We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   275 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% Off 4 Nights or More
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced for average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We booked this placed based on recommendations from others. We should have thought about the parties recommending. Money isn't an issue and they have small children. This place is alright for families with small children but we were traveling with a 10 & 12 year old so the pools were small and closed too early.

We paid top dollar and got a unit with a tiny kitchen and no dining table except the one on the patio. We would have been very disappointed if it had been any cooler. They advertise full appliances but only have microwave/oven combo.

The noise here makes it anything but relaxing. The pool fountains are very loud (the only good part of the pools closing early is that they shut them off). They are also running generators during the day that are incredibly loud. It made sitting by the adult pool out of the question.

We arrived around 1pm, they gave us our wristbands and said they would let us know as soon as our room was ready. When ordering a second drink at the bar they told us what our room number was. We decided to take a peak at the location and found our room was ready and clean. We did not receive a call to our cel phone letting us know the room number until we had already been there an hour, at 3:30. I guess they prefer you keep spending until it is check in time.

The beaches are beautiful! Fine white sand. However, the ocean water here is brown and not very inviting to swim in. If you've visited blue waters elsewhere, you'll be disappointed.

I grabbed a bath towel after showering and found it to have 3 holes in it. The expression machine was not working in the lobby store this morning. I could go on but it just adds up to an overpriced, disappointing destination.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
To know a guest of our resort had a disappointing experience is so disheartening to us. We are dedicated to holding a reputation of a place known for great value and exceptional service. We somehow missed the mark with you on more than one occasion. I can assure you that the areas you mentioned will be addressed so that we may maintain a service level that can be expected when staying at the Pink Shell. We hope that you will consider returning to our resort on your next visit to Fort Myers Beach.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Social Media Analyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,513
    439
    125
    47
    29
See reviews for
1,006
705
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had a wonderful time in June of 2013 that is why We have booked our 2014 @ the PS. The rooms and the staff were excellent-the rooms had anything and everything that you needed. - views were amazing we had the gulf on one side and the harbor on the other side of our room. The sunsets were breath taking from the room or from the beach. the only bad thing we can say was we hated to go....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
I am thrilled to hear you have booked your next vacation at the Pink Shell! What wonderful memories you have from your last visit. We look forward to providing you with another great stay at our resort. Thank you for choosing us amongst all other Fort Myer Beach hotels and resorts. We can’t wait to welcome you!

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Social Media Analyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Our room with the Sanibel view was updated, but heavily used. Some of the vinyl flooring was loose, there was some mold in between the cracks of vinyl in the bath, the patio furniture was in need of repair and filthy and cupboards and hinges were a little worse for the wear. The kitchenette was well set up. It didn't feel worth what we paid for; however the management re-cleaned the room, brought new patio furniture in, and made an adjustment on bill...which went a long way in my book. Their service and set up for families with young children is what makes this hotel unique. The pools were clean, the breakfast buffet (although a long wait after 9AM) was good quality, and the beach was excellent. Beach towels provided were also the nicest I've experienced at a hotel. The traffic on to and down Ft Myers beach is terrible, so plan spending some extra time in the car. There are several food and shopping options with in walking distance but all at average or less quality.

Room Tip: Each building has a certain type of room...so you don't really get to pick. We liked the Sanibe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for submitting a review of our resort. I am sorry to hear of the condition of your accommodation upon arrival. What you described is certainly not what one can expect when staying at the Pink Shell. Thank you for promptly notifying management so that we were able to correct the areas of concern. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our many amenities and found our resort to be unique. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Social Media Analyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed in the Beach Villas they are DATED. The furniture is chipped and not well maintained. The door to the bathroom was broken it didn't slide and the toilet paper holder was hanging out of the wall. It is pretty expensive for the level of accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
I am very sorry you were not happy with your accommodations in the Beach Villas. All rooms are inspected prior to arrival for cleanliness and broken items. I apologize that you found the items in your room to be unrepaired. This is certainly not the Pink Shell standard. I hope that you will find yourself returning to the Fort Myers Beach area and will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Social Media Analyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have been in a lot of marinas over the years, and I have to say this is probably one of the nicest and well run marina that I have been too. The marina staff is wonderful. We have not yet tried the hotel and its restaurants, but as a marina guest, you receive the same amenities as if you were a hotel guests

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I came to search for shells and my husband came to just relax. We both left happy. We had a great room with a view of Sanibel Island and easy access to the beach. The beach was quiet, perfect for reading a book, shelling, and enjoying the wildlife.
We both enjoyed the breakfast buffet that was included very much. Lots of great choices to start the day.
The customer service was great. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We had a fantastic time and hope to return again for a longer stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed 6 nights. Old property, dated but clean. Made for big family groups with lots of little kids in water park themed pool area. Annoying "ding, ding, ding" muzak (like at the state fair carousel) in the lobby all day. No decent restaurant and an ok little pool bar. Loud- movies at the pool you listen even if you do not want to- same with bands going on.

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook beach on gulf side- great view. I would skip rooms in main building over pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina

Address: 275 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Estero Island along the beaches of Fort Myers, the 12-acre Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina caters to families, couples and various groups seeking a memorable four-star resort experience. We are also a tropical premier location for destination weddings. We focus on providing our guests with attentive service and uncompromising levels of cleanliness in a surrounding that provides breathtaking views of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white sand beach. At the Pink Shell, "The Only Thing We Overlook Is The Beach." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Shell Beach Resort And Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Pink Shell Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.