We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Inn to your Saves list
Dolphin Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6555 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Fort Erie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Lovely spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Dolphin Inn early May, 2013. What a lovely spot. It is in a quiet area with the trolley stop right outside. We had an apartment size accomodation which was WONDERFUL. I especially loved the hotel because of the people. Travis couldn't have been nicer if he tried! and.....we loved seeing the manatees right outside the door. We won't hesitate to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    72
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
73
130
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The location is great, with access to the beach just over the (not busy) road and the very attractive waterway at the back, lovely for sitting by in the evenings. The pool is fab too. Travis made us feel very welcome and right at home straight away. We really liked the fact that this is a little out from the main Fort Myers beach area, but not far if you want to visit the noisier part of town. There are also some good restarauants nearby. Our room was small, but well equipped and spotless. Its not an ultra modern place, but excellent value for money and we would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: At the back overlooking the waterway is quieter and a lovely outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My advice to travelers is to inquire about your room before you reserve a room at the Dolphin Inn. All of the rooms are unique. Look at the traveler photos here on Tripadvisor. If you look closely, there are some rooms that have ceramic tile flooring. Some rooms have laminate wood style flooring. Some rooms have mostly carpeting. I would highly advise to try to book a room with ceramic tile flooring, or else the laminate wood flooring. If you happen to get a room where you walk into the room, and you have carpeting at the room entrance, and through the main hallways and main areas, I would avoid it. This hotel has a great location, but beach inns have a problem with the sand being tracked into the rooms. Obviously, the ceramic tile and the laminate wood floors are easy to keep clean, but the wall-to-wall carpets are not! Ask about your room's flooring before you book your room. Overall, I gave this Inn four stars (the Inn deserves only three stars! And Travis deserves five stars! so I averaged that out to four). SERIOUSLY, I must say that the Inn itself was disappointing, HOWEVER, Travis was so kind and outgoing! He is a good person, and he is the owner! He knew all of our family members names. He greeted us every morning, and cooked a free fish fry on Friday night. He gave out free maps, and good advice. He is the kind of person who would give you the shirt off of his back if you needed it. NO, I can not give the Inn a bad review..... (if you actually like, know, and adore the owner). We just knew him for five days, and that was enough. So, please be aware that all of the reviews here that say the Inn needs updating, well it is true. However, the Inn gets good reviews since Travis is awesome. Also, there is a bike parking area out front that looks like a bicycle graveyard. It is so strange, but we tried not to run into the carcasses of old bikes parked out front. And, the location is great (you can just about see the beach from some rooms, and the canal too, so there is salt water on both sides). So, the salt water/ocean breeze affects the metal in the room (like the oven hood was rusty, and the door hinges were rusty or had corrosion). So, it is outdated, and some things are rusty. But, then again, if they updated everything, they could not rent out the rooms at this low of a price. So, you get what you pay for. I would stay here again if we had a room with ceramic flooring or laminate wood flooring, but not with carpeting at the room entrance/main areas of our room.

Room Tip: Ask about the flooring in the room you are booking. Try to avoid carpeting, due to close proximity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, GA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Was traveling to attend the Fort Myers Beach Film Festival and wanted a place close to the Beach Theater. This lodging is next door and on the bayside not oceanside of street. The owners are onsite, friendly and available to meet your needs. My one bedroom apartment was spacious and very clean. I enjoyed having a full kitchen so I could make meals if I chose. It is an older establishment and furnishings are dated but clean and comfortable. My king size bed was very very comfortable and that is important to me. I was in an upstairs room and out my door was a lovely view of the bay. I didn't have much time to bask in sun or watch the birds but could have in their chairs. It is an intimate setting in that rooms are all around you but the weekend I was there I had no problem with noise at all. Totally quiet at night. I felt safe staying alone. Someone else might feel that the older jalousie windows were not secure enough and the double-bolt on door did not line up so could not use it. I will stay there again as it was just right for my needs and I overheard people staying there that come back time and time again. Across the street an awesome big white sandy beach.

Room Tip: If you don't want to lug luggage up concrete steps like twenty steps worth you might want someth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterdown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Perfect pick for a quick getaway! All four stayed in unit 8. Spacious and clean. Friendly staff and anything that you need is avail. Good location across from beach (beach is BEAUTIFUL), 5 min drive to busy night life and shops. Can't say enough thank yous to Travis for his extended accommodations for our last day!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I usually rent a condo on the beach through VRBO but I'm glad I decided to change it up a bit and try this hotel just across the boulevard. This small inn has a great pool with lots of cushioned lounge chairs, tables and umbrellas. My poolside room #4 was clean and had a decent sized ktichen area (hey...you're on vacation, lets not overthink the stove and fridge!) two queen beds- (one comfortable and one definitely not) and a bath with shower. There are two gas grills at the rear of the property which has more seating and sits on a canal.

The inn keeper was upfront that there would not be daily housekeeping service but fresh towels were available whenever needed by simply asking. The housekeeper did come to my room twice during my 7 night stay and refreshed my towels supply.

The trolley stop was 50 steps from my room, beach access is directly across the boulevard, tiki bars (Pinchers and the Outrigger) were within walking distance as well as a 1/2 mile walk south to CVS and Santini Plaza with the Tuesday farmers market and lots of good restaurant choices.

Met friendly guests from all over the world that were there for the same purpose as I was- rest, relax and enjoy the sunshine & beach after the longest winter ever!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel was just too cool, especially for someone from the mountains in California. I would refer to it as a "boatel" because, as I recall, it had accommodations for personal boat docking. The inn is located at the end of a canal, where I saw three dolphins chase down their meal - I'd never been so close to dolphins (in the wild) before & it was an amazing experience - they were right there, a mere 10 to 15 feet away from where I was sitting! Even owners of neighboring homes came out into their backyards to watch the show.

The inn has a large swimming pool, which is located in front of the building, and is across the street, after a brief walk, from the Gulf. The inn was full when we arrived, without a reservation, with just one room left, ours. It was a bit tight, space-wise, but had a kitchen area and would have been perfect for someone looking for an efficiency - we were just looking for a room for the night near the ocean. Wow, did we get lucky - the entire stay was quite an experience and the staff was outstanding and extremely friendly. We could tell that they appreciated their location as much as their guests did!

We are planning to return to Florida this spring and will be driving from Ft Lauderdale to New Orleans, and then back again - we plan to stay at the Dolphin Inn either coming or going. Do consider this delightful inn - you can't beat the price, location, or ambience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Address: 6555 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.