We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to visit Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Express

Key West Express
1200 Main Street, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
239-463-5733
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get away to Key West, America's Caribbean Paradise, aboard Key West Express, where getting there is half the fun! What are you waiting for? Climb aboard our sleek, clean, modern, air-conditioned high-speed ferries - Features sundecks, snack bar, cocktails, and big-screen TVs - and we'll have you there in just a few hours!
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great way to visit Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This high speed ferry is a great solution to visit Key West without driving yourself. Snack Bar with beer and wine on board comfy seats and clean rest rooms.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    221
    92
    39
    77
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We went with a group of friends for a b-day party. Overall the trip to and from were ok. The boat leaves very early in the morning so if you dont live close by you need to stay at a hotel (extra $ spent). Also I think the price was a little much, even though we found coupons, and pre paid. I did enjoy relaxing in the sun on the way and had a few mimosas. On the way back it was rainy so everyone bunched into the cabin where it was noisy. Ive never made the drive or flew in so i might try that next time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Well worth the cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I had wanted to go to key west since being a little boy.
So when I found this ferry I booked it.
It is expensive nearly $500 for 3 adults and 1 child but it beats the very long drive.
Efficient boarding and plenty of space on board and the 31/2 hours soon goes.
There is a firm called paradise porters at the ferry terminal at key west who will take your bags straight to your hotel for $10 per bag so take your biggest and share. It's also $10 to collect as well but it saves you carrying it all day !
On board they sell discount tickets for the trolley tours but they do not tell you where to board the tours or where the stops are. We reckon we could have gone the same deal anywhere on key west .
you have to check in early on your return day some 2 hours before the departure but they load the ferry in check in order
But there are some quaint places to drink and eat if you follow the dockside Kerry's on the right as you leave the ferry terminal
John Cavanagh 2013 8/10

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Makes Getting to Key West Easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A fast and hassle free way to get to Key West. Can be a bit expensive if you don't take advantage of sales, but worth it anyway. They provide parking which is very nice - we've used them several times now and buy tickets at reduced price in January for later in the year. Get there early so you can get in line to get good seats, not that there are bad ones; some just have better views and tables.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fast way to get to Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Boat was much bigger than I expected. Get there early if you want a table/ window seat. Plenty of seating overall. Drinks a little pricey. Decent selection of snacks/food. Played a movie each way... Action movies. Didn't seem to interest too many. A comedy would be much better

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Express also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Key West Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.