We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family orientated beach hotel, not perfect though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina

Save Saved
You added Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   275 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 46 hotels in Fort Myers Beach
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good family orientated beach hotel, not perfect though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A mostly friendly resort that caters well for families, stayed as part of Offshore Sailing School Learn to Sail course

The good:
- 2 bedroom beach villa very spacious with all the facilities including good sized fridge, a bit worn in places but still very comfortable. Suggest asking for high floor to avoid noise from car park under building.
- valet (Bob) and maintenance (Charlie) very friendly and helpful, a real credit to resort
- quieter end of Fort Myers Beach (disregarding the resort itself and the pool/bar area full of children having fun which was good to see)
- Sandy on concierge very good (about the only staff member who knew what the sailing school was having completed the course herself)
- plenty of beach loungers to use
- service at Bongos (food and bar) very friendly with the exception of 'L' who also worked in breakfast restaurant
- plenty of facilities available
- great beach views

The not quite so good:
- pool water quality more like swimming in sunscreen, not surprising given hot weather and high volume of children in pool although have been in many other pools in similar climates and they have not been as 'greasy'
- always entertaining to see just how many of pool sun loungers 'reserved' with towels at 7.30am when we where on way to breakfast, most usually
- separate building for breakfast (Sanibel)
- unusually no shower gel provided, soap instead - shampoo, conditioner and moisturiser is provided however
- if using beach loungers don't expect a quiet idyllic experience, for example resort provide table for 2 on the beach - to set up the staff drive around the table for ages in one of the beach carts smoothing out sand with tyres and they may be electric but are usually laden with equipment rattling around
- think carefully about doing the table for 2 on the beach, a great idea but don't forget it's a public beach and there are lots of children playing with balls all around
- separate building for breakfast frustrating as you have to use several gates to access restaurant
- pool area noisy late into evening, good to see children having fun, just be aware if in main building
- majority of hotel staff are not aware of Offshore Sailing School, for example, breakfast 'to go' was supposed to be available but breakfast staff clueless so this was not actually an option

The bad:
- the staff seating guests at breakfast quite rude, one in particular (name began with L) more interested in chatting with staff than being helpful. Example: we stood for several minutes at stand for being seated but no-one came over to seat us (7.40am and not busy), asked 'L' for help who was walking right by us who just mumbled something and walked off so we went and sat down, suddenly the person apparently supposed be doing the seating appeared from nowhere and challenged me saying 'you can't sit down unless I tell you but I'll let you this time'! I would however say that those actually waiting tables were very good, thankfully. Given that the majority of resort staff are very friendly the poor service being seated at breakfast stands out.

Room Tip: Beach villas are away from noise of pool but over car parking so request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest as part of the Offshore Sailing School. I am happy to read the many positives you encountered during your stay. We also want to thank you for the details of the moments where we could have improved your overall experience. We hold ourselves to extremely high standards when it comes to meeting our guests needs. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so that we may show you the level of service we are known for and all the we have to offer.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,140
    378
    111
    42
    27
See reviews for
825
535
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Salem
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Pink Shell May 29 thru June 4th. We had a one bedroom suite in the White Sands building. We loved Fort Meyers beach and its laid back beach vibe. Couple of non hotel related pieces of info. We used the trolley on a daily basis it was inexpensive and on time. It is an easy way to travel to time square if you don't want to walk. The shelling is great my daughter loved searching for shells every day. Now onto the resort.

The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom had separate tub and shower, and was huge for a hotel room. The kitchen area adequate and the living area also was good. The bedroom is located next to the door as you enter the room. The room is really more like a small condo rather than a hotel room. Only drawbacks of the room were noise of the air conditioning unit, it just takes time to get used to it, also the temp in the living area to the bedroom was not the same. It was cold in the living room and warmer in the bedroom. The shudders in the bedroom do not keep out the light very well so when the sun comes up in the morning it gets light in the bedroom. The deck area is small but it works we sat out in the evenings and enjoyed it very much just wish the space was a little larger. The door entering the the room needs to be replaced you could see the sun in the morning shining through the frame, it had been painted I would say a few times to cover its age. I think new better fitting exterior doors would be a nice touch. All of the issues were minor these are very nice clean and comfortable rooms.

Facility: The pool and beach is awesome. We loved spending time both poolside and by the beach.The drink service around the main pool was well done and the lounge chairs comfortable.
Free chairs Towels and umbrella's makes for a fun day at the beach. The guys who set up the beach area did a great job each day. They used a drag behind a tractor to freshen up the sand every morning. Beach area was clean and well kept. Note about the water it is not blue more of a greenish brown but it is warm. There is also a bit of a fishy odor in the early morning and again in the evening. This is not the resorts fault it is just the quality of the Gulf water in this location.
The breakfast was fantastic choices galore and good food. We ate at bongos and had drinks on a couple of different days everything was good. Kids activities were great, but cost a bit much. I also had a massage at the spa which was enjoyable and relaxing.

They key to the resort is the service, from check in until check out we received great service always employees willing to help and working hard to keep the resort looking clean and inviting.

One of the main problems with the resort is smoking in common areas, especially around the pool and by the elevators. I understand that it is an open air resort but ash trays located in front of the elevators on each floor is not that inviting. And most people did not smoke in the designated smoking areas they smoked wherever they wanted. Becoming a smoke free facility would make this place even better.

I would recommend this resort it is safe, clean and has a great staff. It is expensive but I am willing to pay for good service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for this detailed review of our resort. We are happy to have left you with a great impression of the Pink Shell through our service. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is by far our favorite Resort to take our kids to! The best for families! Large spacious rooms with kitchens makes for easy sleeping arrangements and the views are breathtaking! We had a group of 31 people attend and everyone was so excited to go back next year! The amenities are by far the best in the area and the easy access to the beach and pools are fantastic! By far the best resort on the west coast of Florida! You must visit this location!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We are happy to be your favorite family resort! Thank you for your highest recommendations to your family and friends. I am delighted that your group of 31 people had a wonderful time. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for long weekend vacation. We loved the room which had it's own kitchen, amazing bathroom, and nice bedroom. The room was very clean. There were little sand bugs in the kitchen and bathroom. They didnt bite or bother us much-we just couldnt leave food on the counters. The breakfast buffet was very good but you have to be aware that the "free" items are limited to cereal, yogurt and fruit. The other items such as eggs, bacon, pancakes, etc are an upcharge. The food is really good quality and the upcharge is not very expensive but just an FYI because due to a language barrier with our waiter, we were suprised when our bill came.

The beach is beautiful and we loved the options for things to rent and do right in front of the hotel.

The pier is just a short walk from the hotel and is perfect for grabbing some ice cream to watch the sunset.

There were a lot of kids at this resort so you must not be annoyed easily by the screaming and splashing of kiddos if you want to stay here.

I was on a trip with just my husband but this would be a great family vacation spot!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I am so pleased that you and your husband had a wonderful week at the Pink Shell. Since your last visit, we made some changes and no longer offer the continental breakfast option. When booking a reservation through our website, two breakfast credits per room per day are included. This is for the full breakfast- all hot and cold items from chef made omelets to fresh sliced fruit- and it's delicious! I'm glad you enjoyed your overall experience and our beautiful beaches. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Highly recommend staying here with a family or just looking for the quieter side of Ft. Myers Beach. Breakfast buffet was very good, we ate there every morning for 7 days and there was always one or two new items to try. We stayed in the Sannibel View building. We were impressed with how clean the rooms were. Obviously an older building but has had some nice renovations/updates. Might not be the building for you if you are a light sleeper. Doors are heavy have had a tendency to slam and every time someone opens a balcony door near your room you will hear it. We did have one complication with our stay that management handled in a professional manner. No complaints!! Resort does have beach/pool towels that can be loaned out without charge if returned (you can trade out for fresh ones as needed).

Room Tip: Sannibel view building a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our resort. I am happy to read that you found your accommodation to be clean and exactly what you had hoped for. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to correct a circumstance, I am so pleased that we were able to do so quickly and professionally. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the minute I called to book a special weekend, Katja Kunz -Regional Revenue Director, went above and beyond to meet and exceed. She truly wants us to have an amazing experience and recommended room types, views and things to do.

We will be arriving this weekend and I can only assume that the rest of the experience will be as fantastic and Katja has made the booking process!

Thanks so much Katja and kudos to an outstanding job

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I am thrilled to know that you had such a wonderful first impression of our resort that you felt inspired to write a review based on this experience. We look forward to welcoming you this weekend and we can't wait to show you all the Pink Shell has to offer. Enjoy your stay.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently stayed at the Pink Shell Beach Resort and Marina with my wife and 2 sons aged 13 and 10. This is simply one of the best vacations that we have had and one of the best resorts we have ever stayed at. With this being our first visit to the Ft. Myers area, we didn't know quite what to expect, but our expectations were met and surpassed.
The staff at the registration desk were prompt to assist us upon checking in. All staff we came into contact with were smiling and welcoming and ready to assist us if needed. We had to call the front desk for assistance twice with things and both times someone was prompt to show up and the situation resolved to our liking.
Parking is plentiful and we never had trouble getting a close space to park. The pool area was clean and a lot of fun. The free beach chairs, umbrella, kayaks and paddle boards were all very nice and offered some free fun for our family. The staff on the beach assisting with these services were also kind and accommodating.
The breakfast buffet and the food at Bongo's were top notch, pleasantly served and delicious! We hated to have to leave but look forward to coming to this resort again. It is money well spent!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I am so happy to read of the wonderful time you had at our resort during your recent family vacation. It is our pleasure to exceed your expectations and provide a service that adds great value to your stay. We look forward to your next return.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina

Address: 275 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Estero Island along the beaches of Fort Myers, the 12-acre Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina caters to families, couples and various groups seeking a memorable four-star resort experience. We are also a tropical premier location for destination weddings. We focus on providing our guests with attentive service and uncompromising levels of cleanliness in a surrounding that provides breathtaking views of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white sand beach. At the Pink Shell, "The Only Thing We Overlook Is The Beach." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Shell Beach Resort And Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Pink Shell Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.