotel and it was a wonderful stay. We was there for 14 days and we enjoyed it very much. The nice Lady from Georgia at the Breakfast was very helpful and she took good care of us. At the Reception the staff were also always helpful and very friendly. Ann from Housekeeping took good care of us and our room was always very clean. All in all we was very satisfied and hope we be back some day.

Heidi and Mike Jones from Germany!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The beach is the Thing, after all. The hotel has a nice pool, is wonderfully well kept clean and neat, breakfast is quite ok but a little short on seating. Service is adequate. Rooms are adequate but I was not pleased with 2 doubles but the Beach is the Thing. ALL rooms face the beach but get a 4th or 5th floor room if you want to see anything. 1st floor is ok if you have small children but a few of these rooms are just a few feet from the pool. I would come back to the BW+ but only with a single king bed room. If you want to watch any television you have to prop up on the bed anc omputers eith on your lap or on the kitchen counter. Still the location is excellent at the North end of Ft Myers Beach - 5 minute walk to restaurants bars and the pier. It's nice to be able to park the car and walk to a few places rather than be bound to the car.

Room Tip: As stated in review, 5th floor for view, 1st for children and easy access to pool and playground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for the review. We hope you come back to see all the great beach front views and if there is anything we can do better we always like to know. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort

Address: 684 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Myers Beach Resort Hotel, located in the City of Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Our resort is located directly on a secluded beach at the north end of Estero Island overlooking the Gulf of Mexico where fiery sunsets will leave you spellbound ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Best Western Beach Hotel
Best Western Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.