We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tiki on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tiki on the Beach to your Saves list
Tiki on the Beach
4360 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet and Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Tiki on the Beach is a quiet resort on a great beach. Staff was very nice and the rooms were big and mostly updated.

The Tiki offers movies in their main lobby you can borrow and retrieve while the staff is not present.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
46
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My husband and I had a great time this week at the Tiki on the Beach. We loved being right on the beach. Its a very nice, clean, & fun environment. The staff are always so helpful and very sweet. Cant wait to go back again !!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Like other TripAdvisor members, I’m reluctant to share how much I love this place for fear that it will be overrun and difficult to reserve in the future. But the proprietors, Celina and Kim, are so hospitable and their beach rentals so beautiful that I have to write just to celebrate the fact that there are still such warm and accommodating hosts as the owners of Tiki on the Beach. They deserve to have their praises sung!

The Tiki web site (http://www.tikionthebeach.com/) gives a good overview of the rentals that are available, but there are a few more things to share about its appeal. The first is LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! If you stay in the gulfside apartments, you look right out at the surf and the talcum-powder white sand, which are literally steps from your door. We stayed for a week from March 30 through April 5 and never had to use the AC because of the refreshing cool breezes from the gulf. And with the windows and porch doors left open at night (we were on the second floor and had no fears about safety), we could enjoy the relaxing sound of the surf 24/7.

We dined out only twice during our stay, preferring instead to cook inside the apartment with groceries purchased at the Publix supermarket, just a 5-minute walk south of Tiki along Estero Blvd. The kitchen is well-stocked with pots and pans, dinnerware and utensils, a two-burner hotplate, a coffeemaker, a toaster, a microwave, a refrigerator, and a large electric skillet. There is no conventional oven, but there is a countertop toaster oven. We used the communal gas grill on the Tiki courtyard patio twice to cook burgers. Before using the grill, though, talk to Kim about the method for turning on the grill’s fuel and burners. His friendly instructions prevented us from possibly damaging the grill, which, unfortunately, previous guests had done because they did not proceed properly.

Tiki guests seem to be from all over the world and offer a great opportunity to meet interesting people. We met Germans, Swedes, Irish, Spaniards… one couple even gave us all their leftover food on the day they were leaving.

The #410 trollee (yes, that’s how it’s spelled!) passes up and down Estero Blvd. to take you just about anywhere along the beach if you arrive without a car, or if you just want to leave your car parked and use public transportation. Fare is 50 cents for adults and 25 cents for seniors. Northbound from Tiki, you walk out of the parking lot, turn left, cross the street, and walk just a few steps to the trollee stop at the corner of Sabal and Estero. Southbound from Tiki, you walk out of the parking lot, turn right, and walk to the stop at the corner of Gulfview and Estero. Trollee maps and schedules are available on the trollee or online at http://www.rideleetran.com/routeSchedules.htm.

We walked up the beach one night to eat dinner at Fresh Catch, which has an outdoor dining deck facing the beach. It is very pricey, but the quality is high. (See my separate review of the restaurant.) We also had a Greek dinner at Plaka in the Times Square district of the beach. The food here was delicious and reasonably-priced, but the staff seem totally unaware of the birds which sweep inside the restaurant to perch on server stations and coffee warmers, steal packets of condiments, and leave their "calling cards" on surfaces containing napkins, utensils, and other items which will be given to guests. Surely this is a health hazard, not to mention the disconcerting sight of a large gull landing inside a restaurant, just a few feet from where you are eating.

We made a list of items which are not available inside a Tiki apartment but which might be helpful for guests to bring with them, especially if they are staying for an extended period:

1. Boxes of tissues (Tiki doesn’t supply them)
2. A small collapsible steamer basket (we like to steam vegetables)
3. Plastic film wrap, plastic storage containers, or zipper bags to store leftover food
4. Basket-style coffee filters

Of course, you can buy all these items at the Publix store once you arrive, but you’d have to either throw away the unused ones or pack them to take home… a little cumbersome if you’re flying. Next year, for example, we’ll take an already-opened roll of plastic film with us from home and then use it up when we’re there. We’ll take seven coffee filters rather than pack or purchase a full box.

Just before leaving Tiki this year, we booked a week for 2015. It will be our third visit to this relaxing beach house. We are already counting down the days!

Bill McLoughlin ("Bookdude") in Columbus, Ohio

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great place to everything from staff and hotel was amazing. Had not a care while staying here. Thanks for the hospitality.. I will definitely stay here again if ever in the area or simply need some time in paradise.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Having researched nearly 7 months ago where to stay in Ft. Myers Beach and relied on Tripadvisor's ratings of Tiki as a basis to stay there, we could not be more pleased with our choice. We stayed in the building with a courtyard view and saved $30 a night, but could easily see the ocean from our screened porch. The beach is private. Lounges and towels are provided. The place was immaculate and only has 10 apartments. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We have been staying at this charming little hotel for the last 9 years and it gets better and better.
The managers Celina and Kim are gracious and friendly.
The place is keep spotlessly clean and the sand is right outside our door!

We will be returning next year for a 3 week stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had such a wonderful, relaxing time at the Tiki that we extended our vacation by a week to be able to spend a few more days in the little slice of Heaven that Tiki is. The location, right on the beach, is perfect. But even better is that Celina and Kim, your hosts, could not be kinder or more helpful. They give great recommendations when you check in and keep the property immaculate. They were extremely accommodating with immediate response, via email and phone, when we requested more time on our room, including helping with changes we needed to make in our dates. In other words they do everything they can to make your stay perfect! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tiki on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki on the Beach

Address: 4360 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Tiki on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiki On The Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiki on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.