We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED, LOVED LOVED THIS RESORT!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   684 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“LOVED, LOVED LOVED THIS RESORT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Best Western Plus Beach Resort, Fort Myers Beach, from Monday, June 18 – Wednesday June 20, 2012, and I have to say, we definitely did NOT stay long enough. We ABSOLUTELY LOVED this resort, and now know why it was rated “Best Beach Resort” by the town of Fort Myers. Upon our arrival, we were greeted promptly by Lacie, a very friendly and professional front desk clerk. Since our room was not ready yet, Lacie offered to store our luggage for us, which allowed us to immediately start enjoying the gorgeous Gulf beach, located just a few yards away from the hotel’s rear entrance. We LOVED our room. The main area AND bathroom were extremely, clean and were just perfect for us. The kitchenette was very convenient; with a full size refrigerator, microwave and smooth surface stovetop. Dishes, pots, and silverware were also included. The beds were very comfortable but the pillows were absolutely heavenly. Sitting out on the balcony, looking out onto the ocean; the 40” flat screen; cable TV and FREE wireless Internet made our stay even more perfect. The Housekeeping and Breakfast staff members were very friendly. It was nice having the complimentary breakfast available…..nothing fancy, but good. The hotel is in a great location, just five minutes walking distance from “Times Square”. I have already starting planning my next trip to Fort Myers, and will DEFINITELY return to this resort…. and plan to stay longer the next time. Thank you, Lacie, for being so kind to us, and for making our stay so enjoyable. We hope to see you again real soon.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and have a balcony, except the rooms on the first floor do not have balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank you for the outstanding review. It is always nice to hear that we are doing a good job.
Guests like you make our jobs easy and very rewarding. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    207
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
358
438
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at many hotels on FMB, but this is by far the best. We had nothing but good things to say about it at the end of our vacation. The best thing about it was they allowed my chihuhua to stay. They are one of the few on the beach that would allow dogs and we were so grateful to find out they accept pets. The room and grounds were extremely nice and clean. I loved the yard area with plenty of grass and chairs. My dog also appreciated that part because she wasn't too fond of the sand! The continental breakfast was the best I've experienced at any hotel, complete with breakfast sandwiches, boiled eggs, and Otis Spunkmeyer muffins just to name a few. We would definitely stay here again and cannot express how thankful we are that they allow pets!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Wonderful, another pet enjoyed their stay with us. Coco said you can bring your master back anytime to stay with us.
Coco our Yellow Nape Amazon Parrot is really running the show around here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stay at this Best Western every summer. All rooms have water views, equipped with full fridge, microwave, stovetop. Everything you would need to make a meal if you choose to. Nice breakfast bar with 2 stools. Just step out the door of the hotel and you are on the Gulf of Mexico. All rooms have balconies overlooking the beach. Lots of shops & restaurants within walking distance. Trolley service will get you around the area.

Room Tip: Five floors total. All rooms have balconies with beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The remodel a few years ago has made this our choice for our Christmas vacation. It helps that they still take dogs under 20 lbs. for a $20. fee. Well maintained, clean, friendly staff and an adequate continental breakfast.
All rooms have a small kitchen which we use to keep a few things in fridge and late night snacks.
Wish they had a small on restaruant on premisis. Pool is dated but the grounds are immaculate - shuffleboard and a place to sit under the palms out front. The view is excellent the proximity to town is within walking distance. Relaxed atmosphere.
We have stay at Pink Shell and have never been disappointed there but I need to bring my Yorkie with and they don't take pets. What I like about BW on FMB - is location, relaxed enviornment and stylish rooms.

You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view but try not to say on the first floor or the second floor by the pool (I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The Best Western Beach Resort in Fort Myers Beach, Florida is probably your best option if you want a resort experience on Estero Island. They have consistently provided helpful, unobtrusive service, clean facilities, and idyllic beachfront property for decades. Although the hotel interior experienced a remodel in recent years, the Best Western was just as pleasant when I visited in the early 1990s as it is today. Currently, the rooms sport classy, neutral decor in whites, browns, and blacks. Bathrooms are medium-sized with hairdryers and great water pressure in the showers. While the decor is unexciting, the best part of the rooms is unquestionably the guaranteed oceanfront view, something that few hotels have been able to offer. Each room boasts a private balcony overlooking the beach, with either the outdoor heated pool or a palm tree landscaped yard directly underneath the patio doors. These balconies let visitors feel like the ocean is truly in their front yard.

Within the last couple years, the beach was artifically widened, and this noticeably adds to the space and privacy when sunbathing or swimming. Of the beaches I've visited in person, Fort Myers remains my favorite. Shelling yielded satisfying results in the early morning after the tide went out, and we actually saw dolphins spontaneously every day we were there, including once only a few feet away while swimming in the ocean. The pelicans and other seabirds are also enormously fun to watch as they dive for food.

Best Western provides kitchenettes in each room for budget-conscious travelers that may want to grocery shop, refrigerate or microwave leftovers. You can also save money by indulging in their better-than-average continental breakfast, which includes two kinds of breakfast sandwiches (such as sausage/egg/cheese biscuits), blueberry waffles, yogurt, three kinds of cereal, assorted fruit, three or four juice choices, hardboiled eggs, pastry items, and free coffee round the clock. I was traveling with a coffee aficianado and reportedly the coffee is quite good for a hotel.

Best Western's pool is surrounded by palm trees and has an excellent view of the beach and ocean. There are free wooden chairs when lounging in the grassy section, and cabanas available for beach rental. One bonus is the entertaining talking green parrot named Coco who has lived at the hotel for 30 years! It was quite a shock to return to the hotel 20 years later and discover the same bird is still flourishing.

Best Western Beach Resort's location proved to be ideal, as it's half a mile or less to Times Square and the Pier, where touristy beach shops, restaurants, and occasional live bands can be found. From Times Square you can take the San Carlos bridge to Fort Myers proper. We also took a twenty-minute taxi ride to Sanibel Island one day of our trip, where the water is blue-green.

While prices will understandably increase after a remodel, they climbed to disappointing heights and bundling an air/hotel package became necessary to even come close to the old $140-$160 rates. This review would have easily been five stars if not for price. Our recent stay was May 2012, and without the bundle, rates of around $200/day are enough to turn possibly the majority of people away, which is truly unfortunate because we had a relaxing and worry-free experience at the Best Western Beach Resort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, FL
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel is in a great location, about .4 miles to Times Square area and all the shops and lots of restaurants. The balconies on every room was a great benefit. The pool was heated and very clean. The complimentary breakfast was fine but go fairly early in order to get a seat! Would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stay here over spring break every year. The location of the beach to the property is superb. In fact last year they added over 100 feet of sand and the entire beach is extra wide now. Facilities are always clean and staff is always gracious. Breakfast is a huge bonus but they could use extra tables in the area where they serve it. Coco the parrot is a fun attraction for kids.

Room Tip: some room views are somewhat blocked by palm trees...I would try to get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort

Address: 684 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Myers Beach Resort Hotel, located in the City of Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Our resort is located directly on a secluded beach at the north end of Estero Island overlooking the Gulf of Mexico where fiery sunsets will leave you spellbound ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Best Western Beach Hotel
Best Western Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.